Motorcycle Racing News Rapp Wins Barber AMA Pro Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson

Rapp Wins Barber AMA Pro Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson

Rapp Wins Barber AMA Pro Vance & Hines Harley-DavidsonBarber AMA Pro Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson Results

Defending series champion Steve Rapp (Suburban Motors H-D/Aerostar Global) put his 2014 season back on track by converting a record-setting qualifying performance into a dominant flag-to-flag race victory in the AMA Pro Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson series race Sunday at Barber Motorsports Park in Leeds, Ala.

Despite strong qualifying results in the previous two rounds of the series, a series of mechanicals and crashes had left Rapp far down in the series standings coming into the Barber round, but from the first session on track it was clear he was in a class of his own.

After qualifying on pole with a blistering 1:34.854 lap-record, Rapp was only briefly challenged at the start by Kyle Wyman (KWR/Millennium Technologies), who took the holeshot into turn one. By the third turn of the 2.38-mile track, Rapp was back in front and never looked back, taking the checkered flag with an 11.114-second margin.

“That’s my favorite [type of] race. I like riding out front by myself. I run like that in practice a lot so when I’m in the race I’m used to it. The bike was awesome. All the guys from Suburban Harley really are building the best bike out here, and I’m happy to ride it,” Rapp said.

As Rapp cruised to victory, a five-rider pack including Wyman, Danny Eslick (Ruthless Racing/Trev Deeley Motorcycles), Shane Narbonne (Six-Four Motorsports), Benny Carlson (Suburban Motors H-D) and series points leader Tyler O’Hara (Josh Chisum Racing/Bartels’ H-D) waged a thrilling handlebar to handlebar fight through around the twisty and technical track. Wyman exited the action with a dramatic high-side crash in turn two on lap five that left him tumbling through a gravel trap into the air fence, but he walked away unhurt.

The remaining four battled until the final lap, when Eslick opened a small gap to take second. Carlson timed an inside move in the final corner perfectly to take the third step of the podium, leaving O’Hara to settle for fourth with the consolation of clinging to points lead by a slim one-point margin over Eslick.

The fourth round in the AMA Pro Vance & Hines Harley Davidson series is July 12-13 at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca in Monterey, Calif.

Barber Motorsports Park Race Results:

1. Steve Rapp (Suburban Motors H-D/ Aerostar Global), 11 laps

2. Danny Eslick (Ruthless Racing/Trev Deeley Motorcycles), +11.114 seconds

3. Benjamin Carlson (Suburban Motors H-D), +11.805 seconds

4. Tyler O’Hara (Josh Chisum Racing/Bartels’ H-D), +12.426 seconds

5. Shane Narbonne (Six-Four Motorsports), +12.912 seconds

6. Gage McAllister (Folsom H-D), +24.168 seconds

7. Nicholas Hansen (Suburban Motors H-D), +24.171 seconds

8. Darren James (Trev Deeley Motorcycles), +26.738 seconds

9. Josh Chisum (Josh Chisum Racing/Bartels’ H-D), +37.434 seconds

10. Eric Stump (James Gang/Hoban Brothers Racing), +49.298 seconds

11. Joseph Rozynski (Sirius XM Radio/Sound Waves), +1:09.890

12. Max Flinders (None listed), +1:33.647

13. Sam Rozynski ( XM Radio), 10 laps

14. Shelina Moreda (Chili Pepper Racing), +0.507 second

15. John Foy (Jupiter Cycle Racing/Heroic Racing), 7 laps

16. Kyle Wyman (KWR/Millennium Technologies), 5 laps

17. Ryan Kerr (Thunder Roads Magazine), 4 laps

18. David Estok (Arrow Aviation/Thrashed Bike Racing), 1 laps

19. Hayden Schultz (Chili Pepper Racing), DNF

AMA Pro Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson Series Points:

1. O’Hara, 66

2. Eslick, 65

3. Carlson, 60

4. McAllister, 56

5. Hansen, 47

6. Stump, 40

7. Rapp, 32

8. K. Wyman, 30

9. Schultz, 28

10. Chisum, 28

2021 Indian Springfield Lineup First Look (5 Fast Facts)

There are two motorcycles in the 2021 Indian Springfield lineup, with the standard Springfield focused on longer-distance touring, and the Springfield Dark Horse pulling...

2021 BMW R 18 Review (19 Fast Facts on the First Edition)

Over a year after its concept debut, the 2021 BMW R 18 has made its way to production. Much has been written about its...

2021 Honda CRF450R Review (12 First Ride Fast Facts from Glen Helen)

The 2021 Honda CRF450R is all-new for 2021. The entirely new chassis, bodywork, exhaust, and hydraulic clutch highlight the changes to the CRF450R. Add to...

Arai Spoiler EX2 for the Corsair-X Helmet First Look

The Arai Corsair-X is the Japanese company’s flagship helmet and intended for riders of the highest performance motorcycle. MotoGP racers Maverick Viñales of Monster...

2021 Indian Scout Lineup First Look: Five Models (Photos, Specs + Prices)

Although the five-motorcycle Indian Scout lineup is functionally unchanged for 2021—last year was a major expansion of the line—this year, Indian is offering new...

2020 Ural Weekender SE First Look: Special Edition Sidecar

Just in time for autumn, Ural lets loose with the 2020 Ural Weekender SE. Based on the 2WD Gear Up model, the Weekender SE...