2011 Indy AMA Supercross: Preview

Indianapolis Supercross

Nine rounds are complete in the 2011 AMA Supercross series, and Monster Energy Kawasaki's Ryan Villopoto has a 23-point lead over San Manuel Yamaha's James Stewart as the series heads to Indianapolis Saturday.

If Villopoto has the luck he had at Lucas Oil Stadium in 2010 when he took the win, the KX450F rider could extend his lead even further over the two-time AMA Supercross champion Stewart.

Ryan Villopoto says: "It's really good to gain a lot of points, but I'm not going to relax. I know that if I keep working at it, I will only be putting myself in a better position as the championship goes down to Las Vegas. I want to keep going after wins so I won't be slacking off at all because of the 23 points."

As for Stewart, he hasn't had much luck in the last two races; at last week's round in Daytona, Stewart suffered a horrible crash while he was well ahead of the pack. Stewart got the holeshot, and was riding like no other rider, jumping a table section of the track that no other Supercross rider would attempt.

But he wrecked, and his Yamaha YZ450F launched off a jump, falling to the ground. Stewart attempted to remount the bike, but appeared a bit lightheaded with little balance. But once he regained full balance, he restarted the race, and finished an impressive ninth.

In Atlanta the week before, Stewart and his rival Two-Two Motorsports Honda rider Chad Reed were battling for the lead until the two crashed into each other on the final lap. This gave the win to Villopoto, and Reed went on to finish third behind reigning champions Ryan Dungey (Rockstar Makita Suzuki), and Reed managed fourth.

Although both performances were impressive when Stewart rejoined the races, his finishes keep putting him further behind Villopoto.

And because Reed has had three consecutive podium finishes, he is only a point behind Stewart as the Supercross series heads to Indy.

In Supercross Lites, GEICO Honda's Justin Barcia leads by four points over last-weekend's Daytona winner, Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki's Blake Bagget.

Blake Baggett says: "Winning my first heat race was really big for my confidence. I have been working on my starts because I haven't really been known for being a good starter. I knew that it would be important because the start was short. We've been putting in the hard work and it feels great to finally see it pay off."

At last year's Indianapolis Supercross, Villopoto captured a hard-fought victory after a troublesome evening forced him into the LCQ to qualify for the main event. In the Supercross Lites action, eventual Eastern Regional champion Christophe Pourcel took the win.

AMA Supercross Point Standings (After Nine Rounds)
1. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki - 196
2. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Yamaha - 173
3. Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Honda - 172
4. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki - 165
5. Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda - 154
6. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM - 128
7. Brett Metcalfe, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Suzuki - 107
8. Justin Brayton, Cornelius, N.C, Yamaha - 105
9. Davi Millsaps, Carlsbad, Calif., Yamaha - 104
10. Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., Honda - 89

Eastern Regional Supercross Lites Points Standings (After Nine Rounds)
1. Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda - 69
2. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Kawasaki - 65
3. Dean Wilson, Menifee, Calif., Kawasaki - 60
4. Ryan Sipes, Ekron, Ky., Yamaha - 54
5. Blake Wharton, Aubrey, Texas, Honda - 51
6. Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Suzuki - 41
7. Matt Lemoine, Collinsville, Texas, Kawasaki - 35
8. Malcolm Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Suzuki - 34
9. P.J. Larsen, Murrieta, Calif., KTM - 33
10. Lance Vincent, Youngsville, La., Honda - 33

Indy Supercross on TV

SPEED will broadcast Indianapolis Supercross live beginning at 7 p.m. (cst).

Past Supercross Winners in Indianapolis

Supercross Class
February 20, 2010: Ryan Villopoto
February 28, 2009: Chad Reed
March 1, 2008: Chad Reed
March 24, 2007: James Stewart
March 04, 2006: Ricky Carmichael
February 12, 2005: Ricky Carmichael
March 20, 2004: Mike LaRocco
March 01, 2003: Ricky Carmichael
February 09, 2002: David Vuillemin
February 10, 2001: Ricky Carmichael
February 12, 2000: Jeremy McGrath
April 24, 1999: Ezra Lusk
February 14, 1998: Jeremy McGrath
February 15, 1997: Jeff Emig
March 30, 1996: Jeremy McGrath
March 18, 1995: Jeremy McGrath
March 19, 1994: Jeremy McGrath
April 24, 1993: Jeremy McGrath
March 21, 1992: Jeff Stanton

Supercross Lites Class
February 20, 2010: Christophe Pourcel
February 28, 2009: Austin Stroupe
March 1, 2008: Trey Canard
March 24, 2007: Ryan Dungey
March 04, 2006: David Millsaps
February 12, 2005: David Millsaps
March 20, 2004: Josh Hansen
March 01, 2003: Branden Jesseman
February 09, 2002: Chad Reed
February 10, 2001: Travis Pastrana
February 12, 2000: Michael Brandes
April 24, 1999: Ernesto Fonseca
February 14, 1998: Ricky Carmichael
February 15, 1997: John Dowd
March 30, 1996: Mickael Pichon
March 18, 1995: Mickael Pichon
March 19, 1994: Ezra Lusk
April 24, 1993: Doug Henry
March 21, 1992: Jimmy Button

Indy Supercross Tickets

Tickets are available at the Lucas Oil Stadium Box Office, SupercrossOnline.com, all Ticketmaster Outlets, charge by phone at (800) 745-3000, or online at ticketmaster.com.

Practice and qualifying begins at 12:30 p.m., and the main event begins at 7 p.m. VIP tickets are available for $75 Adult/Child (VIP Experience includes one (1) ticket to the event and a private autograph session with the top riders from 3 - 4 p.m. the day of the show); Club Level $45 Adult/Child; Gold Circle $35 Adult/Child; Mid Level $25 Adult/Child; Treadhead $10 Adult/Child.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.