AMA Pro Flat Track: Jake Johnson Crowned

Flat Track Racing

Last Sunday, the day after the K&N Filters Grand National Championship presented by came to an end on the Yavapai Downs Mile, AMA Pro Racing hosted the 2010 Grand National Championship Awards Ceremony at the beautiful Prescott Resort and Convention Center.

For the first time since 2006 the Official Overall Grand National Champion was to be crowned and after capping the exciting year with a win Zanotti Racing and Jake Johnson came away with $17,500.00 cash.

American Motorcyclists Association's Ken Saillant presented number one plates to all the Series Champions, Jake Johnson (GNC Twins & Overall), Henry Wiles (GNC Singles) and Jeffery Carver Jr. (Pro Singles).

By virtue of his 20 point win over both Joe Kopp (Latus Harley-Davidson / ENI USA R&M / Lloyd Brothers Motorsports) and Jared Mees (Roger Lake Racing / Blue Springs Harley-Davidson) Johnson won $10,000 from K&N Filters and $5,000 from Harley-Davidson Motor Company plus another $2,500 for winning the "Twins" Championship. Kopp and Mees collected checks for $8,000 and $6,000 respectively from the K&N points fund.

Monster Energy Kawasaki / Jones Bros Racing / Shift Racing's Henry Wiles won four of the six "Singles" rounds and pocketed $2,500 for his efforts.

Van`s Yamaha / Woody Kyle Racing's Jeffery Carver collected the's $5,000. Carver topped last year's class Champion, Rod Lake / Mike Velasco Racing / Brothers Powersports' Brad Baker and Mack Daddy Racing / RHC Products' Mikey Avila as he posted five wins in the sixteen race series.

Kawasaki Motors Corp., USA was named as both the GNC Manufacture of the Year and GNC Manufacture of the Year - Expert Singles. Kawasaki was the only manufacture to earn points in all sixteen Grand National Mains. Reid Norden Kawasaki Team Green Manager was present to accept the award.

For the first time in many years, the Harley-Davidson Motor Company did not win all the "Twins" races, but they did manage to come away with another GNC Manufacture of the Year - Expert Twins award.

Tom Seymore of Saddlemen Seats presented Moroney's Harley-Davidson's PJ Jacobsen with the Saddlemen GNC Rookie of the Year award worth $5,000 to the up and coming road race star. Jacobsen only attempted to qualify at six Nationals making the main four times.
Zanotti Racing's Ted McDermitt, Dave Zanotti and Mike Hacker were named K&N Filters Grand National Championship - Mechanics of the Year for backing Johnson's great season. Zanotti Racing also garnered the Team Excellence award. GNC Pro Singles Mechanics of the Year went to Jeffery Carver's team of Woody Kyle and Kenny Pickens.

Australia's Luke Gough was named the Most Determined Rider of 2010. Gough qualified for half of the National Mains aboard Harley-Davidson, Suzuki, Yamaha and Honda mounts.

Lancaster Harley-Davidson's brother and sister race team was the sentimental favorites as they won the Most Dedicated award.
By virtue of their two mile wins, the Monster Energy / Kawasaki / Werner-Springsteen Racing Team won the Outstanding Performance award.

The new K&N Filters $50,000.00 points fund paid down ten places in the Grand National Series while the $15,000.00 points fund was good for the top five points winners.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.