Dungey Crashes, Returns for 4th at Indy SX

AMA Supercross

Team Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey rode strong in a fast-paced race aboard his Yoshimura-equipped Suzuki RM-Z450 in front of a crowd of 60,789 fans at the 10th round of the 2011 AMA/FIM Supercross Championship at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis, Ind.

Supercross Teammate Brett Metcalfe did not race in order to recover from his recent crashes in Atlanta and Daytona. Metcalfe is expected to return to action at next week’s event in Jacksonville, Fla.

The reigning SX Champ Dungey rode solid in practice and his Supercross heat race, crossing the line in fourth place. His Suzuki powered him out of the gate in the main and put him right up to the front, in fourth position.

Dungey was able to work his way up to third by lap two and maintained that position until the ninth lap, where he attempted a pass for second and went down after making contact with the second-place Supercross rider.

Dungey remounted in fourth and made a hard charge on his RM-Z, eventually catching back up to third, but was unable to make the pass and settled for a fourth-place finish.

Ryan Dungey (Rockstar Makita Suzuki RMZ450) says: "This was a tough one tonight. We worked throughout the day to get the Rockstar Makita Suzuki just right for the main. I mean, the bike was good tonight, but I didn’t get the holeshot and lost sight of the lead.

"I got up to the back of (Chad) Reed and clipped his back tire while trying to knife under and went down. He checked up, and the next thing I knew I was losing my front end. I got back up and closed on him again with, I think, two laps to go. I tried putting a couple passes on him on the last lap but never quite got it to stick. Jacksonville is next week and it’s time for a win."

The 2011 Rockstar Makita Suzuki team’s next event is Saturday, March 19th, at EverBank Field in Jacksonville, FL. You can meet the Rockstar Makita Suzuki team riders on Friday, March 18th, from 6 to 7 p.m. at Beach Blvd. Suzuki, 10315 Beach Boulevard, Jacksonville, Fla.

2011 Indianapolis Supercross Class Results:
1. Ryan Villopoto
2. James Stewart
3. Chad Reed
4. Ryan Dungey
5. Justin Brayton
6. Trey Canard
7. Kevin Windham
8. Nicholas Wey
9. Cole Seely
10. Mike Alessi

2011 Supercross Class Standings (After Round 10):
1. Ryan Villopoto – 221
2. James Stewart – 195
3. Chad Reed – 192
4. Ryan Dungey – 183
5. Trey Canard – 169
6. Andrew Short – 129
7. Justin Brayton – 121
8. David Millsaps – 114
9. Brett Metcalfe – 107
10. Kevin Windham – 103


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.