Motorcycle Types Motocross / Off-Road Russell Leads KTM Domination of Ironman GNCC

Russell Leads KTM Domination of Ironman GNCC

Russell Leads KTM Domination of Ironman GNCC2014 Ironman GNCCC

Factory FMF/KTM rider Kailub Russell, aboard a KTM 150 SX, led the field and KTM domination of the AMSOIL Ironman GNCC (Grand National Cross Country) at Crawfordsville, Ind., this past weekend.

The win was Russell’s ninth victory this season adding to his total of 22 career victories overall, and he had already clinched the national championship prior to the event.

KTM-mounted riders took five of the top ten positions including Russell’s first place finish. The other KTM riders in the top ten were Ryan Sipes who had a podium finish in third place, Steward Baylor finishing fifth, Nick Davis taking ninth and Grant Baylor finishing 10th.

Russell’s KTM teammate Charlie Mullins was in the lead early on, but pain in his wrist slowed his pace toward the end and Mullins dropped back through the field finishing in 11th place.

Russell, meanwhile took the lead at the end of the second lap and never relinquished it, stretching his margin with each ensuing lap of the three hour event. By race end, he had a 90 second lead over second place finisher, Yamaha mounted Josh Strang.

GNCC XC2 Pro Lites Champion, Grant Baylor, proved a game competitor in first appearance in the XC1 Pro class aboard the KTM 450 XC-F, getting ill during the race which slowed him down, but didn’t stop him from riding to a 10th place finish.

“I want to thank everyone who told me I couldn’t win on a 150, because you gave me the motivation to come here and do my best,” Russell said after the race. “I am so excited to win on this bike and that it has helped raise a lot of money for Rory Mead. Thank you to everyone who participated in the raffle.”

WXC Champion, Kacy Martinez, started on the Four-Stroke Lites A class earning a 10th place start. Her consistent lap times added up to a 15th place finish overall in her class.

“It was definitely more tiring racing in the Four-Stroke Lites A class today,” Martinez said.

“I had a lot of fun but the track was rough and it got pretty challenging near the end of the day. It was still a great experience and I am glad for the opportunity.”

Finishing the event, let alone winning it was quite an achievement with nearly 2,300 competitors entered.

For more visit  GNCC.

Overall Results (XC1 Pro and XC2 Pro Lites Combined):

  1. Kailub Russell – KTM
  2. Josh Strang – Yamaha
  3. Ryan Sipes – KTM
  4. Andrew Delong – Husqvarna
  5. Steward Baylor – KTM
  6. Jordan Ashburn—Yamaha
  7. Takeshi Koikeda—Honda
  8. Paul Whibley—Yamaha
  9. Nick Davis – KTM
  10. Grant Baylor – KTM

Overall Point Standings XC1 Pro Class

  1. Kailub Russell – 348
  2. Josh Strang – 241
  3. Jordan Ashburn – 223

Overall Point Standings XC2 Pro Lites Class:

  1. Grant Baylor – 322
  2. Trevor Bollinger – 253
  3. Ricky Russell – 233

Overall Point Standings WXC Class:

  1. Kacy Martinez – 180
  2. Becca Sheets – 162
  3. Brooke Cosner – 155

2020 Suzuki GSX-R750 Buyer’s Guide: Specs & Price

Take Suzuki GSX-R600 supersport chassis and put in a 750cc cheater motor, and you have the 2020 Suzuki GSX-R750. Sure, it doesn't fit in...

The Best of Peter Egan: Book Review (Rider’s Library)

relatable, real. Those qualities have made Peter Egan one of the most widely-read writers of our time. Here's a review of The Best of Peter Egan.

2016-2020 Triumph Thruxton Recall: Side Stand Issues

Triumph Motorcycles America has recalled 3,244 of its 2016-2018 Thruxton, 2016-2019 Thruxton R, and 2020 Thruxton TFC motorcycles due to side-stand issues.

2019-2020 Triumph Speed Twin Recall: Gear Shift Lever Issues

Triumph Motorcycles America has recalled 1,304 of its 2019-2020 Speed Twin motorcycles due to gear shift lever issues. Triumph says the gear shift lever linkage...

2020 Anaheim 2 Supercross Results and Coverage: 3 Races, 3 Winners

Eli Tomac made it three winners in three races on three brands in the 2020 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series as he overcame a...

2020 Dakar Rally Results: Honda’s Brabec Claims 1st Win for USA (Video)

For the past 18 consecutive years, KTM has dominated the Dakar Rally, winning each event in dominating style. Two legendary names are associated with...