2011 Motegi Moto2 | Race Results

2011 Moto2

Spoiler Alert: Twin Ring Motegi Moto2 results below

Front-row Moto2 starter at the Japanese Grand Prix in Motegi Andrea Iannone (Speed Master) took the hole shot at the start of the Moto2 race and eventually took his third win of the season, after contesting for the lead throughout the race with pole starter Marc Marquez (Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol) who finished second.

Stefan Bradl (Viessmann Kiefer Racing), who led the Championship at the start of the race but now trails Marquez in the standings by a single point having placed fourth in the race, briefly entered the challenge but dropped off the front and finally crossed the line behind Thomas Luthi (Interwetten Paddock Moto2) who completed the podium.

Simone Corsi (Ioda Racing Project) took fifth ahead of Alex de Angelis (JiR Moto2), with Bradley Smith (Tech 3 Racing) crossing the line 5.5s behind De Angelis to take seventh. Dominique Aegerter (Technomag-CIP) was eighth with Esteve Rabat (Blusens-STX) and Mika Kallio (Marc VDS Racing) rounding out the top ten finishers.

Jordi Torres (Mapfre Aspar), Raffaele De Rosa (NGM Forward Racing) and Ricky Cardús (QMMF Racing Team) had early crashes, as did Axel Pons (Pons HP 40). Yuki Takahashi (Gresini Racing) had a fall but did return to the track, finishing his home GP in 30th position.

2011 Motegi Moto2 Results:

1.2529Andrea IANNONEITASpeed MasterSuter152.643’25.007
2.2093Marc MARQUEZSPATeam CatalunyaCaixa RepsolSuter152.5+1.999
3.1612Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten Paddock Moto2Suter152.4+3.686
4.1365Stefan BRADLGERViessmann Kiefer RacingKalex152.3+4.313
5.113Simone CORSIITAIoda Racing ProjectFTR152.3+4.647
6.1015Alex DE ANGELISRSMJIR Moto2Motobi152.3+4.813
7.938Bradley SMITHGBRTech 3 RacingTech 3152.0+10.520
8.877Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag-CIPSuter152.0+10.725
9.734Esteve RABATSPABlusens-STXFTR151.9+11.387
10.636Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamSuter151.9+12.803
11.519Xavier SIMEONBELTech 3 BTech 3151.5+18.259
12.413Anthony WESTAUSMZ Racing TeamMZ-RE Honda151.4+20.815
13.351Michele PIRROITAGresini Racing Moto2Moriwaki151.2+23.795
14.275Mattia PASINIITAIoda Racing ProjectFTR151.2+24.388
15.144Pol ESPARGAROSPAHP Tuenti Speed UpFTR150.6+34.071
16. 16Jules CLUZELFRANGM Forward RacingSuter150.4+38.236
17. 9Kenny NOYESUSAAvintia-STXFTR150.3+39.505
18. 76Max NEUKIRCHNERGERMZ Racing TeamMZ-RE Honda150.3+39.609
19. 54Kenan SOFUOGLUTURTechnomag-CIPSuter150.2+42.296
20. 45Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamSuter150.1+44.162
21. 53Valentin DEBISEFRASpeed UpFTR149.9+46.662
22. 14Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAThai Honda Singha SAGFTR149.9+46.950
23. 68Yonny HERNANDEZCOLBlusens-STXFTR149.7+49.625
24. 4Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIGP Team Switzerland Kiefer RacingKalex149.7+50.590
25. 39Robertino PIETRIVENItaltrans Racing TeamSuter149.6+52.044
26. 6Joan OLIVESPAAeroport de CastelloFTR149.6+52.365
27. 63Mike DI MEGLIOFRATech 3 RacingTech 3149.0+1’02.873
28. 7Tomoyoshi KOYAMAJPNCIP with TSRTSR 6147.2+1’35.559
29. 95Mashel AL NAIMIQATQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki147.2+1’35.771
30. 72Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNGresini Racing Moto2Moriwaki145.61 Lap
31. 40Aleix ESPARGAROSPAPons HP 40Pons Kalex131.23 Laps
Not Classified
  80Axel PONSSPAPons HP 40Pons Kalex150.16 Laps
  64Santiago HERNANDEZCOLSAG TeamFTR148.76 Laps
  18Jordi TORRESSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter 0 Lap
  35Raffaele DE ROSAITANGM Forward RacingSuter 0 Lap
  88Ricard CARDUSSPAQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki 0 Lap