2011 Barber Superbike: Race 1 Results

2011 AMA Superbike

Spoiler Alert: Barber Motorsports Park AMA Superbike Race 1 result below

Typical of Alabama summer weather, thunderstorms brewed at Barber Motorsports Park Saturday, plaguing race 1 of the 2011 AMA Superbike serie.

The race was red flagged with 16 of 21 laps remaining while the typical three were out front – Rockstar Makita Suzuki duo of Tommy Hayden and Blake Young in first and second, and pole-sitter Josh Hayes third on the Monster Graves Yamaha YZF-R1.

But once the race restarted under wet conditions, most of the uperbike grid was on rain tires, including the previous mentioned front-runners. But knowing points are crucial, these three rode conservatively for the remainder of the Race 1 in Barber, allowing a rookie to take his first AMA Superbike win – M4 Suzuki’s Martin Cardenas.

Joining the Colombian on the front row was National Guard Jordan Suzuki’s Ben Bostrom and Young. The reigning AMA Superbike champ Hayes would finish fourth.

Upon the restart, Bostrom’s teammate Roger Lee Hayden took the lead, followed by Young and Cardenas. Cardenas, last year’s AMA SportBike Champion, took the lead from Roger Hayden, and Bostrom moved into second. On the final two laps, Bostrom and Cardenas fought intensely for the lead, but Cardenas would keep it, as Young stalked them comfortably from behind, taking third.

Martin Cardenas (M4 Suzuki GSX-R1000) says: “It’s always great to win in whatever class you’re in, but it’s different to win in the dry than in the wet. So this is good, but if it were a dry race it would be much better. We’ll see tomorrow in the dry what happens … I’ll give my best. But today, I’m very happy for me and my team.”

“We had a very good bike, and the thought was obviously to wait until a couple laps from the end, then attack him,” said Bostrom afterward. “I thought I was good on the brakes, but he was also very good on the brakes, so I got snookered there.”

The AMA Superbike action continues Sunday at Barber for Race 2, which is slated for 4:30 p.m. EDT. Stay clicked to UltimateMotorCycling.com for Race 2 results, and also join us on Facebook for the latest in motorcycle news.

2011 AMA Superbike: Barber Motorsports Park, Race 1 Results

PosNo.Rider(s)TeamBikeIntervalGapBest LapPoints
1.36Martin CardenasM4 SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R100021 LapsWINNER1:26.89031
2.23Ben BostromJordan SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R10000.1370.1371:27.57125
3.79Blake YoungRockstar ·Makita ·SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R10002.0191.8811:26.77421
4.1Josh HayesMonster Energy Graves YamahaYamaha R12.8780.8581:26.68819
5.72Larry PegramPegram RacingBMW S1000RR6.8633.9851:28.17916
6.54Roger HaydenNational Guard Jordan SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R100010.7303.8661:26.76215
7.22Tommy HaydenRockstar ·Makita ·SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R100047.85737.1261:26.63314
8.10JD BeachCycle World Attack PerformanceKawasaki ZX-1058.52210.6651:29.03213
9.12Trent GibsonSeven SportsSuzuki GSX-R10001:00.0541.5311:31.80012
10.57Jeremy ToyeSan Diego BMW/Locust Powered by Lee`s CycleBMW S1000RR1:12.52712.4731:30.21111
11.8Chris PerisTeam Iron Horse BMW ·ESPBMW S1000RR20 Laps1 Lap1:28.66210
12.15Steve RappSan Diego BMW/Locust Powered by Lee`s CycleBMW S1000RR0.3250.3251:27.2469
13.99Geoff MayAmsoil EBR RacingBuell 1125R22.13321.8071:28.4328
14.33(89)Jordan BurgessADR Fly RacingSuzuki GSX-R100051.05028.9171:30.8587
15.62Chris TrounsonSan Diego BMW/Locust Powered by Lee`s CycleBMW S1000RR53.6792.6281:31.0446
16.2Chris ClarkYamaha Extended Service, Pat Clark Sports, Graves, YamahaYamaha R153.7000.0201:28.4045
17.78Reese WackerWacker Racing LLCSuzuki GSX-R10001:01.4047.7041:31.0824
18.34Danny KelseyM & M RoadracingHonda CBR1000RR19 Laps1 Lap1:31.2653
19.63Skip SaleniusKarma Tequila RacingYamaha R131.08231.0821:32.5332
20.28Kevin BoisvertBayside PerformanceSuzuki GSX-R10006 Laps13 Laps1:34.7220