Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport USGP MX1: Suzuki Quotes & Results

USGP MX1: Suzuki Quotes & Results

Motocross Results

Rockstar Teka Suzuki’s Clement Desalle celebrated his fourth podium result of the season with third position overall at a hot and sunny Glen Helen for the Grand Prix of USA and now occupies the same slot in the FIM Motocross World Championship standings after six of 15 rounds.

The Belgian claimed his trophy with a 5-1 scorecard on his factory RM-Z450WS as team-mate Steve Ramon had a solid day to walk away with fifth place.

The steep hills of Glen Helen, near San Bernardino and an hour east of Los Angeles, housed a layout that was rough and extremely quick compared to normal Grand Prix circuits.

The extra length created the longest lap-time of the year. The two 35 minute and 2 lap motos were demanding simply due to the hot and dry heat that climbed to over thirty degrees.

The first USGP of the century, in the heart of one of the sport’s global ‘hot-spots’, was graced by a 16,000 attendance.

Desalle made a reasonable start in the first race and was holding third place at one stage before being unable to resist the challenges of Max Nagl and Ken De Dycker.

In the second moto the 21 year old Belgian was more aggressive and played an active role in a dynamic battle for the runner-up position with Antonio Cairoli and Mike Alessi, which the Belgian champion won.

Steve Ramon rode to 7th and 6th as he continues his steady path back to full fitness and speed in the wake of his fall during qualification for the Grand Prix of Portugal three weeks ago.

The two Belgians hold 3rd and 6th in the world championship table. Desalle, winner of the Portuguese Grand Prix, needs 22 points to catch Max Nagl while Ramon is 11 points from David Philippaerts in 4th.

The Belgian crew now begin the dash back to Europe and a hasty return to the workshop in Lommel to begin immediate preparations for the Grand Prix of France at St Jean D’Angely next weekend.

Clement Desalle says: "Qualifying was not so good and I also made a bad start. I improved on this for the first moto and was going for third or fourth but it was hard physically and very hot. I was aware of my shoulder and did not take so many risks. I did not want to crash and knew we had another tough race coming up. I felt really good in the second moto and even though Ben was too far to think about the win I am very pleased to make the podium."

Steve Ramon says: "It was a bit warm today! At the moment I cannot do any better and I have to live with it. I would like to run with the top guys but after the crash in Portugal I have not been able to ride and I miss that training. It was OK today and I feel my body is getting better. I want to get back to my usual routine and reach the level I had before Valkenswaard."

MX1 Moto1: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 40:08.080; 2. Mike Alessi (USA, KTM), +0:00.668; 3. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:08.433; 4. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Yamaha), +0:17.447; 5. Clement Desalle (BEL, Rockstar Teka Suzuki World MX1), +0:30.090; 6. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:36.188; 7. Steve Ramon (BEL, Rockstar Teka Suzuki World MX1), +0:40.895; 8. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Honda), +0:48.051; 9. Grant Langston (RSA, Yamaha), +0:56.959; 10. Kyle Chisolm (USA, Yamaha), +0:58.316;

MX1 Moto2: 1. Ben Townley (NZL, Honda), 40:44.289; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Rockstar Teka Suzuki World MX1), +0:07.997; 3. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:09.528; 4. Mike Alessi (USA, KTM), +0:11.313; 5. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:25.269; 6. Steve Ramon (BEL, Rockstar Teka Suzuki World MX1), +0:28.412; 7. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Honda), +0:34.088; 8. Anthony Boissiere (FRA, TM), +0:36.597; 9. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Aprilia)))), +0:42.774; 10. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Yamaha), +0:56.451;

MX1 Overall Result: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 45 points; 22. Mike Alessi (USA, KTM), 40 p.; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Rockstar Teka Suzuki World MX1), 38 p.; 4. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), 31 p.; 5. Steve Ramon (BEL, Rockstar Teka Suzuki World MX1), 29 p.; 6. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Yamaha), 29 p.; 7. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Honda), 27 p.; 8. Ben Townley (NZL, Honda), 25 p.; 9. Kyle Chisholm (USA, Yamaha), 20 p.; 10. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 20 p.;

MX1 World Championship standings (after 6 of 15 rounds): 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 259 points; 2. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 218 p.; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Rockstar Teka Suzuki World MX1), 196 p.; 4. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 184 p.; 5. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Yamaha), 174 p.; 6. Steve Ramon (BEL, Rockstar Teka Suzuki World MX1), 173 p.; 7. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), 167 p.; 8. Tanel Leok (EST, Honda), 135 p.; 9. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), 115 p.; 10. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Honda), 111 p.

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

Harley-Davidson Tremont Shoes Review: Urban Motorcycle Footwear

In the on-going debate over how much protection is enough, the correct answer for each of us comes from within. Some riders would never...

2021 Langen Two Stroke First Look: Street-Legal V-Twin!

If you thought we’d never see another street-legal two-stroke sportbike, you’re not alone. There hasn’t been a full-size two-stroke motorcycle for the street in...

2021 Indian Springfield Lineup First Look (5 Fast Facts)

There are two motorcycles in the 2021 Indian Springfield lineup, with the standard Springfield focused on longer-distance touring, and the Springfield Dark Horse pulling...

2021 BMW R 18 Review (19 Fast Facts on the First Edition)

Over a year after its concept debut, the 2021 BMW R 18 has made its way to production. Much has been written about its...

2021 Honda CRF450R Review (12 First Ride Fast Facts from Glen Helen)

The 2021 Honda CRF450R is all-new for 2021. The entirely new chassis, bodywork, exhaust, and hydraulic clutch highlight the changes to the CRF450R. Add to...

Arai Spoiler EX2 for the Corsair-X Helmet First Look

The Arai Corsair-X is the Japanese company’s flagship helmet and intended for riders of the highest performance motorcycle. MotoGP racers Maverick Viñales of Monster...