2013 Motegi Moto2 | Results

2013 Motegi Moto2 | Results

2013 Japanese Grand Prix Moto2 Results

Spoiler Alert: 2013 MotoGP results from Twin Ring Motegi listed below

The final race in three back-to-back Moto2 rounds got underway this weekend at at Twin Ring Motegi in Japan.

Due to rains from Typhoon Francisco, all Friday and Saturday practices were canceled, and the riders only had a qualifying session. Taking the pole was  Marc VDS Racing’s Mike Kallio.

But when Sunday came, all eyes were on the two rivals – the Moto2 points leader Pol Espargaro and Marc VDS Racing’s Scott Redding, who was deemed fit to ride on Friday with the wrist he fractured in Malaysia. But unfortunately Redding, along with another title hunter, Tuenti HP 40’s Tito Rabat, both DNFd due to a first-lap crash with Blusens Avintia’s Alex Marinelarena, who suffered a broken left wrist.

With these two out, Espargaro didn’t need much to garner the 2013 Moto2 title. And this is just what he did following his win at Motegi Moto2. Espargaro would clinch the title one round early, and become the fourth different Moto2 Champion in the series’ four-year history.

Joining Espargaro on the podium were Mark VDS Racing’s Mika Kallio and Interwetten Paddock’s Tom Luthi.

Under clear skies and with ambient temperatures of 20 degrees Celsius, it was a clean start to proceedings until a crash occurred on the exit of the second corner; Redding, Rabat and Alex Mariñelarena were involved, and none of the trio would restart.

At Turn 3, Dominique Aegerter suffered a separate incident but the Technomag carXpert rider was able to re-join the grid following a red flag stoppage.

On the first of 15 laps for the restarted race, Espargaro took the lead from Kallio and would not be headed for the rest of the afternoon. This left the Finn second from a pole position start, with Tom Luthi on the podium for the third race in a row and the sixth time this season.

Xavier Simeon (Maptaq SAG Zelos Team) and Julian Simon (Italtrans Racing Team) completed the top five from Aspar Team Moto2’s Nico Terol, NGM Mobile Forward Racing’s Alex de Angelis and Italtrans Racing Team’s Takaaki Nakagami – the leading Japanese rider in his home event. It was a race of high attrition, with no less than nine riders failing to make the finish, although the aforementioned Aegerter impressively fought back to eighth position after running last at the restart.

With the title wrapped up in favor of Espargaro, a single race remains on the 2013 Moto2 calendar. The Gran Premio Generali de la Comunitat Valenciana will take place at Valencia’s Ricardo Tormo circuit on November 10.

2013 Motegi Moto2 Results:

12540Pol ESPARGAROSPATuenti HP 40Kalex152.928’15.162
22036Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex152.8+1.344
31612Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten Paddock Moto2Suter152.6+3.379
41319Xavier SIMEONBELMaptaq SAG Zelos TeamKalex152.1+8.420
51160Julian SIMONSPAItaltrans Racing TeamKalex152.0+10.315
61018Nicolas TEROLSPAAspar Team Moto2Suter151.9+11.364
7915Alex DE ANGELISRSMNGM Mobile Forward RacingSpeed Up151.7+12.718
8877Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag carXpertSuter151.5+15.609
9730Takaaki NAKAGAMIJPNItaltrans Racing TeamKalex151.2+18.414
10654Mattia PASINIITANGM Mobile RacingSpeed Up151.0+20.679
11595Anthony WESTAUSQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up150.2+30.759
12423Marcel SCHROTTERGERMaptaq SAG Zelos TeamKalex150.1+31.134
13349Axel PONSSPATuenti HP 40Kalex150.1+31.335
1428Gino REAGBRArgiñano & Gines RacingSpeed Up150.1+31.505
15111Sandro CORTESEGERDynavolt Intact GPKalex150.1+31.801
1631Kohta NOZANEJPNWebike Team Norick NTSTSR149.2+41.840
1788Ricard CARDUSSPANGM Mobile Forward RacingSpeed Up148.8+46.192
1894Franco MORBIDELLIITAFederal Oil Gresini Moto2Suter148.4+51.771
1944Steven ODENDAALRSAArgiñano & Gines RacingSpeed Up148.1+54.433
2035Tetsuta NAGASHIMAJPNJiR Moto2Motobi148.1+55.138
2146Decha KRAISARTTHASingha Eneos Yamaha Tech3Tech3148.1+55.181
2234Ezequiel ITURRIOZARGBlusens AvintiaKalex147.4+1’03.592
2325Azlan SHAHMALIDEMITSU Honda Team AsiaMoriwaki145.0+1’32.681
Not Classified
97Rafid Topan SUCIPTOINAQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up148.34 Laps
5Johann ZARCOFRACame Iodaracing ProjectSuter151.26 Laps
81Jordi TORRESSPAAspar Team Moto2Suter150.57 Laps
96Louis ROSSIFRATech 3Tech 3143.57 Laps
7Doni Tata PRADITAINAFederal Oil Gresini Moto2Suter142.513 Laps
3Simone CORSIITANGM Mobile RacingSpeed Up142.614 Laps
Not Starting
80Esteve RABATSPATuenti HP 40Kalex0 Lap
92Alex MARIÑELARENASPABlusens AvintiaKalex0 Lap
45Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex0 Lap

2013 Moto2 Championship Point Standings:

2Scott REDDINGKalexGBR224
3Esteve RABATKalexSPA204
4Mika KALLIOKalexFIN185
5Dominique AEGERTERSuterSWI151
6Thomas LUTHISuterSWI146
7Takaaki NAKAGAMIKalexJPN145
8Nicolas TEROLSuterSPA125
9Johann ZARCOSuterFRA123
10Jordi TORRESSuterSPA106
11Simone CORSISpeed UpITA92
12Xavier SIMEONKalexBEL84
13Julian SIMONKalexSPA74
14Alex DE ANGELISSpeed UpRSM66
15Anthony WESTSpeed UpAUS53
16Mattia PASINISpeed UpITA48
17Marcel SCHROTTERKalexGER33
18Toni ELIASKalexSPA21
20Sandro CORTESEKalexGER19
21Mike DI MEGLIOMotobiFRA18
22Danny KENTTech 3GBR15
23Ricard CARDUSSpeed UpSPA7
24Axel PONSKalexSPA5
25Louis ROSSITech 3FRA4
26Gino REASpeed UpGBR4
28Doni Tata PRADITASuterINA1