Brought to you by:

2014 SES TT Zero | Team Mugen Confirms McGuinness & Anstey

John McGuinness aboard Team Mugen electric bike during 2013 SES TT Zero race.
John McGuinness aboard Team Mugen electric bike during 2013 SES TT Zero race.

2014 SES TT Zero Teams

Team Mugen will field two riders at the 2014 SES TT Zero race that will be held June 2014 – John McGuinness and Bruce Anstey – M-Tec Co., Ltd President Shin Nagaosa said Monday.

McGuinness, a 20-time TT winner, will once again represent the Japanese outfit, but will have a teammate this year – the New Zealand racer Bruce Anstey. This will be the debut SES TT Zero race for Anstey, who has nine TT victories. As for McGuinness, this will be his third.

In 2013, McGuinness almost had his first TT Zero win with a lap of over 109 mph, but he was beat by the man who stole the show at the 2013 IOM TT – Michael Rutter. Though McGuinness lost by over two seconds to Rutter, both riders shattered the previous lap record by over a minute.

McGuinness and Anstey will compete at the 2014 SES TT Zero aboard Team Mugen’s all-new bike, the “Shinden San.” The team promoses the 2014 bike will have “more power, and further record speeds are anticipated over the course of the event.”

A spokesman for the team says “we are extremely excited to have secured the services of two such experienced, proven winners around the TT mountain course, and the team will be pulling out all the stops to provide them with the machinery to go for the first TT Zero victory for Team Mugen.”

No further details are available for Shinden San at this time, and the bike will be revealed later in the spring, the IOM TT reports.

Written By
More from Sam Sims

Star Gazing at the Portola Hotel & Spa

Portola Hotel & Spa, and the Red Bull USGP Good things -...
Read More