News Manx Grand Prix: Farquhar Wins 500cc Classic

Manx Grand Prix: Farquhar Wins 500cc Classic

2012 Manx Grand Prix 500cc Classic & Formula Classic Results

Ryan Farquhar added to his nine MGP titles with a win in the opening race of today’s Manx Grand Prix, the 500cc Classic Grand Prix, when he powered his Paton to first place.

Riders were advised of the threat of isolated showers throughout the day and to look out for damp patches around the course ahead of Wednesday’s third race day at the 2012 Manx Grand Prix.

The race day started shortly after the scheduled start time at around 10.20, with the concurrent 500cc Classic Grand Prix and Formula Classic. Alan Oversby on a Matchless was the first rider away from the startline but it was pre-race favourite Ryan Farquhar, on the Paton, second on the grid on Glencrutchery Rd, who quickly took control of the race, putting the frustrations of yesterday’s gearbox problems in the 350cc Classic race behind him.

Farquhar had established a lead of almost 20 seconds ahead of Olie Linsdell by the first timing point at Glen Helen on the opening lap of the race, with Chris Palmer on the Matchless a further second back in third.

Palmer moved past Linsdell by Ballaugh but at the front of the field the Northern Irishman was imperious and by the end of the first lap had built a commanding lead with an opening lap of 21:21.25 (106.012mph), with Linsdell, wbo clocked 22:39.61 on the Royal Enfield moving ahead of Palmer. Palmer’s opening lap was timed at 22:41.58, which kept him in the final podium position a couple of seconds behind Linsdell.

Farquhar pulled into the pits on the opening lap with a lead of a minute and twelve seconds and returned to consolidate his lead with an estimated lead of forty-one seconds from Linsdell after exiting the pits, which he had increased to 44 seconds by Glen Helen on the second lap. Meanwhile Roy Richardson retired at the Hawthorne on his second lap when running in 6th place on the Aermacchi and Alan Oversby stopped at Ballaugh Bridge, also on the second lap.

That remained the top three at the end of the second lap but with Linsdell reported as retiring on the Mountain Box on the third lap, Palmer moved up into second place with Chris Swallow coming into the top three, following his podium in the 350cc Classic yesterday.

Farquhar backed off on the final lap to get his Paton home and duly took the honours with a final lap of 22:09.06 and an overall race time of 1:27.10.91 – 102.198mph. However, there was excitement on the last lap with Chris Palmer reported as pushing in from Governors Dip under an escort from the marshals after running out of fuel. Swallow was duly able to take the runners up place with 1:32.18.17 (98.103mph) but Chris Palmer with 1:32.48.37 (97.571mph,) at least took the final podium position.

Formula Classic

In the Formula Classic race that ran concurrently Dave Madsen Mygdal on the Triumph was first to Glen Helen from Mark Parrett on a BSA with Alec Whitwell riding a Honda in third. Madsen-Mygdal posted an opening lap of 23:05.39 (98.043) to lead by twenty seconds from Mark Parrett (23:25.36-96.650mph) with Alec Whitwell a further thirty seconds back (23:57.32-94.501mph) in third and Barry Davidson on the BSA in fourth.

Formula Classic Davie Morgan, who was running fifth, quit in the pits and Adam Ward, in sixth, also had problems but was able to rejoin the race after a lengthy pit stop which allowed Geoff Bates, on a Honda, to move ahead of Ward.

That remained the top three on the last lap but with Alec Whitwell reported as off at Ramsey and taken by airmed to Nobles for a check up, Adam Ward moved up into third. Madsen-Mygdal took the race victory with 1:31.21.84 – (99.111mph) – from Mark Parrett who clocked 1:32.37.04 and Ward with an overall race time of 1:49.51.32 duly held the final podium position with Geoff Bates finishing fourth.

Despite the fact that Madsen-Mygdal has the most starts and finishes in the Manx Grand Prix and TT, it was his first race victory around the mountain course.

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Triumph Tiger 850 Sport Review (13 Fast Facts)

Marketing is a funny thing. Usually, manufacturers exaggerate the displacement in model names—even if only by a little bit. However, in the case of...

2021 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Special First Look (5 Fast Facts)

The 2021 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Special changes this year focus on new colors and finishes. However, there are some other updates worth discussing. The...

2021 DOT Certified Helmet Performance Testing Update

We provide some deep insight into the latest 2021 DOT Certified Motorcycle Helmet performance testing, from failure rate to suggestions for regulators.

2021 Benelli TRK502 Review (15 Fast Facts for Sport-Touring)

Last month we tested the 2021 Benelli TRK502X adventure motorcycle and came away impressed. At first glance, the standard TRK502 doesn’t seem that much...

2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Road Glide First Look (6 Fast Facts)

The 2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Road Glide is here, and it’s louder and sleeker than ever—plus it has some wild new wheels. Here’s what’s new...

2021 Houston 3 Fantasy Supercross Tips (11 Fast Facts)

The 2021 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series is off to a mind-boggling start. The playing field is so level that the bubble is right...