Fillmore Wins 2011 AMA XR1200 Title

2011-fillmore-wins-ama-xr1200-title 1

2011 AMA XR1200

GEICO Harley-Davidson rider Chris Fillmore locked up the Vance & Hines AMA XR1200 series championship at New Jersey Motorsports Park by winning Sunday’s race.

Chris Fillmore (Harley-Davidson XR1200) says: “I was excited to be going into the XR1200 series; I wanted to be in one of the main classes. Now that I went through the year and got used to the bikes I think I learned a lot. It has been a great series; I have had a lot of fun learning about the lines and learning how to slow everything down.

“I’m very happy that Richie Morris and I hooked up and that I got the opportunity to ride for him and compete in this series. My thanks to GEICO, Bruce Rossmeyer’s Daytona Racing, Revolution Performance and everyone else that made this happen.”

It was Fillmore’s fifth win of the season and he finished on the podium in every race but one this season. Steve Rapp, Fillmore’s closest competitor in the championship chase, finished sixth on Sunday, 21.265 seconds off Fillmore’s torrid pace.

Fillmore’s teammate Kyle Wyman also finished on the podium for the third time this season with a third-place finish.

Kyle Wyman (Harley-Davidson XR1200) says: “I just clicked today, I kind of fell back at first and what I expected to be a lonely race turned out differently. Tyler (O’Hara) ran off and he was about a second in front of me and I didn’t want to let him get away from me again.

“I just put my head down and dropped a lot of time. It just clicked for me.”

First pic above by Eric Putter/PutterPowerMedia

2011-fillmore-wins-ama-xr1200-title 2













2011 New Jersey Motorsports Park AMA XR1200: Race 2 Results

PosNo.Rider(s)BikeIntervalGapBest LapPoints
1.55Chris FillmoreHarley-Davidson XR120012 LapsWINNER1:30.5020
2.60Michael BeckHarley-Davidson XR12000.1340.1341:30.4450
3.33Kyle WymanHarley-Davidson XR120013.78913.6541:31.1090
4.29Tyler OHaraHarley-Davidson XR120014.0850.2961:30.3320
5.19Chase McFarlandHarley-Davidson XR120021.0566.9711:31.9120
6.5Steve RappHarley-Davidson XR120021.2650.2081:30.9160
7.164Shane NarbonneHarley-Davidson XR120021.3150.0491:31.9070
8.88Gerry SignorelliHarley-Davidson XR120035.89814.5831:32.9160
9.11Michael MorganHarley-Davidson XR120039.0163.1171:33.3490
10.15Michael CorbinoHarley-Davidson XR120045.0626.0451:33.6440
11.10Josh ChisumHarley-Davidson XR12001:07.37522.3131:35.5100
12.64Jeremiah JohnsonHarley-Davidson XR12001:10.1472.7721:35.4960
13.63Pete DemasHarley-Davidson XR12001:10.2840.1361:35.5700
14.70Paul JamesHarley-Davidson XR12001:25.46615.1821:36.9020
15.56Thomas G. MontanoHarley-Davidson XR12008 Laps4 Laps1:35.2410
16.34Michael BarnesHarley-Davidson XR12000 Laps8 Laps-no times-0