Motorcycle Racing News Irish Motorcyclist of the Year: Laverty

Irish Motorcyclist of the Year: Laverty

Irish Motorcyclist Award

World Superbike rider Eugene Laverty has won the Irish Motorcyclist of the Year Award, joining some greats of Irish racing from the past in receiving this accolade.

Laverty is also unusual in winning as a short circuit rider, as historically most recipients are closed road racers, like Joey Dunlop, Phillip McCallen, Brian Reid and several others.

Eugene Laverty says: "It was a nice award to get, it was the first time I have won it and it was a public vote. Last year Ryan Farquhar won it and it is normally road racers who get it, so it was nice to be recognized."

"Tom Herron was the first winner back in 1978 and Joey Dunlop won it five times. It is a very nice trophy and it has a replica of Joey Dunlop’s crash helmet on top of it."

Laverty has now completed his last superbike test of 2010, but alongside his Yamaha Sterligarda Superbike teammate Marco Melandri he will attend the official tests at Portimao in January 2011 and then the Phillip Island tests that will take place only a few days before the start of the new season, between Feb. 25-27.

Eugene Laverty says: "Our recent Phillip Island superbike tests went well, and it was a case of getting the bike adjusted to me a bit more. I have clicked with the bike as well. I am also getting on well with Marco; he is very laid back and down to earth."

" I am looking forward to riding at Portimao next time out, because in Australia there was only Aprilia and us, and we were definitely dodging each other on the track some of the times. This time there will be no escaping each other, and I really want to get a feel for what it is like to ride the Superbike in among other riders on track."

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Indian Challenger Lineup First Look: Photos, Prices, and Colors

The performance-oriented Challenger bagger lineup from Indian returns for 2021, with three models to choose from. All three 2021 Indian Challenger models get the...

2021 GasGas Motocross Lineup First Look (Specs and Photos)

When under Spanish ownership, GasGas was never known as a motocross brand. However, under the guidance of Pierer Mobility AG and Bajaj Auto—the owners...

2021 Indian Chieftain Lineup First Look: 3 Big-Inch Baggers

There are three baggers in the 2021 Indian Chieftain lineup, with just a few changes to the motorcycles this year. There are new colors,...

2021 GasGas Trial Lineup First Look (8 Fast Facts: 3 TXT Racing Models)

The first GasGas motorcycles of the Pierer Mobility AG and Bajaj Auto era have arrived. Those who were expecting wholesale redesigns of the line...

Lieback’s Lounge: This Will All Pass [Thoughts on Simic and Motorcycles]

There is a menace in the air Of tragedies in the making. These lines are from "Late September," written by the American minimalist poet Charles Simic....

Racing Classic Motorcycles: First You Have to Finish by Andy Reynolds [Review]

Author Andy Reynolds’ new book, Racing Classic Motorcycles: First You Have to Finish, is about a man livin’ the classic motorcycle racing dream—with some...