Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport Forsberg: AMA Women’s EnduroCross Champ

Forsberg: AMA Women’s EnduroCross Champ

2012-forsberg-ama-womens-endurocross-champ2012 AMA Women’s EnduroCross Champion

Factory FMF/KTM rider Maria Forsberg was crowned the 2012 AMA Women’s EnduroCross Champion after taking the win in the most exciting race of the season in front of the sold out crowd at The Orleans Arena.

Forsberg was second off the start in the main event but suffered a crash in the tire section on the first lap that dropped her to fifth. It was fellow KTM rider Rachel Gutish who capitalized on the mistake and jumped into the lead.

She led for a lap until Forsberg and KTM rider Louise Forsley began to push forward. Both girls were able to pass Gutish at the halfway point and began a tremendous battle for the lead. The crowd was on their feet as both girls were neck and neck heading into the final lap.

The dreaded rock section was an obstacle that the women only had to ride on the final lap and it proved to be the deciding factor in who would win this race. Forsley entered the rock section first but crashed early on. Forsberg came in on the outside and tried to get around Forsley.

After struggling on the outside line she moved to an inside line choice that ended up taking her bike straight into Forsley’s. The two girls quickly untangled their bikes trying franticly to get going before the other. It was Forsberg who prevailed and climbed out of the rocks, through the fire pit and over the final tire to take the win. Forsley was able to finish 2nd and Gutish finished 3rd to complete a KTM podium sweep.

Forsberg’s win at the Las Vegas round secured her the 2012 title. She commented, “It feels so great to get this title. I have had an amazing season. To win an X-Games gold medal, go undefeated in the GNCC series and then come out and win this championship has just been amazing. I couldn’t do it without the support of my team, my family and my friends. I want to send a huge thank you out to everyone who helped me this year. It has truly been an incredible year.”

2012 AMA Women’s EnduroCross Championship Final Point Standings:

  1. Maria Forsberg – 141
  2. Louise Forsley – 126
  3. Chantelle Bykerk – 97


Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

Cardo Packtalk Black and Prototype Headset Review: Racing Intercom

Cardo has been well known for its high-quality helmet-to-helmet communication systems for over a decade. Cardo uses Bluetooth technology in both is Packtalk and...

2021 Husqvarna FC 450 Rockstar Edition First Look (8 Fast Facts)

The triumvirate of 2020 AMA 450MX National Champion Zach Osborne, 2018 AMA Supercross Champion Jason Anderson, and Dean Wilson will all be racing motorcycle...

Shoei RF-1400 First Look: New Motorcycle Helmet

The folks at Shoei made the best of our pandemic situation with their unique launch of the new Shoei RF-1400. They shipped us the...

2021 Ducati Monster First Look [13 Fast Facts + Specs]

Amid these unique times when OEMs are usually launching their lineups at EICMA, Ducati spent the past five Wednesdays releasing new models. Many, like the...

2021 Ducati Monster Lineup First Look: 4 Models; 2 All-New

There’s a big shakeup in the Ducati Monster lineup for 2021. Say goodbye to the 797, 821, and 821 Stealth. Those three models are...

2020 Ducati Monster 821 Stealth Review (15 Fast Facts)

Upgraded in 2018, the Ducati Monster 821 was joined by a Stealth version in 2019. Not merely a matte black extravaganza with exclusive graphics,...