2011 Brazil FIM Motocross: MX1 Results



David Philippaerts obtained the first overall FIM Motocross victory of the season in Indaiatuba, while Jeffrey Herlings beat his team-mate Ken Roczen and got his second GP win of the season. Both riders took the overall win being tight in points with the second classified.

David Philippaerts got the perfect FIM Motocross weekend, winning the qualifying race yesterday and obtaining the overall win today. Second was Antonio Cairoli and third was red plate holder Clement Desalle.

Monster Energy Yamaha's David Philippaerts was extremely happy after such overall victory. The Italian had not been really fortunate in the last Grand Prix's and such result will help him to increase his self-confidence. Philippaerts got really valuable points for the championship and he is now forth ahead his team-mate Steven Frossard.

Second overall was Red Bull Teka KTM Factory Racing MX1's Antonio Cairoli, who has succeed in closing the gap with the Championship leader Desalle. Cairoli would have won the GP if he had not made so many mistakes on the track on the second race, as he had won the first one.

Rockstar Energy Suzuki World MX1's Clement Desalle got a bittersweet third overall position. On the first race, Desalle started at the back of the pack, but he did an amazing recuperation and managed to be second overtaking Phillipaerts and Frossard at the same time. Unfortunately, he made a mistake and finished fourth. In the second heat another mistake made him lose the leadership and finished again in the fourth position.

Fourth overall was Monster Energy Yamaha's Steven Frossard who finished tight in points with third classified Desalle. The French finished third in the first race, but in the second one he had some pain on his thumb and decided not to take risks and keep the fourth position.

Completing the top five was Steve Ramon from Rockstar Energy Suzuki World MX1 thanks to his third final position in the second heat. The Belgian rider is making great progressions on his Suzuki machine and he is now tenth in the point standings.

Max Nagl was not that fortunate this weekend and he just finished sixth overall. However, the German is still second of the MX1 World Championship, eleven points behind the leader Clement Desalle.

Ken De Dycker got a solid sixth overall position, followed by Xavier Boog, who started really good in both heats but he could not keep the rhythm and finished ninth and eighth respectively.

Kevin Strijbos finished ninth and Evgeny Bobryshev could only finish 10th due to the numerous mistakes he made during both heats. His team-mate Rui Gonçalves also struggled in the Brazilian track and he finished just behind Bobryshev.

Davide Guarneri did not take part in today's races as the doctor suggested him some rest after the heavy crash he suffered yesterday during the qualifying race.

Jorge Antonio Balbi was the best Brazilian rider in the MX1 class finishing 19th position, but he could not finish the second race due to a crash he suffered right after the start.

2011 Brazil FIM Motocross MX1 Race 1 top ten: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 39:14.114; 2. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:02.121; 3. Steven Frossard (FRA, Yamaha), +0:12.140; 4. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:17.508; 5. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:24.048; 6. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Honda), +0:33.108; 7. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), +0:35.392; 8. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:38.190; 9. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:39.471; 10. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), +0:52.877;

2011 Brazil FIM Motocross MX1 Overall top ten: 1. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 47 points; 2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 47 p.; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 36 p.; 4. Steven Frossard (FRA, Yamaha), 36 p.; 5. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), 34 p.; 6. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 31 p.; 7. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Honda), 26 p.; 8. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), 25 p.; 9. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), 24 p.; 10. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), 23 p.;

2011 FIM Motocross MX1 Championship top ten: 1. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 164 points; 2. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 153 p.; 3. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 151 p.; 4. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 138 p.; 5. Steven Frossard (FRA, Yamaha), 132 p.; 6. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), 110 p.; 7. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), 108 p.; 8. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, Kawasaki), 94 p.; 9. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), 92 p.; 10. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), 90 p.;

2011 FIM Motocross MX1 Manufacturers: 1. KTM, 176 points; 2. Suzuki, 166 p.; 3. Yamaha, 164 p.; 4. Honda, 125 p.; 5. Kawasaki, 106 p.; 6. TM, 59 p.;


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.