Electric Motorcycles Bostrom & Chi Fung - 2013 FIM eRoad Racing World Cup Champions

Bostrom & Chi Fung – 2013 FIM eRoad Racing World Cup Champions

FIM eRoad Racing World Cup Champions (TTXGP)

Following its first full season, the 2013 FIM eRoad Racing World Cup announced its first-ever champions.

The TTXGP series ran in both North America and Europe; taking the title in North America was Eric Bostrom and in Europe Ho Chi Fung.

Bostrom, an AMA Pro Road Racing Champion, piloted an electric motorcycle for Team Icon Brammo, and Chi Fung an AC-motored Zongshen motorcycle.

Between both series, many electric-motorcycle lap records were set at various tracks, including Laguna Seca, Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Valencia, Oschersleben and Le Mans.

Bostrom’s victory at the first race in Laguna Seca put him ahead of the series, which he led all season. As for Chi Fung, he dominated Europe’s series with three first-place finishes.

The North American winners’ teammates also took second in each series after Shane Turpin’s win with Brammo at Indianapolis Motor Speedway in North America and Su Rong Zai’s consistent podium places in Europe.

Eric Bostrom (FIM eRoad Racing North American Cup winner 2013) says: “The development we have seen in these bikes year-on-year is just amazing. It has been a real pleasure racing in the series with Brammo, the team have been fantastic and Shane was very fast as well. Now I can’t wait to see how the bikes will perform in 2014 because I want a world championship!”

Brian Wismann (Brammo Team Manager) says: “Team Icon Brammo is proud to take home a third North American winner and continue our reign as World Champions through to the 2014 season. Congratulations to Eric Bostrom as he’s definitely put in the effort to deserve this award. We wish we would have had a bit more competition but it didn’t stop us from continuing to develop the bikes into more formidable race machines and achieving our technical goals. We’re looking forward to seeing who steps up to challenge the Empulse RR in 2014.”

Ho Chi Fung (FIM eRoad Racing European Cup winner 2013) says: “This has been a great season for electric motorcycles and it’s an honor to be crowned European Series winner. I want to say thank you to all the team who all put in so much effort to make this happen. Now we’re looking forward to improving the bike ahead of next season. We want to win this championship again.”

Daniel Chung (Zongshen Team Manager) says: “We’re obviously very happy with our season, we have seen a lot of developments with the AC-motored machine and it has been a real learning curve. Now we want to take want we have found into next season and keep developing these bikes to become the fastest out there.”

For additional information, visit eroadracing.com.

Indian Offers Home Motorcycle Delivery: Click.Deliver.Ride Program

You say you don’t feel like going down to your local Indian Motorcycle dealer to buy a bike, so you want it delivered instead?...

One-Off Ducati Hypermotard 950 Won By California Rider

After the Ducati Hypermotard 950 Concept was unveiled at the 2019 Concorso d’Eleganza Villa d'Este at Italy’s Lake Como, Ducati decided to do a...

Energica Planning Production Restart at Modena, Italy Headquarters

Energica, builders of electric-powered road-going motorcycles and the FIM Enel MotoE World Cup racebikes, is making plans to restart production at its headquarters in...

2020 Moto Guzzi V85 TT Adventure Review: Home Court Test

Around this time last year, I found myself traipsing around the luxurious island of Sardinia, just a short hop off the western shores of...

Georges Jobé’s Hawkstone Jump: A Look Back to 1984 (with video)

Most American motocross fans are familiar with two of the most massive jumps in MX history. LaRocco’s Leap, a 130-footer at RedBud MX, got...

2020 MotoGP Virtual Race 2 Lineup, Track Set: Valentino Rossi Joins In

The lineup for Sunday’s 2020 MotoGP Virtual Race 2 will include the top six finishers from last month’s opening round. Valentino Rossi, Danilo Petrucci,...