TTXGP UK #1: Snetterton Results

TTXGP Results

Snetterton England was the setting for the opening round of 2010 TTXGP UK Zero-Emissions Motorcycle Racing Championship. At 9am on Sunday morning the TTXGP bikes took to the track for a final warm up before the big race in the afternoon.

The fastest bike this morning was Tork India with Jim Lovell giving it the same consistent performance that he has all weekend.

Rob Moon seemed to be getting used to his Agni v02 shaving off 2 more seconds from his average lap time and putting in an increasing number of consistent laps.

Mavizen had shaken off their throttle control issues that plagued them yesterday evening and Pete Ward managed third quickest in the morning and Annie sixth.

ManTTx Racing worked through their controller issues and James McBride has gone strongly again, despite the bike still not being quite at 100%.

MRB Racing’s gearing change meant that the bike’s performance was considerably improved, but has resulted in putting more strain on the already suffering motor, which was overheating yesterday and had to retire early.

The first few laps of the race were hard fought between Jim Lovell on the Tork bike and both Agni machines ridden by Jenny Tinmouth and Rob Moon.

Jenny led the way from pole, but after a close battle with Jim, soon lost out to the straight line speed advantage of the Tork. Having passed Jenny, Jim soon began to settle down into a quick pace, setting the fastest time on lap 5, an impressive 80.22 MPH earning him the Green Insurance Award.

Kapil Shelke, the Tork India Team boss said “we are very happy with this achievement, but still have a lot more to give. We have our eye set on Alabacete but the competition is very close so there are bound to be many more challenges to face. However I would like to say this win could not have been possible without the support and help of Agni motors and Arvind Rabadia and Cedric Lynch. Big thanks to them and our main sponsor Tirupati Engineering in India.”

This win left teammates Jenny and Rob to fight it out for second place and with both machines being identical made for a really exciting and close race between them. Having switched places throughout the whole race, Rob made a last effort around the outside of Jenny at Russells and pipped her to second place.

Pete Ward aboard the Mavizen TTX02 had a very steady and consistent race, finishing in a strong fourth position. James McBride of the ManTTX Racing team came in fifth having been plagued with controller issues all weekend. Kingston University’s PW1 bike finished sixth, and the joint Kingston University/LiFeBatt/LiFeTech entry, eighth, both bikes hoping to use the data collected this weekend to push to the front in Angelsey.

Annie Seel on Morris Motorcycles Racing team’s Mavizen finished seventh. Annie is still getting back into short circuit racing, and is also currently training for the 2011 Dakar Rally in January, as well as learning the Mavizen controls and characteristics, which the team will work with her on to make her happier on the bike.

Unfortunately, the race did see one DNF from MRB Racing/The Tuning team. Russ and the guys had suffered from motor temperature issues, but the duct seems to have helped and disappointingly, it was a battery issue that let them down. The team have learnt a lot from this weekend and are confidence of a fix in time for the next race.

Full Race Results:

Bike/rider/team………………………Time……….bestlap….Average MPH
Bike 65, Jim Lovell on Tork India………14:57.31……1:27.60….78.31
Bike 69, Rob Moon on Team Agni…………15:03.44……1:27.84….77.78
Bike 77, Jenny Tinmouth on Team Agni……15:04.44……1:28.57….77.70
Bike 68, Pete Ward on Electric Hussar…..15:14.34……1:28.62….76.86
Bike 63, James McBride on ManTTX Racing…15:47.20……1:30.75….74.19
Bike 62, Adam Palferman on Kingston Uni…16.29.84……1:33.23….70.99
Bike 61, Annie Seel on Morris Motorcycle..16:03.50……1.41.99….65.64
bike 66, Harry Hardi on LiFeBATT/Kingston.15:00.22……1:49.02….62.45

Bike 64 Russell license on MRB racing retired at lap 7