Brembo: Leading Name in 2011 MotoGP

MotoGP News

The 2011 international motorcycle racing season will be an important one for Brembo. No less than eight of the ten teams signed up for the 2011 championship will be using brake systems supplied by Brembo, a leading name in motorsport competitions.

Among these are the Ducati, Honda, Suzuki and Yamaha factory teams, with Team Yamaha represented by current world champion Jorge Lorenzo.

During the winter, Brembo continued to research and develop components, looking to underscore its worldwide leadership status in brake technology.

Development in this particular field is being held back somewhat by severe technical regulations that impose a limit of 320 mm in disc diameter; nonetheless, Brembo engineers have made important progress.

The new calipers weigh 12% less than their predecessors and incorporate a system of valves that both improve the flow of fluid to the pistons and facilitate bleeding of the circuit.

New connectors have also made assembly and removal operations quicker and safer. Certain teams such as Ducati and Honda have already switched to the new generation of calipers developed last year with Team Suzuki, who collaborated on their development and deployment, whereas other teams, including Yamaha, have elected to carry on with systems of the previous generation.

The 2011 Championship commences on March 20th at the Losail circuit in Qatar – the first of 18 race weekends in the season.

Brembo will supply the following MotoGP teams and riders during 2011:

Yamaha Factory Racing: Yamaha YZR-M1

  • Jorge Lorenzo (1)
  • Ben Spies (11)

Monster Yamaha Tech 3: Yamaha YZR-M1

  • Colin Edwards (5)
  • Cal Crutchlow (35)

Ducati Corse: Ducati Desmosedici GP11

  • Valentino Rossi (46)
  • Nicky Hayden (69)

Pramac Racing: Ducati Desmosedici GP11

  • Randy de Puniet (14)
  • Loris Capirossi (65)

Aspar Team: Ducati Desmosedici GP11

  • Héctor Barbera (8)

Cardion AB Motoracing: Ducati Desmosedici GP11

  • Karel Abraham (17)

Repsol Honda: Honda RC212V

  • Andrea Dovizioso (4)
  • Dani Pedrosa (26)
  • Casey Stoner (27)

Rizla Suzuki MotoGP: Suzuki GSV-R

  • Alvaro Bautista (19)

Brembo will also be supplying systems for 34 of the 38 riders in the Moto2 competition.In the 125 Class, Brembo will be supplier to all the teams except one, making a total of 30 riders in this entry level category.