Motorcycle Racing News Phillip Island MotoGP Highlights Video

Phillip Island MotoGP Highlights Video

Phillip Island Video

The Ducati Team rider Casey Stoner won his home race, the Iveco Australian Grand Prix, for the fourth consecutive year with a clear victory ahead of Jorge Lorenzo and Valentino Rossi at the Phillip Island MotoGP.

Jorge Lorenzo (Fiat Yamaha M1) rode a lonely MotoGP race in second position as he finished almost ten seconds ahead of third-placed Valentino Rossi (Fiat Yamaha M1).

American Nicky Hayden (Ducati GP10) missed the final podium spot by a margin of just 0.038s to finish fourth.

Monster Yamaha Tech 3 rider Ben Spies achieved his eighth top-five finish of his maiden MotoGP campaign and with it secured 2010 MotoGP Rookie of the Year.

Marco Simoncelli (San Carlo Honda Gresini) was just under three seconds further back in sixth position.

The remaining MotoGP finishing positions went to Colin Edwards (Monster Yamaha Tech 3), Aleix Espargaró (Pramac Racing), Marco Melandri (San Carlo Honda Gresini) and Randy de Puniet (LCR Honda).

Andrea Dovizioso (Repsol Honda) was the only MotoGP rider who failed to finish the race after he experienced technical problems early on.

Absent due to injuries was Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda) – who rode in MotoGP qualifying but opted not to race as he continues his recovery from a broken collarbone

Also Loris Capirossi (Rizla Suzuki), who sustained a groin injury in a qualifying session crash. The pair both expect to be fit to return at the Estoril MotoGP in a fortnight.

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Langen Two Stroke First Look: Street-Legal V-Twin!

If you thought we’d never see another street-legal two-stroke sportbike, you’re not alone. There hasn’t been a full-size two-stroke motorcycle for the street in...

2021 Indian Springfield Lineup First Look (5 Fast Facts)

There are two motorcycles in the 2021 Indian Springfield lineup, with the standard Springfield focused on longer-distance touring, and the Springfield Dark Horse pulling...

2021 BMW R 18 Review (19 Fast Facts on the First Edition)

Over a year after its concept debut, the 2021 BMW R 18 has made its way to production. Much has been written about its...

2021 Honda CRF450R Review (12 First Ride Fast Facts from Glen Helen)

The 2021 Honda CRF450R is all-new for 2021. The entirely new chassis, bodywork, exhaust, and hydraulic clutch highlight the changes to the CRF450R. Add to...

Arai Spoiler EX2 for the Corsair-X Helmet First Look

The Arai Corsair-X is the Japanese company’s flagship helmet and intended for riders of the highest performance motorcycle. MotoGP racers Maverick Viñales of Monster...

2021 Indian Scout Lineup First Look: Five Models (Photos, Specs + Prices)

Although the five-motorcycle Indian Scout lineup is functionally unchanged for 2021—last year was a major expansion of the line—this year, Indian is offering new...