2011 Catalunya Moto2 Review

2011 Moto2 Results

Pole position starter and championship leader Stefan Bradl took a dominating third win of the season in the Moto2 race at Catalunya Sunday, giving him a 43-point lead in the standings.

The young Marc Marquez steadily made his way through the field at his home track to finish second, and Aleix Espargaro (Pons HP 40) who started from the front row for only the second time in his career, produced his first podium finish of his GP career with a third place. Simone Corsi (Ioda Racing Project) finished in fourth.

A sunny start saw the German Bradl leading the field, pursued by Aleix Espargaro of the Pons HP 40 team off the start. Fellow Spaniard Julián Simon overtook Espargaro with 11 laps to go, but a determined Espargaró was in top form in front of his home crowd, and put up a fight and took back the Moto2 position.

Dominique Aegerter of Technomag-CIP lowsided with eight laps to go, and team mate Kenan Sofuoglu was involved in a spectacular crash that took out Julián Simón three quarters into the race.

Sofuoglu appeared to have made contact with the rear wheel of Simón, sending the Spanish rider into a highside and taking him out of the race. Simón sustained a fractured right tibia and fibula in the crash. Following the Moto2 crash incident it was confirmed that a hearing organised by Race Direction will be held this Thursday (June 9th).

Thomas Lüthi (Interwetten Paddock Moto2) crashed out along with last year’s Catalunya race winner Yuki Takahashi (Gresini Racing) with 18 laps to go. Bradley Smith (Tech 3) managed to avoid being collected in the crash, but later ran off in the last lap to finish the race in 19th.

The battle for fifth was close, with Randy Krummenacher (GP Team Switzerland Kiefer Racing Moto2) finally nabbing the spot, just in front of Alex de Angelis (JiR Moto2) in sixth and Esteve Rabat (Blusens-STX) in seventh. Mika Kallio (Marc VDS Racing) followed in eighth, in front of Yonny Hernández (Blusens-STX). German rider Max Neukirchner (MZ Racing) completed the top ten.

The close racing produced several more non-finishers, including Axel Pons (Pons HP 40), American rider Kenny Noyes (Avintia-STX), Javier Forés (Mapfre Aspar), Mike di Meglio (Tech 3) and Robertino Pietri (Italtrans Racing). Ratthapark Wilairot (Thai Honda Singha-SAG) did not start after crashing in the morning warm up session.

2011 Catalunya Moto2: Results

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1 25 65 Stefan BRADL GER Viessmann Kiefer Racing Kalex 156.6 41’38.888
2 20 93 Marc MARQUEZ SPA Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol Suter 156.4 +4.141
3 16 40 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Pons HP 40 Pons Kalex 156.1 +8.409
4 13 3 Simone CORSI ITA Ioda Racing Project FTR 156.0 +10.331
5 11 4 Randy KRUMMENACHER SWI GP Team Switzerland Kiefer Racing Kalex 155.9 +11.661
6 10 15 Alex DE ANGELIS RSM JIR Moto2 Motobi 155.9 +12.383
7 9 34 Esteve RABAT SPA Blusens-STX FTR 155.8 +12.602
8 8 36 Mika KALLIO FIN Marc VDS Racing Team Suter 155.8 +13.467
9 7 68 Yonny HERNANDEZ COL Blusens-STX FTR 155.6 +16.612
10 6 76 Max NEUKIRCHNER GER MZ Racing Team MZ-RE Honda 155.6 +16.735
11 5 45 Scott REDDING GBR Marc VDS Racing Team Suter 155.6 +17.031
12 4 51 Michele PIRRO ITA Gresini Racing Moto2 Moriwaki 155.5 +18.460
13 3 25 Alex BALDOLINI ITA NGM Forward Racing Suter 155.2 +22.933
14 2 19 Xavier SIMEON BEL Tech 3 B Tech 3 155.2 +23.416
15 1 29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Speed Master Suter 155.2 +23.449
16   44 Pol ESPARGARO SPA HP Tuenti Speed Up FTR 155.1 +24.070
17   71 Claudio CORTI ITA Italtrans Racing Team Suter 155.1 +24.111
18   31 Carmelo MORALES SPA Desguaces La Torre G22 Moriwaki 155.1 +25.351
19   38 Bradley SMITH GBR Tech 3 Racing Tech 3 154.8 +29.249
20   53 Valentin DEBISE FRA Speed Up FTR 154.5 +35.077
21   64 Santiago HERNANDEZ COL SAG Team FTR 154.1 +41.666
22   13 Anthony WEST AUS MZ Racing Team MZ-RE Honda 153.4 +52.103
23   16 Jules CLUZEL FRA NGM Forward Racing Suter 152.8 +1’02.492
24   49 Kev COGHLAN GBR Aeroport de Castello FTR 152.0 +1’16.294
Not Classified
    80 Axel PONS SPA Pons HP 40 Pons Kalex 155.7 5 Laps
    60 Julian SIMON SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 Suter 156.6 8 Laps
    54 Kenan SOFUOGLU TUR Technomag-CIP Suter 156.5 8 Laps
    77 Dominique AEGERTER SWI Technomag-CIP Suter 156.5 8 Laps
    21 Javier FORES SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 Suter 146.4 12 Laps
    75 Mattia PASINI ITA Ioda Racing Project FTR 153.8 16 Laps
    12 Thomas LUTHI SWI Interwetten Paddock Moto2 Suter 155.5 18 Laps
    72 Yuki TAKAHASHI JPN Gresini Racing Moto2 Moriwaki 155.4 18 Laps
    63 Mike DI MEGLIO FRA Tech 3 Racing Tech 3 153.8 18 Laps
    39 Robertino PIETRI VEN Italtrans Racing Team Suter 151.1 20 Laps
    95 Mashel AL NAIMI QAT QMMF Racing Team Moriwaki 138.7 21 Laps
    9 Kenny NOYES USA Avintia-STX FTR   0 Lap



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.