2011 Mugello Moto2: Qualifying Results

2011 Moto2

Marc Marquez (Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol) took his second pole position of the 2011 season in a rainy qualifying ahead of the Gran Premio d’Italia TIM Moto2 race at Mugello.

The 125cc World Champion set a fast lap of 2’05.312 at the end of a heated time battle, beating out Alex de Angelis of the JiR Moto2 team by 0.585s and Tech 3 Racing’s Smith by 1.305s. Smith, who posted a time of 2’06.617, will take his first front row Moto2 start in Sunday’s race.

Belgian rider Xavier Simeon (Tech 3 B) will lead the second row after a qualifying time of 2’06.757, with Randy Krummenacher (GP Team Switzerland Kiefer Racing) and Pol Espargaró (HP Tuenti Speed Up) joining him on the second row of the grid.

Stefan Bradl (Viessmann Kiefer Racing) appeared set to challenge for pole position until his bike slowed in the last part of a final hot lap, leaving the German rider in seventh in the dying seconds of the session. Mattia Pasini (Ioda Racing Project), who held the top time in qualifying at the halfway point, finished the session in eighth while Mika Kallio (Marc VDS Racing) completes row three in ninth.

Axel Pons (Pons HP 40) did not participate in the qualifying session and will miss the race following a crash with Ratthapark Wilairot (Thai Honda Singha-SAG) in FP3.

2011 Mugello Moto2: Qualifying Results

1.93Marc MARQUEZSPATeam CatalunyaCaixa RepsolSuter273.62’05.312 
2.15Alex DE ANGELISRSMJIR Moto2Motobi270.72’05.8970.585 / 0.585
3.38Bradley SMITHGBRTech 3 RacingTech 3267.02’06.6171.305 / 0.720
4.19Xavier SIMEONBELTech 3 BTech 3260.22’06.7571.445 / 0.140
5.4Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIGP Team Switzerland Kiefer RacingKalex263.92’06.9411.629 / 0.184
6.44Pol ESPARGAROSPAHP Tuenti Speed UpFTR266.52’06.9631.651 / 0.022
7.65Stefan BRADLGERViessmann Kiefer RacingKalex267.82’07.0131.701 / 0.050
8.75Mattia PASINIITAIoda Racing ProjectFTR266.82’07.0231.711 / 0.010
9.36Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamSuter267.32’07.1471.835 / 0.124
10.13Anthony WESTAUSMZ Racing TeamMZ-RE Honda261.22’07.2491.937 / 0.102
11.34Esteve RABATSPABlusens-STXFTR269.12’07.5492.237 / 0.300
12.39Robertino PIETRIVENItaltrans Racing TeamSuter267.42’07.6122.300 / 0.063
13.54Kenan SOFUOGLUTURTechnomag-CIPSuter264.92’07.6922.380 / 0.080
14.29Andrea IANNONEITASpeed MasterSuter268.92’07.7282.416 / 0.036
15.72Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNGresini Racing Moto2Moriwaki269.02’07.7802.468 / 0.052
16.68Yonny HERNANDEZCOLBlusens-STXFTR264.42’07.8442.532 / 0.064
17.88Ricard CARDUSSPAQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki262.12’07.8642.552 / 0.020
18.18Jordi TORRESSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter264.62’07.9192.607 / 0.055
19.35Raffaele DE ROSAITAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter262.52’08.1182.806 / 0.199
20.76Max NEUKIRCHNERGERMZ Racing TeamMZ-RE Honda265.12’08.2722.960 / 0.154
21.51Michele PIRROITAGresini Racing Moto2Moriwaki263.62’08.2892.977 / 0.017
22.9Kenny NOYESUSAAvintia-STXFTR264.62’08.4443.132 / 0.155
23.3Simone CORSIITAIoda Racing ProjectFTR265.52’08.5623.250 / 0.118
24.12Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten Paddock Moto2Suter270.52’08.6813.369 / 0.119
25.24Tommaso LORENZETTIITAAeroport de CastelloFTR262.22’08.8403.528 / 0.159
26.25Alex BALDOLINIITANGM Forward RacingSuter265.72’08.8833.571 / 0.043
27.31Carmelo MORALESSPADesguaces La Torre G22Moriwaki262.82’08.9703.658 / 0.087
28.45Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamSuter269.12’09.2653.953 / 0.295
29.70Mattia TAROZZIITAFaenza RacingSuter259.62’09.4094.097 / 0.144
30.77Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag-CIPSuter264.82’09.6164.304 / 0.207
31.71Claudio CORTIITAItaltrans Racing TeamSuter268.72’09.9114.599 / 0.295
32.40Aleix ESPARGAROSPAPons HP 40Pons Kalex268.92’09.9744.662 / 0.063
33.16Jules CLUZELFRANGM Forward RacingSuter267.92’10.4205.108 / 0.446
34.14Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAThai Honda Singha SAGFTR265.62’10.4365.124 / 0.016
35.63Mike DI MEGLIOFRATech 3 RacingTech 3270.62’10.6525.340 / 0.216
36.64Santiago HERNANDEZCOLSAG TeamFTR264.52’10.7235.411 / 0.071
37.95Mashel AL NAIMIQATQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki260.42’13.5968.284 / 2.873
 53Valentin DEBISEFRASpeed UpFTR262.22’14.5399.227 / 0.943
 80Axel PONSSPAPons HP 40Pons Kalex