Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport Phoenix Supercross: Round 2 Wrap Up

Phoenix Supercross: Round 2 Wrap Up

AMA Supercross Video

When the flag dropped at Phoenix in the AMA Supercross Lites class, all eyes were on Monster Energy Kawasaki rider Josh Hansen. The Elbert, Colo., rider already took the most points after his victory at the season-opener in Anaheim for Round 1, and he continued his dominance at Chase Field Saturday night.

Hansen was joined on the podium by hole-shot winner Broc Tickle of Holly, Mich. (Kawasaki), and Ryan Morais of Murrieta, Calif. (Suzuki).

Josh Hansen (Kawasaki KX250F) says: "I’m really stoked," exclaims the son of MX racer Donnie Hansen. "I didn’t get the start I needed to, but I tried my best to be patient and it worked out for me. I want to thank everyone on my team for helping me out and giving me a good bike and all these fans (in Phoenix) for coming out tonight."

After the Supercross Lites class concluded, the 450cc-premier class was out in the dirt. And the winner…James Stewart on the San Manuel Yamaha YZ450F.

After sustaining an injury at Phoenix last year that destroyed his 2010 Supercross season, the two-time Supercross champ returned at Round 2 in 2011 to take his first victory of 2011. He was follwed to the line Anaheim 1’s winner Ryan Villopoto (Monster Energy Kawasaki) and Trey Canard (Geico Honda), respectively.

James Stewart (Yamaha YZ 450 F) says: "I really wanted to pull that holeshot," explains the Supercross and AMA Pro Motocross star.

"This track was tough tonight but I haven’t won in over a year so I really wanted this one. I was even a little nervous out there but I want to thank everyone on my team for giving such an awesome bike. This feels great."

This YouTube video highlights the Phoenix Supercross round, with Jim Holley and Broc Glover of Dunlop Tires commentary.

2011 Supercross Class Results: Round 2, Phoenix
1. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Yamaha
2. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki
3. Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda
4. Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Honda
5. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki
6. Justin Brayton, Cornelius, N.C, Yamaha
7. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM
8. Brett Metcalfe, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Suzuki
9. Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, Fla., Yamaha
10. Kyle Regal, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha

2011 Supercross Lites Class Western Regional Results: Round 2, Phoenix
1. Josh Hansen, Elbert, Colo., Kawasaki
2. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Kawasaki
3. Ryan Morais, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki
4. Cole Seely, Corona, Calif., Honda
5. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda
6. Tyla Rattray, Wildomar, Calif., Kawasaki
7. Jimmy Decotis, Peabody, Mass., Honda
8. Travis Baker, Temecula, Calif., Honda
9. Martin Davalos, Cairo, Ga., Suzuki
10. Kyle Cunningham, Aledo, Texas, Yamaha

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

Lieback’s Lounge: From Injury to 200-Lap Endurance Mini Moto Racing

Heading into July, I put around 7000 miles combined on my Ducati Multistrada and KTM 1190 Adventure R, and about 1000 miles on my...

Full of Hot Air? Exotogg Puts It To Good Use [Cold Weather Riding Vest]

Have you ever been told you’re full of hot air? Well, even if you haven’t, there’s a new product out from the U.K. that...

2021 KTM 350 XC-F Kailub Russell Edition First Look (12 Fast Facts)

KTM continues its tradition of special edition motorcycles to honor championship-winning riders. The good news is that buyers get a chance to own a...

2021 BMW R 18 Classic First Look: Touring Motorcycle (9 Fast Facts)

Hot on the heels of the 2021 BMW R 18 First Edition comes the 2021 BMW R 18 Classic. BMW goes for the touring...

2021 Yamaha YZ250F Review (13 First Ride Fast Facts)

We rode the new, upgraded 2021 Yamaha YZ250F at Glen Helen Raceway for a first ride impression. We were fans of the previous YZ250F, so...

2021 Monster Energy Supercross Schedule (Super Tuesdays and more)

The 2021 Monster Energy Supercross schedule is now public. Due to the government responses to the COVID-19 pandemic, the schedule is unlike any seen...