2011 Arenacross Schedule & Preview

AMA Arencross

Feld Motor Sports announced today the 2011 AMA Arenacross Series schedule, which includes 14 stops. The series begins at the BOK Center in Tulsa, Okla., Jan. 8, and concludes at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines, Iowa on April 9.

The 2011 AMA Arenacross Series schedule includes a new stop at the Verizon Arena in Little Rock, Ark., and welcomes back four cities, each of which have previously hosted AMA Arenacross Series races in the past, including Toledo, Ohio (Feb. 4-6), Wichita, Kan. (March 4-6), Greenville, S.C. (March 12-13), and Rockford, Ill. (April 1-3).

Central Arkansas Verizon Arena (formerly Alltel Arena) will make its AMA Arenacross Series debut on March 26 for the 12th race of the 14 race season.

Since its inception in 1999, the 18,000 seat multi-purpose arena located just off the Arkansas River is host to the Arkansas Diamonds of the Indoor Football League and accommodates NCAA basketball tournaments, concerts, rodeos, and auto racing events.

Jayme Dalsing (director of Arenacross, Feld Motor Sports) says: “The 2011 season should prove to be one of the most competitive in the history of the AMA Arenacross Series. With the return of three-time champion Josh Demuth defending his title and 19 year old Arenacross phenom Tyler Bowers looking for redemption, we are expecting a season packed with excitement.”

Following a several year hiatus, Toledo and Wichita will welcome the series back with newly constructed state-of-the-art venues to house the racing action. Opening its doors in winter of 2010, Wichita’s Intrust Bank Arena, has the largest indoor seating capacity in Kansas, and is home to the Wichita Thunder CHL ice hockey team.

Toledo’s Huntington Center, which opened fall of 2009, is the nation’s first energy and environmentally efficient (LEED certified) sports arena and is home to the Toledo Walleye ECHL ice hockey team.

As part of excitement for the 2011 season, Des Moines’ Wells Fargo Arena, home of the traditional season opener, will now host the final race of the series, where a new champion will be crowned.

Reigning AMA Arenacross Series champion Demuth will stage his title defense amid a pool of young, fresh talent ready to steal his crown. Demuth raced a notable 2010 season, winning six races and earning an additional nine podium finishes.

The Babbitt’s Kawasaki squad equipped with Demuth, Bowers, and Chad Johnson lead the field with a combined total of 18 wins. Bowers lead the field with nine race wins, but due to a late season injury, was forced to sit out the last two races. Despite the injury, Bowers was third place in the season standings, trailing teammates Johnson and Demuth, respectively.

Josh Demuth says: “I’m going to defend my title just like I have in the past. There’s always going to be a rider or two that makes you push it to the limits. My teammates Tyler [Bowers] and Chad [Johnson] are those riders. Having two great riders like Chad and Tyler as your teammates creates a pretty serious rivalry in the truck, but it’s very healthy and much needed to keep us on our toes all year long.”

“My plan is to stick with what I have learned in the past in order to get me through another arenacross season. From the fans to the friends, arenacross racing has always been my favorite. I’m looking forward to seeing everyone again soon.”

Tyler Bowers
says: “I’ve already got my program in line and I’m not by any means going to take it easy on the competition this year. I came so close to winning the title last year, I’m pretty upset, so I’m coming into the season hungrier than ever. It felt great to have a good team behind me last season. I felt nothing but support and dedication from them. I’ve worked hard this summer, and the time I spent sidelined has motivated me for the year to come. Like I said before, I’m hungrier than ever.”

2011 AMA Arenacross Series Schedule

Date                                         City                                          Venue
January 8-9                               Tulsa, Okla.                               BOK Center
January 15-16                            Kansas City, Mo.                       Kemper Center
January 22-23                            Dayton, Ohio                            Ervin J. Nutter Center
January 28-30                            Denver, Colo.                            Denver Coliseum
February 4-6                              Toledo, Ohio                             Huntington Center
February 11-13                          TBA
February 18-20                          Reno, Nev.                                Livestock Event Center
February 26-27                          Sacramento, Calif.                     Arco Arena
March 4-6                                  Wichita, Kan.                             Intrust Bank Arena
March 12-13                              Greenville, S.C.                         Bi-Lo Center
March 18-20                              Council Bluffs, Iowa                  Mid-America Center
March 26-27                              Little Rock, Ark.                         Verizon Wireless Arena
April 1-3                                    Rockford, Ill                              Metro Center
April 9-10                                  Des Moines, Iowa                      Wells Fargo Arena