2011 125cc MotoGP: Mugello Qualifying

125cc MotoGP

Johann Zarco will start from pole position for the first time in his career on Sunday at Mugello, after a rain-hit qualifying session prevented the majority of the 125cc MotoGP riders from improving on their provisional times.

The Avant-AirAsia-Ajo rider set his best time of the weekend in the few early dry laps of the qualifying session. His time of 1’58.988 was over a second and a half faster than second place starter Luis Salom (RW Racing GP), who will start for the second time this season from the front row, and nearly two seconds ahead of third position starter Sergio Gadea (Blusens by Paris Hilton Racing Team).

Light and intermittent showers left the circuit in varying degrees of dampness during the early part of the 40 minute single cylinder class qualifying session, later turning heavier just before the end, allowing the field only the first minutes to set their fastest times.

Efrén Vázquez (Avant-AirAsia-Ajo) posted a time of 2’01.026 to put him in fourth position and at the head of the second row, he will be accompanied by the Championship leader Nicolas Terol (Bankia Aspar) who was quickest in the dry morning session but was taken by surprise with the arrival of rain, which had been forecast for later in the afternoon. Sandro Cortese (Intact Racing Team Germany) posted a top six time of 2’01.093 and completes row two.

Maverick Viñales (Blusens by Paris Hilton Racing Team) and Bankia Aspar duo Héctor Faubel and Adrián Martín make up an all Spanish row three, with Italian Louis Rossi (Matteoni Racing) leading row four joined by Miguel Oliveira (Team Andalucía Banca Cívica) and Danny Webb (Mahindra Racing).

2011 Mugello 125cc MotoGP: Qualifying Results

Pos.Num.RiderNationTeamBikeKm/hTimeGap 1st/Prev.
1.5Johann ZARCOFRAAvant-AirAsia-AjoDerbi225.31’58.988 
2.39Luis SALOMSPARW Racing GPAprilia227.12’00.6201.632 / 1.632
3.33Sergio GADEASPABlusens by Paris Hilton RacingAprilia228.92’00.9031.915 / 0.283
4.7Efren VAZQUEZSPAAvant-AirAsia-AjoDerbi227.82’01.0262.038 / 0.123
5.18Nicolas TEROLSPABankia Aspar Team 125ccAprilia225.52’01.0332.045 / 0.007
6.11Sandro CORTESEGERIntact-Racing Team GermanyAprilia224.22’01.0932.105 / 0.060
7.25Maverick VIÑALESSPABlusens by Paris Hilton RacingAprilia226.72’01.2012.213 / 0.108
8.55Hector FAUBELSPABankia Aspar Team 125ccAprilia228.02’01.3512.363 / 0.150
9.26Adrian MARTINSPABankia Aspar Team 125ccAprilia227.92’01.6792.691 / 0.328
10.96Louis ROSSIFRAMatteoni RacingAprilia219.52’01.7682.780 / 0.089
11.44Miguel OLIVEIRAPORAndalucia Banca CivicaAprilia224.72’01.7812.793 / 0.013
12.99Danny WEBBGBRMahindra RacingMahindra228.02’01.8112.823 / 0.030
13.77Marcel SCHROTTERGERMahindra RacingMahindra220.22’01.8392.851 / 0.028
14.15Simone GROTZKYJITAPhonica RacingAprilia224.62’01.9272.939 / 0.088
15.84Jakub KORNFEILCZEOngetta-Centro SetaAprilia222.12’01.9762.988 / 0.049
16.23Alberto MONCAYOSPAAndalucia Banca CivicaAprilia229.82’02.1533.165 / 0.177
17.21Harry STAFFORDGBROngetta-Centro SetaAprilia226.02’02.3493.361 / 0.196
18.50Sturla FAGERHAUGNORWTR-Ten10 RacingAprilia223.12’02.4833.495 / 0.134
19.53Jasper IWEMANEDOngetta-Abbink MetaalAprilia218.42’02.7453.757 / 0.262
20.10Alexis MASBOUFRACaretta TechnologyKTM222.12’02.9293.941 / 0.184
21.94Jonas FOLGERGERRed Bull Ajo MotorSportAprilia223.02’02.9313.943 / 0.002
22.74Kevin CALIAITAMGP RacingAprilia220.82’02.9493.961 / 0.018
23.31Niklas AJOFINTT Motion Events RacingAprilia221.32’02.9653.977 / 0.016
24.3Luigi MORCIANOITATeam Italia FMIAprilia218.32’03.0774.089 / 0.112
25.63Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDINMALAirasia-Sic-AjoDerbi220.92’03.3754.387 / 0.298
26.52Danny KENTGBRRed Bull Ajo MotorSportAprilia222.02’03.4824.494 / 0.107
27.95Miroslav POPOVCZEEllegi RacingAprilia212.92’03.6844.696 / 0.202
28.17Taylor MACKENZIEGBRPhonica RacingAprilia219.02’03.9154.927 / 0.231
29.43Francesco MAURIELLOITAWTR-Ten10 RacingAprilia223.42’04.6325.644 / 0.717
30.19Alessandro TONUCCIITATeam Italia FMIAprilia221.92’04.6635.675 / 0.031
31.30Giulian PEDONESWIPhonica RacingAprilia226.42’04.8605.872 / 0.197
32.56Peter SEBESTYENHUNCaretta TechnologyKTM222.62’05.9546.966 / 1.094
33.36Joan PERELLOSPAMatteoni RacingAprilia211.12’07.0648.076 / 1.110
 88Massimo PARZIANIITAFaenza RacingAprilia208.32’09.63310.645 / 2.569