Motorcycle Racing News AMA Supercross/Motocross 2013 Unadilla AMA Motocross | Results

2013 Unadilla AMA Motocross | Results

2013 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross

Spoiler Alert: 2013 AMA Pro Motocross results from Unadilla in New Berlin, N.Y., listed below

The 2013 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship made its final East Coast visit Saturday for the Built Ford Tough Unadilla National at New York’s iconic Unadilla MX circuit.

And taking the win at round 10 of 12 before the series heads west for the final two rounds? Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto. The Washington native ran a flawless round, taking both Holeshots en route to winning both motos.

Joining Villopoto on the overall podium was Muscle Milk Honda’s Justin Barcia, a New York native, and Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey.

In the opening Moto, Villopoto took the holeshot ahead of Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey, BTO’s Andrew Short and N-FAB/TiLube Yamaha’s Bobby Kiniry.  Kiniry, another New York Native, had some issues, falling to the back of the pack, as did Short.

Soon Barcia and teammate Trey Canard moved through the pack with Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart. These three riders were soon involved in a battle with Dungey, but Canard had some mechanical issues on his Honda CR-F450R, and was forced out of the battle.

The reigning Motocross Champion Dungey would take second, 20 seconds behind Villopoto. Stewart took third, followed by Barcia and Toyota/JGR Yamaha’s Josh Grant.

In Moto 2, Villopoto again took the hotshot, and began putting a gap on the field. Following was Barcia, Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Jake Weimer, Canard, Suzuki’s Mike Alessi, and Stewart.

Dungey got a start from mid pack, but quickly worked his way to the front, battling with Grant and Weimer for the final podium position. Barcia would finish second, but Weimer was able to hold of Dungey for third. Taking fifth behind Dungey was Grant.

With his moto sweep, Villopoto, the reigning AMA Supercross Champion, now has a 44-point lead over Dungey with two rounds remaining. This was the sixth time he took an overall win, and he has 14 moto wins in 10 rounds.

Ryan Villopoto (Monster Energy Kawasaki KX-F 450 Motocross) says: “The highlight of the day was definitely getting two holeshots and to be able to get two clean starts out front.

“I really enjoyed the track. It has a lot of line choices and it’s honestly becoming one of my favorite tracks because you can go fast and take completely different lines than other people.”

In the 250 Class, GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac put forth a flawless performance in New York to capture his fifth overall win of the season. Tomac wasn’t able to secure a good start in Moto 1 but his GEICO Honda teammate Wil Hahn captured the Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot and the early lead over MYPLASH/Metal Mulisha/Star Racing/Yamaha’s Jeremy Martin, MX Sports says.

Martin then moved into the lead, leaving Hahn to battle with Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen in the second place position. Tomac proved to be unstoppable as he took over the lead and claimed the Moto 1 victory. Jeremy Martin maintained second and GEICO Honda’s Zach Osborne claimed a last minute third place finish, MX Sports says.

In Moto 2, Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Martin Davalos captured his first Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot of the season but it was Red Bull KTM’s Roczen who commanded the early lead. Jeremy Martin, GEICO Honda’s Justin Bogle and Davalos rode close in tow behind Roczen, while Tomac was forced to come from behind once again in Moto 2. However, Tomac quickly set his sights on the front as he challenged Roczen for the lead. After a hard fought battle in the final laps of Moto 2, Tomac emerged victorious to carry a 1-1 sweep at Unadilla, MX Sports says.

Jeremy Martin held strong for third place in Moto 2, securing a career-best finish of second overall. Roczen bounced back from a fifth place finish in Moto 1, where a second place Moto 2 finish earned the previous points leader third overall for the day. With two rounds remaining, Tomac leads Roczen by 39 points in the 250 Class Championship, MX Sports says.

Round 11 of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship heads to Toole, Utah for the Built Ford Tough Utah National on Saturday, August 24.

