Stewart Fast but Past at Unadilla MX

Motocross Results

James Stewart finally returned to motocross racing action with much anticipation at the Rockstar Energy Drink Unadilla National. All eyes have been on JS7 as many were looking for Bubba to upset the runaway Ryan Dungey.

Chad Reed has not been able to stop his roll but would the pure speed of Stewart be able to change the winning ways of the 2010 rookie Supercross Champion?

Out of the gates Stewart qualified first during the afternoon motos with a blistering time of 2:05.839. Hot on his heels was the Honda 450 of Andrew Short and behind him was the mx series leader himself, Ryan Dungey.

The top 10 riders and qualifying times can be found below. It clearly shows that Stewart was about second faster than Dungey and two and half seconds faster than the 10th place finisher.

450 Class Qualifying
1. James Stewart 2:05.839
2. Andrew Short 2:06.301
3. Ryan Dungey 2:06.735
4. Clement DeSalle 2.06.833
5. Josh Grant 2:06.903
6. Mike Alessi 2:07.906
7. Kyle Regal 2:08.087
8. Brett Metcalfe 2:08.190
9. Ben Townley 2:08.193
10. Ryan Sipes 2:08.494

After a three-week break, the 2010 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship finally returned to race action for Round 9 from Unadilla Valley Sports Center.

A massive crowd was on hand to see James Stewart attacked one of the most legendary tracks in the country. But after four motos, Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey, took home his eighth consecutive 450cc class.

After grabbing the holeshot in the first premier class moto, Dungey never looked back, continually extending his advantage over the field to the checkered flag.

In Moto 2, the rookie worked his way into the lead after a top five start, engaging in a great battle with teammate and World Motocross Championship contender Clement Desalle, of Belgium, to secure the moto sweep in the late stages.

Ryan Dungey says: “I got a good start in Moto 1 and put myself in position to lead laps and take the win,” said the consistent rookie, who can wrap up the title at the next round.

“I wasn’t thinking of the overall in Moto 2. I just race to win every time out. Clement Desalle surprised me. It’s not easy to come over to the states and do well. It was good for him and good for us to have a competitive moto.”

Desalle, riding for Rockstar Teka Suzuki in a guest appearance in the U.S., finished second (2-2) while GEICO Powersports Honda’s Brett Metcalfe, rounded out the overall podium (5-3) that featured riders from three different continents.

In his long-awaited return to American motocross, San Manuel Yamaha’s James Stewart, of Haines City, Fla., finished 11th overall (3-35). Stewart’s return to AMA Pro Motocross didn’t go as well as he had hoped.

Dungey now holds a 111-point advantage heading into an off week and sits just one win away from tying 10-time AMA Motocross champion Ricky Carmichael for the most wins ever by a rookie. He also leads the division in average finish at 1.9 and laps led with 144.

Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship
Rockstar Energy Unadilla National – Unadilla Valley Sports Center
August 14, 2010 – Round 9 of 12

450 Class (Moto Finish)

1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki (1-1)
2. Clement Desalle, Belgium, Suzuki (2-2)
3. Brett Metcalfe, Australia, Honda (5-3)
4. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda (4-5)
5. Kyle Regal, Kemp, Texas, Honda (8-6)
6. Ben Townley, New Zealand, Honda (7-9)
7. Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, Fla., Yamaha (9-8)
8. Justin Brayton, Fort Dodge, Iowa, Yamaha (11-7)
9. Josh Grant, Riverside, Fla., Yamaha (6-14)
10. Tommy Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Suzuki (10-11)

450 Class Championship Standings

1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 418
2. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 307
3. Brett Metcalfe, Australia, Honda, 293
4. Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Yamaha, 260
5. Ben Townley, New Zealand, Honda, 249
6. Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., KTM, 235
7. Chad Reed, Australia, Kawasaki, 204
8. Kyle Regal, Kemp, Texas, Honda, 185
9. Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, Fla., Yamaha, 183
10. Ryan Sipes, Flaherty, Texas, Yamaha, 181

After a week off, the 2010 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship resumes for Round 10 and the Rockstar Energy Southwick National from Moto-X 338 in Southwick, Mass., on Saturday, August 28.