2011 Silverstone Moto2 | Results


Spoiler Alert:

2011 Silverstone Moto2 Results listed below

The sixth round of the 2011 Moto2 Championship got underway Sunday in wet conditions at Silverstone in the UK.

Stefan Bradl (Viessmann Kiefer Racing) won the Moto2 race, with British rider Bradley Smith (Tech 3) crossing the wet finish line in second and Michele Pirro (Gresini Racing Moto2) in third.

Championship leader Stefan Bradl led off the start of a drizzly and cold 18 laps whilst second position starter Scott Redding (Marc VDS Racing) challenged the German rider, passing him for the lead early in the race, but it was the Championship points leader Bradl who led the field across the finish line, negotiating precarious track conditions that steadily worsened throughout the race.

Smith had a fantastic start off the Moto2 grid, moving to 13th on the first lap after starting 28th. He steadily made his way through the field, at one point locking horns with fellow Brit Scott Redding (Marc VDS Racing), to take the second spot on the podium, his first podium for the 2011 season. Redding crossed the line in fifth.

Mattia Pasini (Ioda Racing Project), looking for his first Moto2 victory, chased the front runners from the start of the race, setting some of the fastest laps of the race to catch the front. The Italian passed Bradl for the lead on lap 5 and quickly pulled away, until he crashed out of the race on lap 6.

Michele Pirro started from sixth to finish in the third spot on the podium, moving him into tenth in the championship. Fourth place finisher was Jules Cluzel (NGM Forward Racing) who also started from fourth. Sixth to cross the line was Esteve Rabat (Blusens-STX) followed by Yuki Takahashi (Gresini Racing) in seventh and Kenan Sofuoglu (Technomag-CIP), who earlier was in second position until he ran off track on lap 11, rejoined to finish in eighth.

Yonny Hernández (Blusens-STX), after crashing on the sighting lap, finished the race in ninth followed by Simone Corsi (Ioda Racing Project), who pitted early in the race with a problem but rejoined to finish tenth.

Pole position starter Marc Márquez (Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol), after a poor start off the grid, crashed out on lap 6.

The difficult conditions and standing water on the track produced more several casualties, including Alex de Angelis (JiR Moto2) who crashed early in the race, Mika Kallio (Marc VDS Racing) who was caught with nowhere to go behind a battle between Corsi and Márquez, Axel Pons (Pons HP 40) who crashed in the first lap, after crashing out of qualifying the day before, and Raffaele De Rosa (SAG Team) who crashed on lap 9.

Anthony West (MZ Racing), who moved as high as 16th lap after starting 36th and Kenny Noyes (Avintia-STX) both retired from the race.

2011 Silverstone Moto2 Results:

1.2565Stefan BRADLGERViessmann Kiefer RacingKalex144.344’10.236
2.2038Bradley SMITHGBRTech 3 RacingTech 3143.9+7.601
3.1651Michele PIRROITAGresini Racing Moto2Moriwaki143.6+12.241
4.1316Jules CLUZELFRANGM Forward RacingSuter143.4+17.271
5.1145Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamSuter143.0+23.531
6.1034Esteve RABATSPABlusens-STXFTR142.8+28.661
7.972Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNGresini Racing Moto2Moriwaki142.6+32.391
8.854Kenan SOFUOGLUTURTechnomag-CIPSuter142.4+34.662
9.768Yonny HERNANDEZCOLBlusens-STXFTR142.3+37.181
10.63Simone CORSIITAIoda Racing ProjectFTR142.2+38.981
11.54Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIGP Team Switzerland Kiefer RacingKalex142.2+39.657
12.476Max NEUKIRCHNERGERMZ Racing TeamMZ-RE Honda141.6+51.622
13.349Kev COGHLANGBRAeroport de CastelloFTR141.4+54.810
14.225Alex BALDOLINIITANGM Forward RacingSuter141.3+56.242
15.112Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten Paddock Moto2Suter141.1+1’00.769
16. 29Andrea IANNONEITASpeed MasterSuter140.8+1’06.198
17. 63Mike DI MEGLIOFRATech 3 RacingTech 3140.1+1’19.530
18. 40Aleix ESPARGAROSPAPons HP 40Pons Kalex139.7+1’27.092
19. 21Javier FORESSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter139.6+1’29.849
20. 77Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag-CIPSuter139.6+1’30.338
21. 35Raffaele DE ROSAITASAG TeamFTR138.2+1’57.792
22. 53Valentin DEBISEFRASpeed UpFTR137.5+2’11.104
23. 39Robertino PIETRIVENItaltrans Racing TeamSuter136.6+2’29.168
24. 95Mashel AL NAIMIQATQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki130.01 Lap
25. 96Nasser Hasan AL MALKIQATQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki130.01 Lap
Not Classified
  44Pol ESPARGAROSPAHP Tuenti Speed UpFTR139.52 Laps
  13Anthony WESTAUSMZ Racing TeamMZ-RE Honda137.94 Laps
  9Kenny NOYESUSAAvintia-STXFTR135.64 Laps
  71Claudio CORTIITAItaltrans Racing TeamSuter132.05 Laps
  15Alex DE ANGELISRSMJIR Moto2Motobi134.17 Laps
  19Xavier SIMEONBELTech 3 BTech 3135.68 Laps
  31Carmelo MORALESSPADesguaces La Torre G22Moriwaki138.010 Laps
  14Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAThai Honda Singha SAGFTR137.010 Laps
  93Marc MARQUEZSPATeam CatalunyaCaixa RepsolSuter135.711 Laps
  75Mattia PASINIITAIoda Racing ProjectFTR142.812 Laps
  36Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamSuter140.712 Laps
  18Jordi TORRESSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter136.715 Laps
  80Axel PONSSPAPons HP 40Pons Kalex 0 Lap