Aragon MotoGP: 125cc GP Preview

MotoGP News

With the 125cc World Championship title race being dominated by Marc Márquez, Nico Terol and Pol Espargaró fans from the talented trio's home country of Spain will be relishing the opportunity to see the latest instalment of their fight for the 2010 crown on home soil this weekend.

Red Bull Ajo Motorsport rider Márquez arrives at Motorland Aragón with a nine-point advantage at the top of the standings, and victory at Misano was his sixth of the year. One more win this season will equal 2009 125cc World Champion Julián Simón's tally from last year.

The man within closest range of the 17 year-old is Bancaja Aspar rider Nico Terol, and the motivation of a first win on home soil will only add to his determination to continue pushing Márquez in what has already developed into a fine battle after the pair finished first and second at Misano. At 11 points further back Tuenti Racing's Espargaró is maintaining contact although his result of sixth in the previous round was his worst of the campaign to date. Victory at Aragón would add to the pressure on both Márquez and Terol and renew his push.

The Spanish supremacy is reflected in the fact that the last 21 races in the category have now been won by Spaniards, the longest sequence of successive 125cc wins by one nation in the 62-year history of GP racing.

British rider Bradley Smith is in fourth, although he is 49 points adrift of Espargaró as he holds onto fading hopes of challenging the top three. Sandro Cortese (Avant Mitsubishi Ajo), Esteve Rabat (Blusens-STX) and Efrén Vázquez (Tuenti Racing) are separated by ten points from fifth to seventh.

Five wild card riders will add to the 125cc field at Aragón with Eduard Lopez (Catalunya Racing Team) and Josep Rodrigues (Hune Racing) on Aprilia machinery and Juan Perello (SAG Castrol), Johnny Rosell (SAG Castrol) and German youngster Kevin Hanus (Thomas Sabo Team Hanusch) all on Hondas.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.