Aragon MotoGP: Stoner Leads Saturday FP

2011-aragon-motogp-stoner-tops-saturday-practice (1)

2011 MotoGP

Due to a power outage Friday at Aragon Motorland, the second free practice session for the 17-rider MotoGP grid was canceled.

To compensate for the missed practice, MotoGP officials allowed the riders a 75-minute practice session Saturday morning (instead of the usual 45).

And when the MotoGP practice session wrapped up Saturday morning under cooler temperatures than Friday, it was the points leader who returned to the top – Repsol Honda’s Casey Stoner.

The Australian posted a 1:49.272 on his eighth lap; this time became the new fastest lap at Aragon Motorland, and also 0.249 of a second faster than the lap record set by Dani Pedrosa last year during the track’s debut.

But Pedrosa wasn’t far behind his teammate. The Spaniard, who lead Friday’s only session, was 0.062 of a second slower than Stoner Saturday morning.

Third fastest was an unfamiliar name at top – the lone Frenchman in 2011 MotoGP, Randy de Puniet. The Pramac Racing Ducati rider was 0.731 of a second off Stoner’s time.

Following de Puniet by 0.136 of a second was the third Repsol Honda rider, Andrea Dovizioso. The Italian was followed 0.058 of a second behind by his rival and fellow countryman Marco Simoncelli on the San Carlo Honda Gresini RC212V MotoGP machine.

As for nine-time World Champion Valentino Rossi, the Ducati Team rider was a second quicker than his Friday time; Rossi posted a 1:50 .484 aboard the Ducati GP11.1 with a new aluminum chassis, placing him ninth.

The MotoGP grid will be back on the 3.155-mile Aragon Motorland circuit later for qualifying ahead of Sunday’s MotoGP.

2011 Aragon Motorland MotoGP: Saturday Practice Results

Pos.Num.RiderNationTeamBikeKm/hTimeGap 1st/Prev.
1.27Casey STONERAUSRepsol Honda TeamHonda321.21’49.272
2.26Dani PEDROSASPARepsol Honda TeamHonda323.21’49.3340.062 / 0.062
3.14Randy DE PUNIETFRAPramac Racing TeamDucati316.91’50.0030.731 / 0.669
4.4Andrea DOVIZIOSOITARepsol Honda TeamHonda318.11’50.1390.867 / 0.136
5.58Marco SIMONCELLIITASan Carlo Honda GresiniHonda316.21’50.1970.925 / 0.058
6.11Ben SPIESUSAYamaha Factory RacingYamaha315.61’50.3761.104 / 0.179
7.19Alvaro BAUTISTASPARizla Suzuki MotoGPSuzuki319.21’50.4221.150 / 0.046
8.1Jorge LORENZOSPAYamaha Factory RacingYamaha315.91’50.4441.172 / 0.022
9.46Valentino ROSSIITADucati TeamDucati317.31’50.4841.212 / 0.040
10.69Nicky HAYDENUSADucati TeamDucati317.51’50.5671.295 / 0.083
11.8Hector BARBERASPAMapfre Aspar Team MotoGPDucati320.61’50.5841.312 / 0.017
12.35Cal CRUTCHLOWGBRMonster Yamaha Tech 3Yamaha313.11’50.6901.418 / 0.106
13.7Hiroshi AOYAMAJPNSan Carlo Honda GresiniHonda322.61’50.7601.488 / 0.070
14.5Colin EDWARDSUSAMonster Yamaha Tech 3Yamaha314.21’50.8981.626 / 0.138
15.17Karel ABRAHAMCZECardion AB MotoracingDucati318.91’51.0261.754 / 0.128
16.65Loris CAPIROSSIITAPramac Racing TeamDucati317.81’51.5612.289 / 0.535
17.24Toni ELIASSPALCR Honda MotoGPHonda319.11’51.8822.610 / 0.321