Oakland Supercross: Pre-Race Stats

2012 AMA Supercross Stats

With three rounds completed in the 2012 AMA Supercross Championship, three different riders on three different manufacturers were victorious.

The latest arrived in Dodger Stadium, Los Angeles, when Chad Reed took his first victory of 2012 aboard the Two-Two Motorsports Honda CRF450R.

In round 2 at Chase Field in Phoenix, Ariz., Ryan Dungey gave KTM its first victory, the 2010 AMA Supercross/Motocross Champion winning aboard the Red Bull KTM SX-F 450.

The season-opener at Anaheim, Calif., was won by the reigning Supercross champion, Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto.

And tonight, the series will compete in O.com Stadium, Oakland, Calif. Will there be a fourth winner in fourth separate rounds, such as Joe Gibbs Racing Yamaha’s James Stewart, who won the Oakland round last year?

As the anticipation builds, here’s some stats to keep you busy before Round 4 of 17 in the 2012 AMA Supercross Championship.

Supercross Class: Oakland Stats

  • The first race was held on January 18, 1979, and Jimmy Weinert won on a Kawasaki
  • This will be the fifth time the gate will drop in Oakland
  • In 1980, Kent Howerton won on a Suzuki
  • In 1984, Ron Lechein won on a Honda; it was his first ever Supercross Class race on a Honda
  • In 1979, Jimmy Weinert used paddle tires to win on an all sand track in Oakland; the AMA would later outlaw the use of the paddle tires. Later that year he won the last race of his career at Daytona.

Supercross Class: Wins by Brand in Oakland

  • Kawasaki: 1
  • Suzuki: 1
  • Honda: 1
  • Yamaha: 1

Supercross Class: Los Angeles Recap

  • Chad Reed earned his 41st Supercross Class win
  • Reed has now won a Supercross Class race in nine career seasons and is tied with Jeremy McGrath on the all-time list
  • Ryan Dungey is the only rider to be on the podium at all three races; he’s finished 3-1-2.
  • For the first time ever, KTM has been in the Supercross Class points lead (this doesn’t include last week’s tie)
  • For the 11th time in Supercross class history, there have been three different winners in the first three rounds
  • Three different brands, Kawasaki, KTM and Honda have now won a Supercross Class race this year. If Yamaha and Suzuki can get a win, it will be the first time in Supercross class history that every manufacturer has won a Supercross Class Main Event.
  • Brett Metcalfe earned a season-best fifth place
  • James Stewart broke his four race non-podium streak with a third in Los Angeles. He can break his five-race non-win streak with a win this weekend.
  • All five brands were in the top five in Los Angeles: Honda: KTM, Yamaha, Kawasaki and Suzuki. On March 19, 1977, there were seven different brands in the top 10: Can-am, Honda, Maico, Yamaha, Husqvarna, Kawasaki, and Suzuki.
  • There has been a different winner at each of the first three races in the Supercross and the Supercross Lites classes: Ryan Villopoto, Ryan Dungey, Chad Reed, Cole Seely, Dean Wilson, and Eli Tomac. This is the third time this has happened since the Lites class started in 1985. (1986 & 1993)
  • For the second straight week, Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Villopoto worked back from nearly last place to a fourth-place finish
  • Monster Energy/Pro-Circuit/Kawasaki’s Broc Tickle finished a career-best eighth place, just a week after failing to qualify for the Main Event in Phoenix
  • Davi Millsaps earned a season-best sixth place
  • Josh Hansen earned his best finish of the season with a seventh

Supercross Class: Honda Stats

  • Honda won their 200th Supercross Class race in Los Angeles
  • In 39 seasons of Supercross Class racing, Honda has at least one win in 31 seasons
  • From 1982-1996, Honda won 138 Supercross Class races, along with 13 Supercross Class championships
  • Win #1: Marty smith 3/27/1976 in Pontiac, Mich.
  • Win #50: Rick Johnson 6/7/1986 in Los Angeles
  • Win #100: Jean-Michael Bayle 3/28/1992 in Tampa, Fla.
  • Win #150: Ezra Lusk 4/25/1998 in Dallas
  • Win #200- Chad Reed 1/21/2012 in Los Angeles
  • Honda is the first brand to win 200 Supercross Class races

24 different riders have won a Supercross Class race on a Honda

  • Marty Smith: 1976
  • Jimmy Ellis: 1978
  • Marty Tripes: 1978
  • Steve Wise: 1979
  • Chuck Sun: 1980
  • Donnie Hansen: 1982
  • Darryl Shultz: 1982
  • David Bailey: 1983
  • Bob Hannah: 1983
  • Johnny O’Mara: 1984
  • Ron Lechien: 1984
  • Rick Johnson: 1986
  • Jeff Stanton: 1989
  • Jean-Michael Bayle: 1990
  • Jeremy Mcgrath: 1993
  • Doug Henry: 1995
  • Ezra Lusk: 1998
  • Kevin Windham: 1999
  • Mike LaRocco: 2002
  • Ricky Carmichael: 2002
  • Nathan Ramsey: 2002
  • Davi Millsaps: 2008
  • Chad Reed: 2011
  • Trey Canard: 2011

Supercross Lites Class: Oakland stats

  • This will be the second time the gate will drop for a Supercross Lites Class race in Oakland
  • Broc Tickle won the inaugural Supercross Lites Class race in Oakland
  • Supercross Lites Class: Wins by Brand in Oakland
  • Kawasaki: 1Supercross Lites class: Los Angeles Recap
  • Eli Tomac earned his third Supercross Lites Class win
  • Tomac became the third different racer to win a Supercross Lites Class race on the season
  • Zach Osborne earned a career-best third place finish
  • For the 18th consecutive race, Monster Energy/Pro-Circuit/Kawasaki has finished on the podium. Dean Wilson kept the streak alive with a second place (this is not counting the fourth-place finish in the East/West Shootout in Las Vegas).
  • Not one rider has finished on the podium at all three races this year


Supercross Class Laps Lead

  • Ryan Villopoto: 20
  • Ryan Dungey: 20
  • Chad Reed: 15
  • Jake Weimer: 5

Supercross Lites Class Laps Led

  • Dean Wilson: 15
  • Eli Tomac: 15
  • Cole Seely: 12
  • Tyla Rattray: 3

Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award

  • Anaheim Race 1: Ryan Villopoto
  • Phoenix: Ryan Dungey
  • Los Angeles: Jake Weimer

Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award

  • Anaheim Race 1: Vince Friese
  • Phoenix: Tyla Rattray
  • Los Angeles: Martin Davalos

MMI Top Tech Award

  • Anaheim Race 1: Mike Williamson
  • Phoenix: Eddie Lorett
  • Los Angeles: Bryan Kranz


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.