Supercross race results San Francisco


Before 41,872 raging race fans, at San Franciso’s AT&T Park tonight, Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto won his first Monster Energy AMA Supercross (an FIM World Championship) race. GEICO Powersports Honda’s Trey Canard, of Shawnee, won his first Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites class race of the season, leading wire-to-wire.

Rockstar / Makita / Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey captured the Spike Holeshot Award with Villopoto and Honda Red Bull Racing’s Davi Millsaps, of Tallahassee, Fla., following in second and third respectively. Millsaps passed Villopoto on the first lap but crashed on lap four, giving second place back to Villopoto.

While leading on lap 10, Dungey crashed and dropped back to fourth place. This allowed Villopoto to move into the lead, Hill to second and Millsaps to third.

“I lost my foot and went sailing,” said Dungey. “It could have been a lot worse. I am glad I am not hurt.”

The win for Villopoto marked the third in his career. Hill finished second and Millsaps finished third.

“The track was tough and slippery,” said Villopoto. “It was hard to put in 20 perfect laps out there tonight. It wasn’t the start that I wanted, so I played catch-up. It is a long season with a lot of racing left.”

Troy Lee Designs/Lucas Oil/Honda’s Cole Seeley, of Newbury Park, California won the Spike Holeshot Award, but it was Canard, who quickly stole the lead. Current Lites class points leader Jake Weimer, of the Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki team, moved into second with DNA Energy/Star Racing Yamaha’s Broc Tickle held the number three position. Weimer held on for second and Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Josh Hansen for third.

“I had a rough start to this season, and I am finally starting to come around,” said Canard. “This was great night for me and my team.”

“I hate losing and I lost tonight, but I have the points lead and am thankful for everyone that has helped me get here,” said Weimer.

2010 AMA Supercross Class Results: San Francisco
Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki
Josh Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Yamaha
Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Honda
Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki
Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda
Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha
Ivan Tedesco, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha
Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich., Kawasaki
Thomas Hahn, Alvord, Texas, Suzuki
Michael Byrne, Atlanta, Ga., Yamaha

2010 AMA Supercross Class Season Standings
Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 90
Josh Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Yamaha, 79
Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 77
Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 68
Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss., Honda, 61
Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Honda, 57
Ivan Tedesco, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha, 57
Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha, 56
James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Yamaha, 51
Tommy Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Suzuki, 42

2010 Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Results: San Francisco
Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda
Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki
Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Yamaha
Wil Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Honda
Cole Seely, Newbury Park, Calif., Honda
Travis Baker, Temecula, Calif., Honda
Josh Hansen, Elbert, Colo., Kawasaki
Max Antsie, Hemet, Calif., Yamaha
Jeff Alessi, Apple Valley, Calif., Yamaha
Phillip Nicoletti, Bethel, N.Y., KTM

2010 Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Season Standings

Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki, 97
Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda, 81
Wil Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Honda, 74
Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Yamaha, 62
Blake Wharton, Pilot Point, Texas, Honda, 59
Cole Seely, Newbury Park, Calif., Honda, 54
Josh Hansen, Elbert, Colo., Kawasaki, 46
Max Anstie, Hemet, Calif., Yamaha, 45
Ryan Morais, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki, 42
Jeff Alessi, Apple Valley, Calif., Yamaha, 40

CBS Sports will air the AMA Supercross class race on Sunday, January 31 at Noon EST and SPEED will air the AMA Supercross Lites class on Sunday, January 31 at 10:00 p.m. EST.