AMA Superbike: VIR Results, Race 1


A photo finish decided the winner of Saturday's AMA Superbike race at Virgnina International Raceway, giving Rockstar Makita Suzuki rider Tommy Hayden the win by a mere 0.005 of a second. Taking third was Team Graves Yamaha rider Josh Hayden.

Tommy Hayden says: "We started coming to the finish and I had huge momentum when I pulled out. The way I was pointing too, when I pulled out, I never even got pointed towards turn one I don't think. I started leaning a little and I just had the biggest front slide I think you can have without crashing."

"I pretty much thought I was down and somehow I just stayed in the throttle and steered it back up and pointed out in the grass and hoped there was nothing out there I couldn't see, any ditches or nothing coming up and just tried to ride it out. It feels good, I really feel like I needed this one today."

The top three were separated from the rest of the field by over 15 seconds, with Hayden leading until Lap 19. The man who doubled at VIR last year fell back on that lap, allowing the pole-sitter Bostrom and Hayden to pass.

Hayden battled intensely with second-place finisher Ben Bostrom right to the very end of 23-lap race, but the Pat Clarks Motorsports Yamaha YZF-R1 didn't have enough to hold off Hayden's GSX-R1000.

M4 Monster Energy Suzuki rider John Hopkins kept with the main pack, but with four laps to go he crashed, giving fourth to Foremost Insurance Ducati rider Larry Pegram.

Pegram held the position for the rest of the race. Rounding out the top five was Suzuki rider Taylor Knapp. Canadian Superbike Champion Jordan Szoke also appeared at VIR, finishing tenth.

Hayden's win bumps him up in the championship to 332 points, only one behind the leader Hayes. Bostrom's performance also bumped him up to fourth place with 249 points ahead Pegram (243). Sitting in third with 273 points is Jordan Suzuki rider Jake Zemke, who finished eight in race 1.

2010 AMA American Superbike Results, VIR Race 1:
1. Tommy Hayden, Rockstar Makita Suzuki
2. Ben Bostrom, Pat Clarks Motorsports Yamaha
3. Josh Hayes, Team Graves Yamaha
4. Larry Pegram, Foremost Insurance Ducati
5. Taylor Knapp, Knapp Racing Suzuki
6. Brett McCormick, Jordan Suzuki
7. Eric Bostrom, Cycle World Suzuki
8. Jake Zemke Jordan Suzuki
9. Chris Ulrich, M4 Monster Energy Suzuki
10. Jordan Szoke, Wanzie Honda


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.