2021 MXGP Schedule: World Championship Calendar (Updated September 11)

2021 MXGP World Championship Series Schedule - Tim Gajser
2019 and 2020 MXGP World Champion Tim Gajser

September 11 update: The flyaways to Argentina and Indonesia have been canceled, as has the Portuguese GP. There will be five season-ending rounds in Italy to replace the four lost races. The series now ends on November 10, rather than December 5.

July 29 update: The MXGP of Finland is off the 2021 calendar. It is scheduled to return in 2022.

July 28 update: There will be a midweek round at Afyonkarahisar, Turkey, on September 8. The additional round, dubbed the MXGP of Afyon, happens after a September 5 MXGP of Turkey at the same location. It replaces the Swedish GP.

June 17 update: The Swedish GP has been dropped from the schedule. The Latvia GP has been moved to August 8. Lacapelle-Marival has been named as the site of the French GP.

The 2021 MXGP World Championship Series are getting started a bit late this year due to government restrictions related to COVID-19. The series will begin on June 13 at Orlyonko Circuit in Russia, and concludes on December 5 in Bali at a yet-to-be-disclosed venue. In between, the MXGP and MX2 racers will be busy, with five races in both July and October.

Last year’s MXGP battle for the motocross world championship went decisively for Team HRC – MXGP’s Tim Gajser. It was Gajser’s fourth world-title and third MXGP crown.

2021 MXGP World Championship Series Schedule - Jeremy Seewer
Jeremy Seewer

Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team’s Jeremy Seewer took the runner-up position, 102 points behind Gajser. It was the second consecutive year that Seewer finished right behind the championship-winning Gajser.

2021 MXGP World Championship Series Schedule - Tony Cairoli
Tony Cairoli

During the series last year, Tony Cairoli, who turned 35 while riding for the Red Bull KTM Factory Racing Team, rounded out the overall podium. Cairoli has seven MXGP championships to his credit, along with two MX2 titles. Cairoli’s teammate, 2018 MXGP Champion Jeffrey Herlings, will be looking to rebound from major injuries during the 2019 and 2020 motocross campaigns.

Photography by Ray Archer and Bavo Swijgers

2021 MXGP World Championship Series Schedule

  • June 13: Orlyonok, Russia
  • June 27: Matterly Basin, Great Britain
  • July 4: Maggiora, Italy
  • July 18: Oss, Netherlands
  • July 25: Loket, Czech Republic
  • August 1: Lommel, Belgium
  • August 8: Kegums, Latvia
  • September 5: Afyonkarahisar, Turkey
  • September 8: Afyonkarahisar, Turkey
  • September 19: Riola Sardo, Italy
  • September 26: Motocross of Nations, Mantova, Italy
  • October 3: Teutschenthal, Germany
  • October 10: Lacapelle-Marival, France
  • October 17: intu Xanadú-Arroyomolinos, Spain
  • October 24: Pietramurata, Italy
  • October 27: Pietramurata, Italy
  • October 31: Pietramurata, Italy
  • November 7: Mantova, Italy
  • November 10: Mantova, Italy

2020 MXGP World Championship Series Final Standings

  1. Tim Gajser, Honda, 720 points
  2. Jeremy Seewer, Yamaha, 618
  3. Tony Cairoli, KTM, 599
  4. Romain Febvre, Kawasaki, 572
  5. Gautier Paulin, Yamaha, 505
  6. Jorge Prado, KTM, 476
  7. Clement Desalle, Kawasaki, 466
  8. Glenn Coldenhoff, GasGas, 375
  9. Jeremy Van Horebeek, Honda, 316
  10. Brian Bogers, KTM, 298
  11. Jordi Tixier, KTM, 271
  12. Jeffrey Herlings, KTM, 263
  13. Arminas Jasikonis, Husqvarna, 248
  14. Mitchell Evans, Honda, 228
  15. Ivo Monticelli, GasGas, 219
  16. Calvin Vlaanderen, Yamaha, 206
  17. Arnaud Tonus, Yamaha, 184
  18. Alessandro Lupino, Yamaha 150
  19. Henry Jacobi, Yamaha, 134
  20. Michele Cervellin, Yamaha, 130