Johnny Campbell Racing wins Baja 1000

When Kendall Norman crossed the finish line on his CRF450X after 672.85 brutal miles of Baja racing, he and Johnny Campbell Racing (JCR) teammates Quinn Cody and Timmy Weigand entered the history books by winning the 42nd annual SCORE Baja 1000, and posting the 13th consecutive Baja 1000 win for Honda.

This year’s win was especially tough not only because the course was so difficult but also because rival teams mounted a massive effort to break the Honda win streak at the prestigious Baja 1000. Despite strong opposition, Honda-mounted teams accounted for nine of the top eleven finishers among all pro riders.

For Norman, the win marks his fourth in the 1000, Cody posted his second and Weigand his first. The team averaged 49.97 mph on Baja’s toughest trails and finished in 13:27.50 The JCR B-team of Colton Udall, Matt Eddy, Max Eddy, and Brent Harden finished third on their CRF450X in 14:10.10 with an average speed of 47.49 mph. Nine of the top eleven motorcycles were Honda CRF450Xs.

"It was a solid effort from both JCR/Honda teams," said Johnny Campbell, team owner and the winningest Baja racer in history. "The racers did a phenomenal job of pre-running and preparing their race. Kendall Norman did an excellent job leading this team to victory. Without the dedication of our legendary volunteer pit staff this would be impossible and my hat is off to them. What a tremendous team effort! The 1X plate is home where it belongs thanks to you all."

American Honda would like to congratulate the entire JCR team and all the volunteers for their second consecutive victory in the legendary Baja 1000.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.