Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport 2011 Limburg Motocross | MX1 Results

2011 Limburg Motocross | MX1 Results

2011 FIM Motocross

Red Bull Teka KTM Factory Racing MX1’s Anthony Cairoli succeeded in winning the MX1 Motocross class at the Grand Prix of Limburg, but it was not an easy weekend for the Italian during Round 12 of the FIM Motocross GP in Lommel.

In the first race he obtained the Lovemytime holeshot award, but he had to fight really hard with Desalle to keep the lead. The Italian even suffered a small crash during the race and injured a little bit his knee, but it did not stop him to win the second moto.

Rockstar Energy Suzuki World Motocross MX1’s Desalle got an eventual second overall position in Lommel. The home rider starred in a thrilling battle with Cairolli during the first race, but he had to settle down with the second position.

In the second FIM Motocross MX1 heat, Desalle rode fifth most of the race and in the last lap he was virtually fourth in the GP. However, Gonçalves got a DNF while he was fourth and the Belgian went up one position, which made him go up on the second step of the podium.

Third overall was Red Bull Teka KTM Factory Racing FIM Motocross MX1’s Nagl after finishing fifth in the first race and second in the following one. Nagl admitted that he has had an injury at his back since Valkenswaard and that he has been struggling when racing on hard pack. This weekend the sand made things easier for the German, but Nagl may have to undergo surgery in the near future.

Honda World Motocross’ Bobryshev was involved in a tangle at the beginning of the first race and had to push really hard from the last position to be able to cross the finish line sixth. Bobryshev did a superb start in the second moto and he took the lead after four laps, but the Russian made a mistake and Cairoli catch him up and passed him straight away. In the last laps Bobryshev was overtaken by Nagl, so he finished fourth overall.

Monster Energy FIM Motocross Yamaha’s Frossard did a very good first race and he even exchanged the lead with Desalle when there were 20 minutes to go. During the last laps Frossard was down in the third position, but when he was about to cross the finish line, Gonçalves overtook him in the last metres of the race. In the second heat, Frossard did not have a good start and ended sixth, which gave him the final fifth position.

Leok was eighth in the first FIM Motocross MX1 race, but in the second one he did a great recovery from an initial ninth position and managed to cross the finish line fifth and obtained the overall sixth place.

Gonçalves did one of the best races of the FIM Motocross MX1 season, but he was touched by bad luck by the end of the second race. The Portuguese finished third in the first heat and he got the virtual overall position during the last lap of the second race when he was fourth, but his new engine broke having just two turnings to go. Gonçalves finished seventh of the GP.

Philippaerts struggled a lot in the sand and finished eighth, followed by Simpson and De Dycker.

FIM Motocross: Limburg MX1 Race 1 top 10: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 39:57.975; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:09.126; 3. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), +0:29.308; 4. Steven Frossard (FRA, Yamaha), +0:29.343; 5. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:32.189; 6. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:51.252; 7. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:58.628; 8. Tanel Leok (EST, TM), +1:07.701; 9. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, Kawasaki), +1:20.422; 10. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), +1:32.403;

FIM Motocross: Limburg MX1 Race 2 top 10: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 42:30.771; ; 2. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:03.509; 3. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:14.535; 4. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:45.467; 5. Tanel Leok (EST, TM), +0:50.827; 6. Steven Frossard (FRA, Yamaha), +1:13.243; 7. Shaun Simpson (GBR, Honda), +1:33.494; 8. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Honda), +1:57.676; 9. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +1:59.104; 10. Marc de Reuver (NED, Yamaha), +2:07.387;

FIM Motocross: Limburg MX1 Overall top 10: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 50 points; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 40 p.; 3. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 38 p.; 4. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), 35 p.; 5. Steven Frossard (FRA, Yamaha), 33 p.; 6. Tanel Leok (EST, TM), 29 p.; 7. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), 28 p.; 8. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 26 p.; 9. Shaun Simpson (GBR, Honda), 24 p.; 10. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Honda), 22 p.;

FIM Motocross MX1 Championship top 10: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 466 points; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 414 p.; 3. Steven Frossard (FRA, Yamaha), 403 p.; 4. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), 369 p.; 5. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 349 p.; 6. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), 309 p.; 7. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 308 p.; 8. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Honda), 250 p.; 9. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), 235 p.; 10. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, Kawasaki), 233 p.;

FIM Motocross MX1 Manufacturers: 1. KTM, 491 points; 2. Yamaha, 448 p.; 3. Suzuki, 424 p.; 4. Honda, 395 p.; 5. Kawasaki, 299 p.; 6. TM, 198 p.; 7. Aprilia, 9 p.

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2022 Triumph Bonneville Speedmaster First Look: New Fork and More

The 2022 Triumph Bonneville Speedmaster gets a more responsive motor with additional midrange power from the vertical-twin 1200HT engine. The powerplant also meets Euro...

Avon Tyres + Blood Bikes = Motorcycles Saving Lives

We’ve all heard of blood banks, but this is the first time we have heard of blood bikes. Leicestershire & Rutland Blood Bikes is...

2021 Moto Guzzi V7 Stone 100th Anniversary First Look

Back in December, we gave you a first look at the new 2021 Moto Guzzi V7 lineup. The big news was an increase in...

2022 Triumph Bonneville Bobber First Look (11 Fast Facts)

The 2022 Triumph Bonneville Bobber enjoys a wide range of updates that include functional and aesthetic. The changes are, in part, to meet Euro...

2021 MV Agusta Dragster RR SCS RC First Look (9 Fast Facts)

The 2021 MV Agusta Dragster RR SCS RC is the new flagship of the urban-brawling Dragster lineup. The RC stands for Reparto Corse, and...

2022 Triumph Bonneville T100 First Look (9 Fast Facts)

The Triumph Bonneville T100 gets a more powerful and higher-revving motor for 2022,  along with a lighter chassis and upgraded suspension as the British...