2010 AMA Pro Flat Track schedule (revised)

AMA Pro Racing announced today the revised 2010 AMA Pro Flat Track Grand National Championship schedule, featuring $850,000 in purse money and 21 events. In addition, a Short Track National will replace the originally scheduled TT at the opening round in Daytona Beach, Florida on March 3rd.

Two events back on the schedule for 2010 are a TT on July 25th at the Castle Rock Fairgrounds in Castle Rock, WA and a Half Mile on September 18th at Knoxville Raceway in Knoxville, IA.

Castle Rock has a long history of AMA Pro TT National Championship events dating back to 1965 with events on and off the schedule since the Mount St. Helens catastrophic volcano eruption in 1980. National Champions who have won the Castle Rock TT include; Mert Lawwill, Gary Scott, Dick Mann, Jay Springsteen, Chris Carr and Jake Johnson. The last TT National was held at the circuit in 2007 and was won by Sammy Halbert.

Knoxville Raceway is known as the sprint car capital of the world, which has earned the track a solid reputation as the fastest half-mile dirt track in the nation. The last AMA Pro Half Mile National Championship was held in 1996 and won by Nine-Time Grand National Champion Scott Parker.

Due to construction and time concerns the opening round in Daytona Beach originally scheduled as a TT event has been replaced with a Short Track National. The all new quarter-mile dirt track at Daytona International Speedway located outside NASCAR turns 1 & 2 will have seating for more than 5,000 spectators and will have lighting provided by Musco Lighting.

"Since we released the first 2010 AMA Pro Flat Track Grand National Championship schedule, we’ve received even more interest to be part of our growing series," said Mike Kidd, Director of AMA Pro Flat Track. "The addition of Castle Rock helps our mid-season west coast swing and including Knoxville is certainly going to enhance the series."

2010 AMA Pro Flat Track Grand National Championship Schedule

March 3

DAYTONA® Flat Track (Daytona Beach, Florida) Short Track

March 4

DAYTONA® Flat Track (Daytona Beach, Florida) Short Track

May 1

Yavapai Downs (Prescott, Arizona) Mile

May 29

Illinois State Fairgrounds (Springfield, Illinois) TT

May 30

Illinois State Fairgrounds (Springfield, Illinois) Mile

June 5

Gas City I-69 Speedway (Gas City, Indiana) Short Track

June 19

The Red Mile (Lexington, Kentucky) Mile

June 26

Allen County Fairgrounds (Lima, Ohio) Half-Mile

July 10

I-96 Speedway (Lake Odessa, Michigan) Half-Mile

July 25

Castle Rock Fairgrounds (Castle Rock, Washington) TT

July 31

Calistoga Fairgrounds (Calistoga, California) Half-Mile

August 7

Hagerstown Speedway (Hagerstown, Maryland) Half-Mile

August 14

Beulah Park (Grove City, Ohio) Mile

August 22

Peoria Race Park (Peoria, Illinois) TT

August 28

Indiana State Fairgrounds (Indianapolis, Indiana) Mile

September 4

Illinois State Fairgrounds (Springfield, Illinois) Short Track

September 5

Illinois State Fairgrounds (Springfield, Illinois) Mile

September 11

Canterbury Park (Minneapolis, Minnesota) Mile

September 18

Knoxville Speedway (Knoxville, IA) Half-Mile

October 9

Yavapai Downs (Prescott, Arizona) Short Track

October 10

Yavapai Downs (Prescott, Arizona) Mile

AMA Pro Racing is the premier professional motorcycle racing organization in North America, operating a full schedule of events and championships for a variety of motorcycle disciplines.