Motorcycle Types Cruiser AMA Pro Flat Track race results Indy

AMA Pro Flat Track race results Indy

Defending AMA Pro Flat Track Grand National Champion Kenny Coolbeth (No. 1 Harley-Davidson Motor Co. / Screamin Eagles Harley-Davidson) came away the big winner of the Lucas Oil Indiana Mile as Round 7 of the Grand National Twins Championship came to the Indiana State Fairgrounds in Indianapolis, Ind. The Harley-Davidson Motor Company / Screamin’ Eagle backed Coolbeth led the 25-lap National wire to wire.

This weekend’s victory was Coolbeth’s second National win of the year, and coupled with the points from his Dash win, the three-time Champion was propelled to a four point lead over Jared Mees (No. 21 Blue Springs Screamin’ Eagle / Rogers Lake’s Harley-Davidson).

Kenny Coolbeth Speaks…

"Everybody was fast today," Coolbeth said. "The best way to handle that is to just get out front, put your head down and try to get away. I don’t worry about the points when I’m racing. If I can keep winning, the points will take care of themselves."

While Coolbeth pulled to a comfortable lead, Mees was locked in a race-long battle with yet another Screamin’ Eagle rider, No. 42 Bryan Smith and his Moroney’s Harley-Davidson. Smith took second by the slimmest of margins, keeping his Championship hopes alive.

The race in the distance behind Coolbeth was divided into pairs. Besides the Mees / Smith duo, No. 14 Jake Johnson (SuperTrapp / F&S Harley-Davidson) and No. 43 Sammy Halbert (Halbert Family / Kings Kustoms) were having a great race until Halbert slid down on Lap 20.

Another three seconds back, No. 4 Chris Carr Racing’s Chris Carr and No. 33 Memphis Shades / Parts Unlimited’s JR Schnabel fought over fifth, with the edge going to Carr at the wire. The last dueling pair was No. 3 Joe Kopp (Latus Harley-Davidson / Screamin Eagle) and No. 17 Henry Wiles (KK Motorcycle Supply / Mike Adkins). Kopp was able to hold off a hard-charging Wiles by the end of the race.

Harley-Davidson of Wausau’s No. 59 Willie McCoy was a lonely ninth over the Nation Cycle / Reiman’s Harley-Davidson backed No. 26 Brandan Bergen.

The first attempt to start the 25-lap National was short lived, as four riders quickly tangled. No. 44 Brandon Robinson, No. 69 Jethro Halbert, No. 28 Shaun Russell and Wiles were involved in a Turn 1 incident. Only Wiles was able to make the restart, riding his backup Harley-Davidson.

Under the new points system, the Dash has taken on great importance, as the points garnered from the 5-4-3-2-1 bonus system can add up fast. Coolbeth was able to take the five points for the win tonight, with last year’s race winner Carr finishing second. The short, four lap races are packed with action every week.

The Pro Singles Main event was another "barn burner" as Red Bull / Team 95 / American Honda’s No. 95C JD Beach backed up last week’s Peoria TT win with a solid performance tonight. Although Beach would lead all 12 laps, he was under constant attack from Vans Yamaha / Stevens Racing’s No. 24P Jeff Carver.

As Beach and Carver dueled away, current Pro Singles points leader Mike Velasco / Brothers Powersports’ No. 17M Brad Baker closed in and grabbed second on Lap 19, setting the podium. Grove City Mile winner No. 10J Stephen Vanderkuur brought his new Dallas / Fort Worth Honda home in fourth over Weirbach Racing / Barnett’s James Rispoli, who in turn made a last lap pass on No. 80B Corey Crawford (Mom & Dad / Priestley Racing) for fifth.

Race Results

AMA Pro Racing Pro Singles Championship (18 riders / 12 laps)

1. JD Beach (Hon); 2. Brad baker (Hon); 3. Jeff Carver (Yam); 4. Stephen Vanderkuur (Hon); 5. James Rispoli (Hon); 6. Corey Crawford (Hon); 7. Michael Toon (Hon); 8. Michael LaBelle Yam); 9. Zach Palmer (Hon); 10. Colin Heggarty (Kaw); 11. Tony Davila (Hon); 12. Kayl Kolkman (Hon); 13. Brian Tapp (Hon) 14. Jake Shoemaker (Suz); 15. Shauyna Texter (Suz); 16. Wyatt Maguire (Yam).

Time 7:58. 929.

AMA Pro Racing Grand National Twins Championship (19 riders / 25 laps)

1. Kenny Coolbeth (H-D); 2. Bryan Smith (H-D); 3. Jared Mees (H-D); 5. Jake Johnson (H-D); 6. JR Schnabel (H-D); 7. Joe Kopp (H-D); 8. Henry Wiles (H-D); 9. Willie McCoy (H-D); 10. Brandan Bergen (H-D); 11. Don Taylor (H-D); 12. Aaron King (Apr); 13. AJ Eslick (H-D); 14. Dan Gedeon (H-D); 15. Sammy Halbert (H-D); 16. Jethro Halbert (H-D); 17. Brandon Robinson (H-D); 18. Shaun Russell (H-D).

Time: 15:48.256.

24 of the Best Retro Motorcycles For Under $10k (2020 Models)

Although going retro can be expensive when buying a new motorcycle, there are plenty of excellent wallet- and credit-friendly choices in the visually appealing...

Harley-Davidson Screamin’ Eagle 131 Crate Engine Unveiled for Tourers

Harley-Davidson has unveiled its newest Screamin' Eagle crate engine - one that makes the popular 120R crate motor seem small in size. Meet the Screamin'...

Triumph Partners With Bajaj Auto: New Models Coming

Britain’s Triumph Motorcycles and India’s Bajaj Auto Limited will be working together to produce Triumph motorcycles in the 200cc to 750cc range. The two...

2019 Yamaha Niken GT Two-Up Test: Passenger-Friendly Motorcycle

We’ve reviewed the quirky-looking 2019 Yamaha Niken GT a couple of times, and comprehensively covered the technical side of the three-wheel motorcycle. Based on...

2020 Triumph Thruxton RS Test: Retro-Modern Motorcycle

The city of Albufeira is a sight for travel-weary eyes. Located in the Algarve region of Portugal on the Mediterranean coast, I dare say...

2020 MotoGP Schedule: 20-Round FINAL Calendar (Dates, Circuits, Tests)

Dorna has finalized the 2020 MotoGP schedule, which features some significant changes over the 2019 calendar. The 2020 MotoGP calendar grows one round to 20...