2011 Aragon Motorland Moto2: Results

2011-aragon-motorland-moto2-results (1)

2011 Moto2

Like it’s been all season, the Moto2 action was once again thrilling as the series got underway for Round 13 at Aragon Motorland Sunday.

After a hard-fought victory, Marc Marquez his seventh win – the third consecutive – of his debut season at the intermediate category and keeps reducing the distance with the leader, Stefan Bradl.

The German Bradl finished eighth Sunday, reducing his advantage to only 6 points.

Spanish Moto2 star Marquez (Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol) took the hole shot from pole position at Aragon Motorland Saturday, with Bradl (Viessmann Kiefer Racing) and Scott Redding (Marc VDS Racing) immediately challenging for the lead, Redding taking over at the front by the end of lap one and Bradl taking over on lap four.

Meanwhile Andrea Iannone (Speed Master) made his way up to the lead pack off his tenth place start, along with Simone Corsi (Ioda Racing Project) and Alex de Angelis (JiR Moto2), which then marked the start of a breathtaking five-way fight for first position.

Marquez broke from the pack on lap 13, but not without Iannone making it very difficult for the young Spaniard to get away.

The fight for second then commenced, with Iannone eventually crossing the line a tenth of a second ahead of fellow countryman Corsi, while De Angelis followed by half a second to take fourth. Aleix Espargaró (Pons HP 40) was fifth ahead of Bradley Smith (Tech 3 Racing), and Thomas Lüthi (Interwetten Paddock Moto2) who made a great comeback to take seventh, after dropping down into 16th position on lap 8.

Bradl dropped out of the leading pack by lap 16 with what appeared to be mechanical issues to finish the race in eighth, the lower than expected finish further denting the German rider’s Championship lead, with Márquez now trailing by just 6 points.

Ninth place went to Dominique Aegerter (Technomag-CIP) after a video image was required to determine his position in front of Mika Kallio (Marc VDS Racing) in tenth, the two crossing the line so closely it appeared simultaneous, while Redding finished 15th after dropping out of the lead group on lap 9.

2011 Aragon Motorland Moto2 Results:

1.2593Marc MARQUEZSPATeam CatalunyaCaixa RepsolSuter158.640’20.575
2.2029Andrea IANNONEITASpeed MasterSuter158.4+2.466
3.163Simone CORSIITAIoda Racing ProjectFTR158.4+2.574
4.1315Alex DE ANGELISRSMJIR Moto2Motobi158.4+3.054
5.1140Aleix ESPARGAROSPAPons HP 40Pons Kalex157.9+10.831
6.1038Bradley SMITHGBRTech 3 RacingTech 3157.9+10.870
7.912Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten Paddock Moto2Suter157.9+11.005
8.865Stefan BRADLGERViessmann Kiefer RacingKalex157.9+11.212
9.777Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag-CIPSuter157.8+11.810
10.636Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamSuter157.8+11.939
11.513Anthony WESTAUSMZ Racing TeamMZ-RE Honda157.8+12.108
12.463Mike DI MEGLIOFRATech 3 RacingTech 3157.8+12.114
13.376Max NEUKIRCHNERGERMZ Racing TeamMZ-RE Honda157.8+12.180
14.244Pol ESPARGAROSPAHP Tuenti Speed UpFTR157.8+12.908
15.145Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamSuter157.7+13.329
16.34Esteve RABATSPABlusens-STXFTR157.7+13.875
17.60Julian SIMONSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter157.7+13.954
18.19Xavier SIMEONBELTech 3 BTech 3157.6+15.251
19.71Claudio CORTIITAItaltrans Racing TeamSuter157.4+18.470
20.18Jordi TORRESSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter157.3+20.128
21.4Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIGP Team Switzerland Kiefer RacingKalex156.1+38.974
22.25Alex BALDOLINIITAPons HP 40Pons Kalex156.1+39.072
23.9Kenny NOYESUSAAvintia-STXFTR156.1+39.340
24.7Tomoyoshi KOYAMAJPNTechnomag-CIPSuter155.5+48.695
25.88Ricard CARDUSSPAQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki155.5+48.843
26.64Santiago HERNANDEZCOLSAG TeamFTR154.6+1’02.670
27.33Sergio GADEASPADesguaces La Torre G22Moriwaki154.4+1’05.633
28.6Joan OLIVESPAAeroport de CastelloFTR154.3+1’06.619
29.53Valentin DEBISEFRASpeed UpFTR154.0+1’11.832
30.39Robertino PIETRIVENItaltrans Racing TeamSuter153.1+1’27.512
31.72Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNGresini Racing Moto2Moriwaki152.8+1’31.402
32.95Mashel AL NAIMIQATQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki152.7+1’33.725
33.82Elena ROSELLSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter152.5+1’36.548
Not Classified
51Michele PIRROITAGresini Racing Moto2Moriwaki155.34 Laps
16Jules CLUZELFRANGM Forward RacingSuter157.412 Laps
14Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAThai Honda Singha SAGFTR156.612 Laps
35Raffaele DE ROSAITANGM Forward RacingSuter156.112 Laps
75Mattia PASINIITAIoda Racing ProjectFTR153.718 Laps