2014 AMA Supercross Anaheim 1 Results

Monster Energy Supercross Anaheim 1 Results

Spoiler alert – 2014 Anaheim I SX results listed below

In a dramatic final following four hotly contested heats and semis, former World MX2 Champion Ken Roczen took the win at Anaheim 1, the first round of the 2014 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Championship, on his factory Red Bull KTM 450 SX-F. Roczen’s teammate, two-time Supercross Champion Ryan Dungey, took the runner-up spot, giving the Austrian manufacturer a one-two punch.

Another two-time Supercross Champion, Chad Reed, rounded out the podium, finishing 3rd in his first outing on his TwoTwo Motorsports Kawasaki KX450F.

Snagging the Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award, defending three-time Monster Energy Supercross champion Ryan Villopoto led the first eight laps of the race before an unforced error put his Monster Energy Kawasaki KX450F on the ground. Villopoto remounted in 5th, eventually finishing fourth, ahead of Heat 1 winner Justin Barcia on his Team Honda Muscle Milk CRF450R.

It wasn’t an easy road to the winner’s circle for Roczen, as he finished in 5th in his Heat, forcing him to ride the Semi to qualify for the Final. “I literally can’t believe it,” Roczen said after the race. “It was such a good race. I was holding on so tight. I wasn’t even tired. I got a good start, and I just stayed focused. I’ve been working very hard during the off-season, and I am so glad the hard work has paid off. Congrats to my teammate, Ryan Dungey. It is great to share this moment on the podium with him.”

Despite Roczen’s ninth pick of gate slots, he finished the first lap in 2nd place behind Villopoto. Although not pressuring Villopoto directly, Roczen sat back in striking distance and pounced when Villopoto went down.

Reed tailed Roczen for the first dozen laps until two-time Supercross Champion James Stewart, on a Yoshimura Suzuki RM-Z450 passed Reed and set off for Roczen. Eventually catching, but never passing Roczen, Stewart swapped in the whoops on Lap 16 near the starting gate. Stewart’s bike went tumbling, and he was out of the race. From there Roczen was never challenged again on his way to the win.

On Lap 17, Dungey passed Reed for second, where he stayed until the finish. Villopoto’s 4th put him a spot ahead of Barcia. The highly anticipated debut of Geico Honda’s Eli Tomac in the premiere class was spoiled by a Heat crash that left him with a pinched nerve and out for the night. “The decision not to race was the hardest one I’ve ever had to make,” said Tomac. “I just have no strength in my arm and shoulder, and I knew I wouldn’t be able to hold onto the bike. It would have been dangerous, and I might have hurt myself even more.”

Yamaha’s Justin Brayton, Yamaha’s Josh Grant, Suzuki’s Broc Tickle, KTM’s Andrew Short and Kawasaki’s Jake Weimer completed the top 10 in that order. Mike Alessi, who pulled a massive holeshot in his Heat race, took it to a win after holding off Villopoto in the last 180-degree corner before the finish. However, Alessi finished a disappointing 12th place on his Moto Concepts Suzuki RM-Z450. That was a spot behind Geico Honda’s Will Hahn, the defending West Coast 250 Supercross champion. “I made some mistakes in the first few laps,” Hahn explained, “and I ended up back there mid-pack where the bad stuff happens.”

Photography by Don Williams

Monster Energy AMA Supercross 450 Results – Anaheim 1
1. Ken Roczen, Murrieta, Calif., KTM
2. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM
3. Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Kawasaki
4. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki
5. Justin Barcia, Pinetta, Fla., Honda
6. Justin Brayton, Cornelius, N.C., Yamaha
7. Josh Grant, Corona, Calif., Yamaha
8. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki
9. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM
10. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki

2014 Monster Energy AMA Supercross 450 Class Season Standings
Ken Roczen, Murrieta, Calif., KTM, 25
Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM, 22
Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Kawasaki, 20
Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 18
Justin Barcia, Pinetta, Fla., Honda, 16
Justin Brayton, Cornelius, N.C., Yamaha, 15
Josh Grant, Corona, Calif., Yamaha, 14
Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki, 13
Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM, 12
Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki, 11