2013 Brno Moto2 | Results

Mark VDS Racing's Mika Kallio

Mark VDS Racing's Mika Kallio
Mark VDS Racing’s Mika Kallio
2013 Czech Republic Grand Prix Moto2 Results

Following some tight battles in the bwin Grand Prix of the Czech Republic at Brno, Mark VDS Racing Team's Mika Kallio took his first-ever win in the Moto2 class.

The Finn shared the podium with Takaaki Nakagami and Tom Luthi, as championship leader Scott Redding limited the points-loss by finishing four places behind Pol Espargaro.

Before the start of the 20-lap encounter at Brno the worry was a threat of rain, but the race would eventually not be affected by any showers. Kallio started fourth for the Marc VDS Racing Team, as the grid was headed up by Nakagami (Italtrans Racing Team). As the former moved up to second at the start, all were away cleanly with the exception of Nakagami’s teammate Julian Simon who crashed at the first corner.

The race would prove to be one of two major focal points. The first was a titanic contest for the lead, which was shared over the distance by Interwetten Paddock Moto2 Racing’s Tom Luthi and Aspar Team Moto2’s Nico Terol, as well as Nakagami and Kallio. The top spot first became Kallio’s on the fourth lap, but perhaps the most crucial moment of all was when he extended the lead to half a second as the chasing group fought furiously on the final tour. This would prove to be Kallio’s first victory since he won the 250 race at Donington Park five years ago.

The other obvious battle of the day was that of the title pretenders, as Espargaro (Tuenti HP 40) and Redding (Kallio’s teammate at Marc VDS Racing Team) duelled with each other on-track, somewhat surprisingly as the Spaniard had started on the front row whereas the Englishman – who was yet to score at Brno in Moto2 – was coming from 13th on the grid after struggling in qualifying. Redding grabbed fifth place from his rival on Lap 9 but, having escaped a tap from Espargaro, would soon feel the wrath of others and ultimately sank to eighth whereas his chief opponent forcefully took fourth from Came IodaRacing Project’s Johann Zarco on the last lap.

As Kallio beat Nakagami to a first Moto2 win and Luthi picked up his second rostrum placing of the season, Espargaro and Zarco completed the top five from Terol, Indianapolis winner Tito Rabat (Tuenti HP 40) and Redding. Eight riders failed to finish, including reigning Moto3 World Champion Sandro Cortese (Dynavolt Intact GP) who – after starting fifth on the grid – suffered a crash at Turn 1 and will now require surgery to attend to a fractured right ulna.

With five laps to go, there was a three-way collision at Turn 3 triggered by the out-of-control Mike di Meglio (JiR Moto2), who was collected by Alberto Moncayo (Argiñano & Gines Racing) as Marcel Schrotter (Maptaq SAG Zelos Team) also crashed out of proceedings. It was later confirmed that di Meglio had sustained a fractured sacrum in the lower back.

Sunday’s result sees Espargaro close in on championship leader Redding by five points, bringing the leading gap down to 21 with seven races remaining in the 2013 season; winner Kallio jumps up one championship position, to fourth overall.

