AMA Supersport: 2011 Season Changes

2011 AMA Supersport

AMA Pro Racing's exciting SuperSport class will undergo some subtle changes in configuration for the 2011 season.

The segregated Top Gun and Young Gun class within the Supersport class structure has been eliminated. The series will continue to feature two divisions, but the overall champion will be the highest points scoring divisional champion.

A special award highlighting the younger SuperSport riders will also be awarded to the highest points scoring 16-21 year old rider.

The Supersport class will still feature two divisional championships that will be comprised of an equal number of points scoring races in each respective division.

The minimum age requirement of 16 will be maintained, however, any Supersport competitor is eligible to win their declared divisional championship. Riders will still be able to compete out of their declared division, but riders can only score points in their division.

There will be a select number of combined division races, including the final race of the season. Each division will crown a champion rider and the divisional champion that scores the highest number of points will be the AMA Pro Supersport National Champion for 2011.

In addition, the young rider in the 16 to 21 year old range that accumulates the highest number of points will be presented with a special Young Gun award at the AMA season end banquet.

Riders may continue to race in the SuperSport class until such time they have won two championships. Any overall National Championship along with the qualifying Divisional Championship earned in the same season will be counted as one.

Riders who hold an Expert License from an acknowledged road racing sanctioning organization will be eligible for the SuperSport class, the full criteria is available in the AMA Pro Licensing documentation.

David Atlas (AMA Pro Chief Operating Officer) says: "We felt these changes were necessary to more clearly define the overall SuperSport Champion. As with our other championships, the rider with the most points wins the coveted number one plate and we wanted to bring the same degree of clarity and recognition to the exciting SuperSport class, while also still acknowledging the accomplishments of the best young rider with a special year end award."

2011 AMA Supersport Changes

  • An AMA Pro Racing SuperSport License is issued to eligible expert riders who have reached the minimum age of 16 and meet the criteria specified in the licensing documentation.
  • The SuperSport License not only allows participation in the SuperSport class, but also the XR1200 series. For XR1200 competitors that intend to enter only XR1200 races, the SuperSport license is the correct credential.
  • The SuperSport class will have two divisions with an equal number of points paying events scheduled per division. Riders may compete outside of their respective division however they will only earn and accumulate points toward their declared divisional championship. The highest scoring divisional champion will be the overall SuperSport National Champion.
  • Riders who have won two Divisional or National SuperSport championships are no longer eligible to participate in the SuperSport class. Any overall National Championship along with the qualifying Divisional Championship earned in the same season will be counted as one.
  • To highlight the younger SuperSport riders, a year-end award will be presented to the highest overall scoring 16 - 21 year old SuperSport competitor. This running battle of the future up-and-comers will be tracked and promoted throughout the season. Riders will not be eligible for this award in the season following their 21st birthday.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.