Motorcycle Racing News Isle of Man TT Tyco Suzuki’s William Dunlop Takes Debut Season Win at Tandragee 100

Tyco Suzuki’s William Dunlop Takes Debut Season Win at Tandragee 100

Tyco Suzuki’s William Dunlop Takes Debut Season Win at Tandragee 100
Tyco Suzuki’s William Dunlop

2014 Around-a-Pound Tandragee 100 Supersport Race Results

The 54th “Around-a-Pound Tandragee 100” road race in Northern Ireland got underway this past weekend.

And taking the Supersport win for Tyco Suzuki was local rider William Dunlop; this was both his and Tyco Suzuki’s debut victory in 2014.

At a race sadly marred by the passing of Noel Murphy in the Junior Support race, Dunlop was joined on the podium by Rig Deluge Honda’s Keith Amor and Yamaha’s Derek McGee.

Dunlop, of Ballymoney, first took the pole position at the fast County Armagh Circuit, and then followed it up with close victory; Amor finished 0.186 of a second behind. En route to victory, William Dunlop also set the fastest lap of 2:58950 minutes at 107.502 mph.

“I qualified on Pole Position, won the race and set the fastest lap, so there are no complaints from me. The GSX-R600 Suzuki is a great bike to ride. I was able to win my first-ever Supersport race at Tandragee and also set my fastest-ever lap around here, so it sets us up well now for the North West 200,” William Dunlop says.

Team Manager Philip Neill says “It’s difficult to celebrate a victory in such sad circumstances and our thoughts are obviously with the family of Noel Murphy at this time. We’ve put a lot of work into William this past few weeks and the Tandragee Supersport victory is just-reward to the whole team’s efforts, obviously including William who is settling in very well. It means we can now go into the North West 200 with some positive energy and I know that William is hungry for success at the Triangle this year on the Tyco Suzuki GSX-R machinery.”

Supersport Race Results: 1. William Dunlop (Tyco Suzuki GSX-R600) 18mins 09.411sec; 2. Keith Amor (Honda) +0.186; 3. Derek McGee (Yamaha) +5.692; 4. Conor Behan (Kawasaki) +26.546; 5. Jamie Hamilton (Honda) +27.098; 6. Seamus Elliott +28.120.

Breitling Top Time Deus Limited Edition Watch First Look

“Bikers, boarders, surfers, digital nomads,” Breitling CEO George Kerns observes, “this is a timepiece for dynamic people of action, purpose, and style. Our versatile...

86 Gear Motorcycles Yamaha XT630 Supermoto: Restomod Special

Sometimes the route to a custom build is a short one. An idea pops into a builder's head, and the process begins. Other times,...

Honda, KTM, Piaggio, and Yamaha Sign E-Motorcycle Battery Agreement

Get ready for the Swappable Batteries Consortium for Motorcycles and Light Electric Vehicles made up of Honda, KTM, Piaggio, and Yamaha. The goal is...

Laurin & Klement Slavia B – The Birth of Škoda Motorsports 120 Years Ago

Czechs Václav Laurin and Václav Klement founded their bicycle manufacturing company in Mladá Boleslav, Bohemia, in 1895. The company, Laurin & Klement, started a...

2021 Daytona Fantasy Supercross Tips (16 Fast Facts)

The Daytona Supercross is the midway point in the 2021 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series. There are eight rounds in the book, and there...

BMW Motorrad International GS Trophy Comes To Europe For 2022

For the first time since its 2008 debut, the BMW Motorrad International GS Trophy competition will be held in Europe. Located above the northeast...