2013 Brno Moto2 Results:

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1 25 36 Mika KALLIO FIN Marc VDS Racing Team Kalex 157.3 41'11.785
2 20 30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN Italtrans Racing Team Kalex 157.3 +0.590
3 16 12 Thomas LUTHI SWI Interwetten Paddock Moto2 Racing Suter 157.3 +0.799
4 13 40 Pol ESPARGARO SPA Tuenti HP 40 Kalex 157.3 +0.965
5 11 5 Johann ZARCO FRA Came Iodaracing Project Suter 157.3 +1.100
6 10 18 Nicolas TEROL SPA Aspar Team Moto2 Suter 157.2 +1.539
7 9 80 Esteve RABAT SPA Tuenti HP 40 Kalex 157.2 +2.496
8 8 45 Scott REDDING GBR Marc VDS Racing Team Kalex 157.0 +4.490
9 7 3 Simone CORSI ITA NGM Mobile Racing Speed Up 157.0 +5.777
10 6 81 Jordi TORRES SPA Aspar Team Moto2 Suter 157.0 +5.796
11 5 19 Xavier SIMEON BEL Maptaq SAG Zelos Team Kalex 156.8 +8.641
12 4 52 Danny KENT GBR Tech 3 Tech 3 156.5 +12.425
13 3 77 Dominique AEGERTER SWI Technomag carXpert Suter 156.5 +12.490
14 2 54 Mattia PASINI ITA NGM Mobile Racing Speed Up 156.2 +18.597
15 1 24 Toni ELIAS SPA Blusens Avintia Kalex 155.8 +24.427
16   4 Randy KRUMMENACHER SWI Technomag carXpert Suter 155.8 +24.497
17   95 Anthony WEST AUS QMMF Racing Team Speed Up 155.8 +24.867
18   72 Yuki TAKAHASHI JPN IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia Moriwaki 155.5 +29.530
19   88 Ricard CARDUS SPA NGM Mobile Forward Racing Speed Up 155.5 +29.619
20   96 Louis ROSSI FRA Tech 3 Tech 3 155.1 +35.853
21   49 Axel PONS SPA Tuenti HP 40 Kalex 154.9 +39.607
22   27 Dani RIVAS SPA Blusens Avintia Kalex 154.3 +49.056
23   99 Lucas MAHIAS FRA Promoto Sport Transfiormers 154.1 +52.616
24   7 Doni Tata PRADITA INA Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 Suter 153.7 +59.011
25   10 Thitipong WAROKORN THA Thai Honda PTT Gresini Moto2 Suter 151.5 +1'35.752
26   97 Rafid Topan SUCIPTO INA QMMF Racing Team Speed Up 151.4 +1'36.434
Not Classified
    11 Sandro CORTESE GER Dynavolt Intact GP Kalex 156.9 2 Laps
    63 Mike DI MEGLIO FRA JiR Moto2 Motobi 155.6 5 Laps
    23 Marcel SCHROTTER GER Maptaq SAG Zelos Team Kalex 155.6 5 Laps
    17 Alberto MONCAYO SPA Argiñano & Gines Racing Speed Up 155.6 5 Laps
    15 Alex DE ANGELIS RSM NGM Mobile Forward Racing Speed Up 155.6 6 Laps
    44 Steven ODENDAAL RSA Argiñano & Gines Racing Speed Up 155.0 8 Laps
    8 Gino REA GBR Gino Rea Montaze Broz Racing FTR 153.4 14 Laps
    60 Julian SIMON SPA Italtrans Racing Team Kalex 139.4 16 Laps

2013 Moto2 Championship Point Standings:

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1 Scott REDDING Kalex GBR 167
2 Pol ESPARGARO Kalex SPA 146
3 Esteve RABAT Kalex SPA 122
4 Mika KALLIO Kalex FIN 115
5 Dominique AEGERTER Suter SWI 97
6 Johann ZARCO Suter FRA 86
7 Takaaki NAKAGAMI Kalex JPN 85
8 Nicolas TEROL Suter SPA 72
9 Jordi TORRES Suter SPA 70
10 Simone CORSI Speed Up ITA 67
11 Thomas LUTHI Suter SWI 65
12 Xavier SIMEON Kalex BEL 63
13 Alex DE ANGELIS Speed Up RSM 43
14 Julian SIMON Kalex SPA 42
15 Anthony WEST Speed Up AUS 34
16 Mattia PASINI Speed Up ITA 25
17 Marcel SCHROTTER Kalex GER 22
18 Randy KRUMMENACHER Suter SWI 20
19 Toni ELIAS Kalex SPA 20
20 Mike DI MEGLIO Motobi FRA 18
21 Danny KENT Tech 3 GBR 7
22 Sandro CORTESE Kalex GER 7
23 Louis ROSSI Tech 3 FRA 4
24 Axel PONS Kalex SPA 2
25 Ricard CARDUS Speed Up SPA 1