San Diego Supercross: Final CA Visit

2011 AMA Supercross Preview

Nine points separate the leaders as the AMA Supercross series heads to Qualcomm Stadium, San Diego, the final time the 2011 SX field will compete in California.

Going into round 7, the man at top with 132 Supercross points is Monster Energy Kawasaki rider Ryan Villopto. He leads over San Manuel Yamaha’s James Stewart, with last week’s winner in Houston, American Honda’s Trey Canard, in third with 112 points.

The Western Regional Supercross Lites class continues this weekend, with Kawasaki’s Josh Hansen leading over his teammate Broc Tickle. Hansen will be riding with recent injuries; the Supercross Lites broke his left hand and fingers while competing.

At Houston, a Supercross rider other than Stewart or Villopoto took the win. Taking the win at Reliant Stadium in Houston, Texas, for Round 6 of the AMA Supercross Series was Trey Canard aboard the Honda CRF450R.

The Houston SX win was also Canard’s first-ever win in the premier class. Canard was joined on the podium Saturday evening for Round 6 by reigning Supercross Champion Ryan Dungey (Rockstar Makita Suzuki) and Villopoto.

Trey Canard (Honda CRF 450 R) says: "I don’t know what to say. It was an awesome race. I just tried to hang in there, because it was a tricky track. I made a mistake and (Ryan) Dungey gained a lot of time on me and from there I was just riding defensive. We had a bit of a rough week this week, but this makes it all better."

Ryan Villopoto (Kawasaki KX450F) says: "That was a tricky (first) turn. It was super tight but I got through there. There were definitely some close moments in that race. The name of the game when you’re at the top (of the standings) is consistency."

In the Eastern regional Supercross Lites class main event, Suzuki City’s Malcolm Stewart (James Stewart’s younger brother) got the holeshot, but was later passed by Honda’s Justin Barcia and Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Dean Wilson.

Barcia and Wilson swapped the lead a few times, but once Barcia got up front he remained their until the end of the 15-lap race. Wilson took second, followed by Monster Energy’s Kawasaki rider Blake Baggett.

Monster Energy Supercross made its debut in San Diego on Oct. 25, 1980 when Mike Bell won on a Yamaha. Seven-time supercross champion Jeremy McGrath and Reed share the all-time AMA Supercross win record at Qualcomm Stadium with five while Stewart owns two wins.

Kawasaki’s Todd Campbell won the inaugural Supercross Lites class on January 26, 1995. Stewart and McGrath are tied on the all-time win list with two in the Supercross Lites class.

After a day filled with rain, a well-groomed track greeted riders inside San Diego’s Qualcomm Stadium for the fifth round of the 2010 Monster Energy Supercross. 51,843 Southern California fans braved the weather as Davi Millsaps, who now rides for the JGRMX/Toyota team, captured his first Supercross class victory of the season.

Eventual Western Regional Supercross Lites class champion and Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Jake Weimer, of Rupert, Idaho, won his fourth Supercross Lites class victory in five races.

Supercross Class Season Standings

1. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki – 132
2. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Yamaha – 123
3. Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda – 112
4. Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Honda – 105
5. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki – 101
6. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM – 80
7. Brett Metcalfe, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Suzuki – 80
8. Justin Brayton, Cornelius, N.C, Yamaha – 65
9. Davi Millsaps, Carlsbad, Calif., Yamaha – 62
10. Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., Honda – 61

Supercross Lites Class Eastern Regional Season Standings
1. Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda – 25
2. Dean Wilson, Menifee, Calif., Kawasaki – 22
3. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Kawasaki – 20
4. Ryan Sipes, Ekron, Ky., Yamaha – 18
5. Ian Trettel, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Suzuki – 16
6. Blake Wharton, Aubrey, Texas, Honda – 15
7. Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Suzuki – 14
8. Lance Vincent, Youngsville, La., Honda – 13
9. Matt Lemoine, Collinsville, Texas, Kawasaki – 12
10. Alex Martin, Millville, Minn., Honda – 11

Supercross Lites Class Western Regional Season Standings
1. Josh Hansen, Elbert, Colo., Kawasaki – 113
2. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Kawasaki – 105
3. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda – 91
4. Ryan Morais, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki – 84
5. Cole Seely, Corona, Calif., Honda – 70
6. Ken Roczen, Mattstedt, Germany, KTM – 69
7. Martin Davalos, Cairo, Ga., Suzuki – 60
8. Kyle Cunningham, Aledo, Texas, Yamaha – 60
9. Tyla Rattray, Wildomar, Calif., Kawasaki – 58
10. Jimmy DeCotis, Peabody, Mass., Honda – 51

Past Winners in San Diego

Supercross class
February 6, 2010: Davi Millsaps
February 14, 2009: James Stewart
February 9. 2008: Chad Reed
February 17, 2007: Chad Reed
February 11, 2006: James Stewart
February 19, 2005: Chad Reed
January 24, 2004: Chad Reed
February 08, 2003: Chad Reed
January 12, 2002: David Vuillemin
January 13, 2001: Ricky Carmichael
January 22, 2000: David Vuillemin
January 16, 1999: Ezra Lusk
February 07, 1998: Jeremy McGrath
February 10, 1996: Jeremy McGrath
February 11, 1995: Jeremy McGrath
February 05, 1994: Jeremy McGrath
February 06, 1993: Jeremy McGrath
February 08, 1992: Damon Bradshaw
February 09, 1991: Jean-Michael Bayle
February 10, 1990: Jeff Stanton
February 11, 1989: Rick Johnson
February 14, 1987: Rick Johnson
February 08, 1986: Rick Johnson
January 26, 1985: Johnny O’ Mara
November 16, 1982: Broc Glover
November 14, 1981: Broc Glover
October 25, 1980: Mike Bell

Supercross Lites class
February 6, 2010: Jake Weimer
February 14, 2009: Ryan Dungey
February 9, 2008: Jason Lawrence
February 17, 2007: Ryan Villopoto
February 11, 2006: Andrew Short
February 19, 2005: Nathan Ramsey
January 24, 2004: Ivan Tedesco
February 08, 2003: James Stewart
January 12, 2002: James Stewart
January 13, 2001: Justin Buckelew
January 22, 2000: Greg Schnell
January 16, 1999: Casey Johnson
February 07, 1998: John Dowd
February 10, 1996: Jeff Willoh
February 11, 1995: Damon Huffman
February 05, 1994: Ryan Hughes
February 06, 1993: Mickael Pichon
February 08, 1992: Jeremy McGrath
February 09, 1991: Jeremy McGrath
February 10, 1990: Ty Davis
February 11, 1989: Jeff Matiasevich
February 14, 1987: Kyle Lewis
February 08, 1986: Donny Schmit
January 26, 1985: Todd Campbell

San Diego Supercross Tickets:

Tickets are available at all Ticketmaster retail locations,, charge by phone at (800) 745-3000, participating Yamaha dealers, or online at

Practice and qualifying begins at 12:30 p.m., and the main event begins at 7 p.m. Gold Circle tickets are available for $35 Adult/Child; Mid-Level $30 Adult/Child; Press-Level $30 Adult/Child; Treadhead $10 Adult/Child. Fans can also get into the Pits for FREE from 12:30 – 6 p.m. Race Day when they recycle a MONSTER Energy Can at the stadium Pit Entrance (valid only with event ticket).