Motorcycle Racing News AMA Supercross/Motocross 2014 Phoenix AMA Supercross Preview | KTM's Roczen Leads

2014 Phoenix AMA Supercross Preview | KTM’s Roczen Leads

2014 AMA Supercross Heads to Phoenix

The 2014 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Championship got underway last Saturday before a sold-out crowd at Angel Stadium in Anaheim, Calif.

These massive crowd numbers are likely to continue throughout the remaining 16 rounds. But there is another number Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen would also like to see continue starting this weekend in Phoenix – number one.

This is due to the rookie’s performance at Anaheim I, where the KTM SX-F 450 pilot won the opening round of 2014 SX. Though the reigning AMA SX Champion Ryan Villopoto took the holeshot aboard his Monster Energy Kawasaki KX-F 450, and held the early lead, things went sour quickly.

On lap, the three-time Supercross Champion crashed, handing over the lead to Roczen. Villopoto would battle his way from fifth to fourth, but couldn’t catch the Roczen or the other two podium finishes – Roczen’s teammate Ryan Dungey and TwoTwo Motorsports Kawasaki’s Chad Reed.

Roczen would be challenged by Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart, but with four laps to go, Stewart lost control of his RM-Z450 and crashed out, causing a DNF.

Ken Roczen (Red Bull KTM SX-F 450 Supercross) says: “This is insane. I got off to a good start and was holding on really tight. When there were four laps to go, I realized that I could win.”

In the 250 class, Rockstar Energy Racing KTM’s Jason Anderson took advantage of a last-lap pass to win the opening race of the Western Regional 250SX Class Championship. This was his second career win, and his second win in the last three races going back to 2013 SX.

Joining Anderson on the podium was Troy Lee Designs/Lucas Oil/Honda’s Cole Seely and GEICO Honda’s Zach Osborne.

Jason Anderson (Rockstar Energy KTM SX-F 250 Supercross) says: “The pass was [risky] on Cole (Seely). I didn’t want to be dirty but I had to put it in there, and I am glad it worked. I look forward to riding into Phoenix with the red number-one plate. This is only my second career win, so it is big for me.”

And this Saturday, the Supercross battles continue at Chase Field in Phoneix. This will be the 16th time a SX race has occurred in Phoenix. As for winners,Stewart holds the record for most wins in the 250SX Class in Phoenix, and is tied with Ricky Carmichael for the most wins in the 450SX Class with four inside Chase Field.

During the 2013 Monster Energy Supercross stop in Phoenix, Honda/Muscle Milk’s rookie Justin Barcia captured the first 450SX Class win of his career in front of 50,109 fans. GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac won his second consecutive Western Regional 250SX Class Main Event, Feld Motor Sports says.

The first race held at Chase Field was January 23, 1999, and Jeremy McGrath won the 450SX Class and Nathan Ramsey won the 250SX Class. Carmichael and Stewart are tied on the all-time win list in Phoenix at four in the 450SX Class. Stewart and Jake Weimer hold the record for most wins in Phoenix for the 250SX Class at two. Stewart and Dungey are the only riders to win both classes in Phoenix, Feld Motor Sports says.

2014 Phoenix AMA Supercross TV Schedule:

The Phoenix Round of the 2014 AMA Supercross Championship will air live on Fox Sports 1 at 9:30 p.m. ET Saturday, June 11. For the entire AMA SX broadcast schedule, click here.

2014 AMA Supercross 450SX Class Season Standings (after one of 17 rounds):

1.     Ken Roczen, Murrieta, Calif., KTM, 25

2.     Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM, 22

3.     Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Kawasaki, 20

4.     Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 18

5.     Justin Barcia, Pinetta, Fla., Honda, 16

6.     Justin Brayton, Cornelius, N.C., Yamaha, 15

7.     Josh Grant, Corona, Calif., Yamaha, 14

8.     Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki, 13

9.     Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM, 12

10.  Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki, 11

2014 AMA Supercross 250SX Class Season Standings (after one of 17 rounds):

1.     Jason Anderson, Rio Rancho, N.M., KTM, 25

2.     Cole Seely, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Honda, 22

3.     Zach Osborne, Chesterfield, S.C., Honda, 20

4.     Dean Wilson, Wesley Chapel, Fla., Kawasaki, 18

5.     Cooper Webb, Newport, N.C., Yamaha, 16

6.     Justin Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Kawasaki, 15

7.     Darryn Durham, Butler, Pa., Kawasaki, 14

8.     Malcolm Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Honda, 13

9.     Jessy Nelson, Paso Robles, Calif., Honda, 12

10.  Austin Politelli, Menifee, Calif., Yamaha, 11

Past Winners in Phoenix

450SX Class

  • January 12, 2013                       Justin Barcia
  • January 14, 2012                       Ryan Dungey
  • January 15, 2011                       James Stewart
  • January 15, 2010                       Ryan Dungey
  • January 10, 2009                       James Stewart
  • January 12, 2008                       James Stewart
  • January 13, 2007                       James Stewart
  • January 14, 2006                       Ricky Carmichael
  • January 15, 2005                       Ricky Carmichael
  • January 10, 2004                       Kevin Windham
  • January 11, 2003                       Ezra Lusk
  • January 26, 2002                       Ricky Carmichael
  • January 27, 2001                       Ricky Carmichael
  • January 29, 2000                       David Vuillemin
  • January 23, 1999                       Jeremy McGrath

250SX Class

  • January 12, 2013                         Eli Tomac
  • January 14, 2012                         Dean Wilson
  • January 15, 2011                         Josh Hansen
  • January 15, 2010                       Jake Weimer
  • January 10, 2009                       Ryan Dungey
  • January 12, 2008                       Jake Weimer
  • January 13, 2007                       Christophe Pourcel
  • January 14, 2006                       Nathan Ramsey
  • January 15, 2005                       Broc Helper
  • January 10, 2004                       Ivan Tedesco
  • January 11, 2003                       James Stewart
  • January 26, 2002                       James Stewart
  • January 27, 2001                       Casey Lytle
  • January 23, 1999                       Nathan Ramsey


2020 Salt Lake City 1 Supercross Preview: Racing Returns May 31

After a long break from racing due to the government response to the COVID-19 virus, the 2020 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series is back....

2021 Beta RR 2-Stroke Off-Road Line-Up First Look

For 2021, Beta is continuing to offer four two-stroke off-road RR models ranging from the agile 125 RR to the torquey 300 RR. There...

2020 Ducati Custom Rumble Winner Crowned: Scrambler 1100 FT

The third Ducati Custom Rumble competition between builders of custom Ducati Scramblers has a winner—Marco Graziani of CC-Racing Garage. Entered in the Bully category,...

Ducati Team Signs Jack Miller for MotoGP in 2021

Before a MotoGP race has been run in 2020, the Ducati Team has signed Jack Miller for its 2021 MotoGP factory squad. Miller, 25,...

Lieback’s Lounge: Rookie Mistakes & Homemade Gaskets

There was a vague smell of gas, but I thought nothing of it. That changed quickly about 50 miles into a 200-mile ride after fueling...

Emula Concept First Look: With 2electron McFly Technology

One of the prime complaints many motorcyclists have about electric motorcycles is that they don’t deliver the visceral experience that comes from an internal...