2013 Unadilla AMA Motocross 450 Class (Moto Finish):
1.    Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki (1-1)
2.    Justin Barcia, Monroe, N.Y., Honda (4-2)
3.    Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM (2-4)
4.    Jake Weimer, Twin Falls, Idaho, Kawasaki (9-3)
5.    Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Yamaha (5-5)
6.    Andrew Short, Colorado Springs, Colo., KTM (6-7)
7.    Brett Metcalfe, Australia, Kawasaki (10-6)
8.    Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki (8-8)
9.    Justin Brayton, Fort Dodge, Iowa, Yamaha (7-13)
10.    Phil Nicoletti, Cohocton, N.Y., Yamaha (13-9)

2013 AMA Motocross 450 Class Championship Standings (after 10 of 12 rounds):
1.    Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 463
2.    Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM, 419
3.    Justin Barcia, Monroe, N.Y., Honda, 347
4.    James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Suzuki, 289
5.    Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda, 263
6.    Andrew Short, Colorado Springs, Colo., KTM, 220
7.    Jake Weimer, Twin Falls, Idaho, Kawasaki, 216
8.    Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki, 209
9.    Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Yamaha, 208
10.    Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., Suzuki, 204

2013 Unadilla AMA Motocross 250 Class (Moto Finish):
1.    Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda (1-1)
2.    Jeremy Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha (2-3)
3.    Ken Roczen, Apolda, Germany, KTM (5-2)
4.    Zach Osborne, Abingdon, Va., Honda (3-6)
5.    Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Kawasaki (4-5)
6.    Justin Bogle, Grand Terrace, Calif., Kawasaki (10-4)
7.    Wil Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Honda (6-8)
8.    Marvin Musquin, La Reole, France, KTM (8-9)
9.    Cole Seely, Newbury Park, Calif., Honda (9-10)
10.    Martin Davalos, Ecuador, Kawasaki (13-7)

2013 AMA Motocross 250 Class Championship Standings:
1.    Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda, 455
2.    Ken Roczen, Apolda, Germany, KTM, 416
3.    Marvin Musquin, La Reole, France, KTM, 359
4.    Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Kawasaki, 329
5.    Zach Osborne, Abingdon, Va., Honda, 296
6.    Jeremy Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha, 249
7.    Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Suzuki, 248
8.    Justin Bogle, Cushing, Okla., Honda, 238
9.    Kyle Cunningham, Aledo, Texas, Yamaha, 204
10.    Cole Seely, Newbury Park, Calif., Honda, 192

2019 Motegi MotoGP Results: Champ Marquez Claims Win #10

Two weeks after clinching the 2019 MotoGP Championship in Thailand, Repsol Honda's Marc Marquez was once again unstoppable at 2019 Motegi MotoGP.

2020 Suzuki GSX250R and GSX250R ABS Buyer’s Guide: Specs & Price

The smallest sport motorcycle in the 2020 Suzuki lineup, the GSX250R offers big-bike features such as a full fairing, fuel injection, electric cooling, and optional ABS.

BMW K 1600 GT, GLT & B Motorcycle Recall: Transmission Issues

BMW K 1600 GTL & K 1600 B Recall BMW of North America is recalling 4,672 of its 2017-2020 K 1600 GT sport-touring motorcycles, and...

2019 Monster Energy Cup Supercross Results: Las Vegas

2019 Monster Energy Cup Supercross Results: Cianciarulo Wins In 450 Debut With three riders—Adam Cianciarulo, Malcolm Stewart, and Eli Tomac—tied for the lead going into the...

Kawasaki SuperBike Club Racer: Spec Bike Test

Race-Ready 300-pound Ninja 400 From Norton Motorsports Back in late 2017, I found myself twisting the throttle of the then all-new Kawasaki Ninja 400 around...

2019 Monster Energy Cup Guide: Supercross In Las Vegas

2019 Monster Energy Cup Guide: How To Watch, Plus Rider Quotes and News Supercross returns to Las Vegas for the 2019 Monster Energy Cup, giving fans...