AMA Hillclimb: Devils Staircase Results

Motorcycle Hillclimb

The American Motorcyclist Association (AMA) congratulates the AMA members who earned AMA Racing amateur national No. 1 plates in 20 classes at the 2010 AMA Racing Hillclimb Grand Championships Aug. 7-8 at the Devil’s Staircase in Oregonia, Ohio.

Joe Bromley (AMA Director of Racing) says: "Hillclimb is one of the oldest motorcycle competitive disciplines, and all of these racers should be proud of how they upheld the world-class expectations for this event. I look forward to officially recognizing our new national champions at the AMA Racing Championship Banquet this Nov. 21 at the Red Rock Resort in Las Vegas, Nev."

Three of the top riders during the weekend were Todd Cipala, AMA Racing Vet/Senior Hillclimber of the Year; Brock Riffe, AMA Racing Youth Hillclimber of the Year; and Brian Childs, AMA Racing ATV Hillclimber of the Year.

Cipala of Ellsworth, Wis., won amateur championships in the 751cc-Open class and the Senior class. He also set the event’s fast time of 8.310 seconds. Ashland, Ky.’s Riffe won the 65cc national title, finished second in the Micro Mini class and came in seventh in the Mini Jr. 85cc class. Childs, from Welch, Minn., won the ATV Two-Stroke class, the ATV Vet class and set the fast ATV time of 8.790 seconds.

Todd Cipala says: "We hillclimb a lot, but the nationals are important to us, so we always try to make it to this event. Our family has been hillclimbing for 20 years. Actually, my wife has been doing it longer than I have. She quit about two years ago."

Cipala says he enjoyed racing on the Devil’s Staircase, which has been hosting AMA Pro Racing Hillclimb National Championship events for 60 years.

Todd Cipala conitinues: "This is a good speed hill. I was having trouble with my starts earlier this weekend. Then this last run, I got a good launch but the hill had dried out so much that traction was tough going up, so I ended up with another run in the 8.3s."

AMA Racing champions crowned at the 2010 AMA Racing Hillclimb Grand Championships include: Cody Raines, Micro Mini; Brock Riffe, 65cc; Joel Naples, Small Mini Jr. 85cc; Justin Deeken, Big Mini Jr. 85cc; Trevor Lake, Small Mini Sr. 85cc; Nathan Prebe, Big Mini Sr. 85cc; Andy Eichinger, 125cc; Dylan Nichols, 200cc; Marcus Winch, 250cc; Aaron Prebe, 450cc; Eric Donaldson, 600cc; Mitchell Koester, 750cc; Todd Cipala, 751cc-Open; Aaron Prebe, Four-Stroke; Todd Cipala, Senior; David Baird, Super Senior; Amanda Campbell, Women’s; Brian Childs, ATV Two-Stroke; Marty Thayer, ATV Four-Stroke; and Brian Childs, ATV Vet.

These champions will be honored at the AMA Racing Champions Banquet as part of the AMA Legends & Champions Weekend Nov. 19-21 at the Red Rock Resort in Las Vegas, Nev.

The AMA Legends & Champions Weekend also includes the Induction Ceremony for the 2010 class of the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame, the 2010 AMA Concourse d’Elegance bike show and the final round of the 2010 AMA Geico Endurocross Championship Series.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.