Moto2: Qatar Thursday Practice Results


In Moto2 Yuki Takahashi grabbed the quickest time of the second practice session in the dying moments, beating Scott Redding (Marc VDS Racing) by just 0.053 of a second as the intermediate class and the 125s ran two practices on Thursday at Losail International Circuit, Qatar, as opposed to the single one for MotoGP.

Redding looked set to claim top spot in the session, however a fall on his last lap cost him the chance of attempting to improve his time.

Takahashi’s lap of 2’01.695 was faster than the best time of FP1 set by Stefan Bradl (Viessmann Kiefer Racing). Bradl was still consistently quick though, recording the third fastest time of FP2. Andrea Iannone (Speed Master) and Thomas Lüthi (Interwetten Paddock Moto2) were fourth and fifth respectively.

Second quickest man from FP1 was newcomer Marc Márquez (Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol), who this time was sixth place. Michele Pirro (Gresini Racing Moto2) set the seventh fastest lap of the session, showing a good start to his 2011 campaign.

He was ahead of more experienced riders, Aleix Espargaró (Pons Racing), Julián Simón (Mapfre Aspar) and Claudio Corti (Italtrans Racing) who were eighth, ninth and tenth.

Pol Espargaró slid off into the gravel early on and had to return to the pits without his bike, missing a large portion of the session. His brother Aleix also had a minor off late on.

Moto2 Free Practice 2 Results:

Pos.Num.RiderNationTeamBikeKm/hTimeGap 1st/Prev.
1.72Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNGresini Racing Moto2Moriwaki271.92’01.695 
2.45Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamSuter263.72’01.7480.053 / 0.053
3.65Stefan BRADLGERViessmann Kiefer RacingKalex277.02’01.8000.105 / 0.052
4.29Andrea IANNONEITASpeed MasterSuter268.72’01.9830.288 / 0.183
5.12Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten Paddock Moto2Suter270.92’02.1430.448 / 0.160
6.93Marc MARQUEZSPATeam Catalunya Caixa RepsolSuter270.02’02.3480.653 / 0.205
7.51Michele PIRROITAGresini Racing Moto2Moriwaki270.12’02.4980.803 / 0.150
8.40Aleix ESPARGAROSPAPons HP 40Pons Kalex269.12’02.5770.882 / 0.079
9.60Julian SIMONSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter267.52’02.6200.925 / 0.043
10.71Claudio CORTIITAItaltrans Racing TeamSuter268.72’02.6730.978 / 0.053
11.21Javier FORESSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter267.72’02.9231.228 / 0.250
12.34Esteve RABATSPABlusens-STXFTR271.72’02.9511.256 / 0.028
13.15Alex DE ANGELISRSMJIR Moto2Motobi275.22’03.0211.326 / 0.070
14.63Mike DI MEGLIOFRATech 3 RacingTech 3271.62’03.1051.410 / 0.084
15.88Ricard CARDUSSPAQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki265.72’03.1851.490 / 0.080
16.38Bradley SMITHGBRTech 3 RacingTech 3270.62’03.1971.502 / 0.012
17.16Jules CLUZELFRAForward RacingSuter268.22’03.2311.536 / 0.034
18.36Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamSuter270.82’03.3361.641 / 0.105
19.76Max NEUKIRCHNERGERMZ Racing TeamMZ-RE Honda267.82’03.4041.709 / 0.068
20.4Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIGP Team Switzerland Kiefer RacingKalex272.72’03.7222.027 / 0.318
21.68Yonny HERNANDEZCOLBlusens-STXFTR265.92’03.7412.046 / 0.019
22.14Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAThai Honda Singha SAGFTR271.72’03.8372.142 / 0.096
23.35Raffaele DE ROSAITAG22 Racing TeamMoriwaki270.32’03.9712.276 / 0.134
24.80Axel PONSSPAPons HP 40Pons Kalex271.42’04.0552.360 / 0.084
25.25Alex BALDOLINIITAForward RacingSuter265.02’04.1782.483 / 0.123
26.75Mattia PASINIITAIoda Racing ProjectFTR271.82’04.1842.489 / 0.006
27.53Valentin DEBISEFRASpeed UpFTR272.22’04.2132.518 / 0.029
28.54Kenan SOFUOGLUTURTechnomag-CIPSuter269.12’04.2942.599 / 0.081
29.49Kev COGHLANGBRAeroport de CastelloFTR270.32’04.6542.959 / 0.360
30.44Pol ESPARGAROSPAHP Tuenti Speed UpFTR270.32’04.7013.006 / 0.047
31.77Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag-CIPSuter268.52’04.9233.228 / 0.222
32.19Xavier SIMEONBELTech 3 RacingTech 3266.62’05.2233.528 / 0.300
33.39Robertino PIETRIVENItaltrans Racing TeamSuter270.72’05.4673.772 / 0.244
34.13Anthony WESTAUSMZ Racing TeamMZ-RE Honda264.62’05.6463.951 / 0.179
35.9Kenny NOYESUSAAvintia-STXFTR270.92’05.8454.150 / 0.199
36.96Nasser Hasan AL MALKIQATQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki265.92’06.3374.642 / 0.492
37.95Mashel AL NAIMIQATQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki269.12’07.2355.540 / 0.898
38.64Santiago HERNANDEZCOLSAG TeamFTR264.42’08.6026.907 / 1.367
 3Simone CORSIITAIoda Racing ProjectFTR264.92’10.9779.282 / 2.375