Motorcycle Types Cruiser Harley's Krawiec: NHRA Top Seed

Harley’s Krawiec: NHRA Top Seed

2011-harley-krawiec-nhra-countdown-top-seed (1)

NHRA Motorcycle Racing

Harley-Davidson Screamin’ Eagle/Vance & Hines rider Ed Krawiec won in the first round of Pro Stock Motorcycle drag racing eliminations at the Mac Tools U.S. Nationals at Lucas Oil Raceway and secured the top seed in the Full Throttle NHRA Countdown to the Championship playoff series.

Krawiec earned 20 bonus points for leading the top-ten riders who will compete for the championship over the last six events of the season. Krawiec took over the points lead on August 21, riding a Harley-Davidson V-Rod motorcycle to the semi-finals at the Lucas Oil Nationals at Brainerd International Raceway.

Ed Krawiec (Harley-Davidson VRod) says: “It’s great to get that 20 points, because this is very competitive class. The Screamin’ Eagle team is putting me on a great motorcycle and I think we are all feeling confident.”

Harley-Davidson Screamin’ Eagle®/Vance & Hines rider Andrew Hines will start the countdown in fourth place. Hines made a dramatic 6.909-second pass in the final round of qualifying on Sunday to take the top position heading into Monday’s elimination rounds of the U.S. Nationals. Monday ended on a disappointing note for Hines, when his transmission locked up during his burn-out for the first round of eliminations. The crew was unable to fix the bike at the starting line.

Andrew Hines (Harley-Davidson VRod) says: “We really had my V-Rod dialed in and I thought we’d be the bike to beat today. We tested here last week and made 13 runs, and we found the problem that was holding me back at the end of the track the last few races. So I’m feeling good heading into the Countdown. I’ve got a very strong motorcycle and I’m just 50 points behind Eddie.”

Krawiec qualified sixth for the U.S. Nationals at 6.953 seconds. He defeated Vroom Racing Buell rider David Hope in the first round of eliminations, and lost to SAF and Motorcycle Specialties rider Jerry Savoie in round two. Lucas Oil Buell rider Hector Arana Jr. defeated Savoie in the final round to win the event.

The Pro Stock Motorcycle points will re-set for the top-ten riders as the series begins the Countdown to the Championship playoffs. Riders qualifying for the Countdown are: Krawiec (2110 points), LE Tonglet (Nitrofish Suzuki, 2080), Karen Stoffer (Geico Suzuki, 2070), Hines (2060), Arana Jr. (2050), Matt Smith (Smith Racing Buell, 2040), Hector Arana Sr. (Lucas Oil Buell, 2030), Savoie (2020), Michael Phillips (The Edge Suzuki, 2010) and Jim Underdahl (Suzuki Extended Protection, 2000).

The first round of the Countdown to the Championship is the 4th annual O’Reilly Auto Parts NHRA Nationals, September 15-18, at zMAX Dragway in Charlotte, N.C.

2021 World Superbike Schedule First Look: 13-Round WSBK Calendar

The 2021 FIM Superbike World Championship calendar is now public, and it is planned to be a 13-round affair. Government restrictions in reaction to...

2021 MotoE World Cup Championship Series Schedule First Look

The 2021 FIM Enel MotoE World Cup Calendar is set—well, at least as set as anything can be in the era of COVID-19 government...

Klim Adventure GTX Boots Review: Target Audience Perfection

Although mic drop is a cliché these days, some situations and products deserve that accolade. The all-new Klim Adventure GTX boots check every boot...

Harley-Davidson Gift of Riding H-D Riding Academy Contest

There is no better gift in the world than turning a non-rider into a motorcyclist. Of course, it takes more than best wishes to...

2021 Suzuki 650 V-Twins: New Colors Sneak Peek First Look

It’s always interesting to check into Europe’s latest to see what might appear on dealer showroom floors in the United States. We look at...

2021 Honda Rebel 500 ABS SE First Look (5 Fast Facts)

After an upgrade last year, Honda has more plans for the now-midsize Rebel. There is now a 2021 Honda Rebel 500 ABS—an accessorized version...