Sachsenring Moto2: Qualifying Results

2011 Moto2

Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol rider Marc Marquez clinched the third pole position of his Moto2 career ahead of Sunday’s race at the eni Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland in Sachsenring, Germany, chased by Stefan Bradl and Aleix Espargaro.

Moto2 Championship leader Bradl (Viessmann Kiefer Racing) held provisional pole in the first minutes of the qualifying session, but was moved to second when Espargaró (Pons HP 40) took the lead. Espargaró then dominated the session until Marquez stole provisional pole in the last three minutes, then improved his time to cement the position with a lap time of 1’24.733.

\Meanwhile the German Moto2 rider, who finished ninth in his home Moto2 race last year, improved his time in the last seconds to post a 1’24.862, just 0.038s quicker than Espargaró, moving the Spaniard into third spot on the grid.

With the top 25 Moto2 riders all within one second of each other, the battles for the second and third row positions was stiff, with Italian rider Michele Pirro (Gresini Racing Moto2) landing the leading spot on the second row. Julián Simón (Mapfre Aspar) took fifth in a superb return to competition, with Alex de Angelis (JiR Moto2) completing the second row.

Third row is comprised of Belgian Xavier Simeon (Tech 3 B) and Mika Kallio (Marc VDS Racing), with Bradley Smith (Tech 3 Racing) taking the final spot before a fall at the end of the session.

Yonny Hernández (Blusens-STX), Max Neukirchner (MZ Racing) and Thomas Lüthi (Interwetten Paddock Moto2) make up the fourth row, while Yuki Takahashi (Gresini Racing), who was fastest in the morning session, crashed in the qualifying session but was able to re-enter and qualify 13th.

2011 Sachsenring Moto2 Qualifying Results:

Pos.Num.RiderNationTeamBikeKm/hTimeGap 1st/Prev.
1.93Marc MARQUEZSPATeam CatalunyaCaixa RepsolSuter246.31’24.733 
2.65Stefan BRADLGERViessmann Kiefer RacingKalex245.71’24.8620.129 / 0.129
3.40Aleix ESPARGAROSPAPons HP 40Pons Kalex241.91’24.9000.167 / 0.038
4.51Michele PIRROITAGresini Racing Moto2Moriwaki238.31’25.0850.352 / 0.185
5.60Julian SIMONSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter243.51’25.1890.456 / 0.104
6.15Alex DE ANGELISRSMJIR Moto2Motobi244.51’25.2230.490 / 0.034
7.19Xavier SIMEONBELTech 3 BTech 3238.91’25.2350.502 / 0.012
8.36Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamSuter244.71’25.2710.538 / 0.036
9.38Bradley SMITHGBRTech 3 RacingTech 3244.21’25.3040.571 / 0.033
10.68Yonny HERNANDEZCOLBlusens-STXFTR240.31’25.3100.577 / 0.006
11.76Max NEUKIRCHNERGERMZ Racing TeamMZ-RE Honda241.31’25.3790.646 / 0.069
12.12Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten Paddock Moto2Suter245.51’25.4340.701 / 0.055
13.72Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNGresini Racing Moto2Moriwaki242.81’25.4430.710 / 0.009
14.44Pol ESPARGAROSPAHP Tuenti Speed UpFTR242.01’25.4530.720 / 0.010
15.4Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIGP Team Switzerland Kiefer RacingKalex242.11’25.4560.723 / 0.003
16.18Jordi TORRESSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter241.01’25.4650.732 / 0.009
17.16Jules CLUZELFRANGM Forward RacingSuter244.71’25.4950.762 / 0.030
18.34Esteve RABATSPABlusens-STXFTR244.61’25.5100.777 / 0.015
19.80Axel PONSSPAPons HP 40Pons Kalex243.51’25.5150.782 / 0.005
20.54Kenan SOFUOGLUTURTechnomag-CIPSuter242.81’25.5790.846 / 0.064
21.3Simone CORSIITAIoda Racing ProjectFTR243.31’25.6130.880 / 0.034
22.63Mike DI MEGLIOFRATech 3 RacingTech 3241.01’25.6160.883 / 0.003
23.45Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamSuter238.11’25.6370.904 / 0.021
24.88Ricard CARDUSSPAQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki241.41’25.7230.990 / 0.086
25.29Andrea IANNONEITASpeed MasterSuter245.81’25.7881.055 / 0.065
26.9Kenny NOYESUSAAvintia-STXFTR240.41’25.8061.073 / 0.018
27.71Claudio CORTIITAItaltrans Racing TeamSuter239.71’25.8511.118 / 0.045
28.77Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag-CIPSuter240.81’25.8701.137 / 0.019
29.25Alex BALDOLINIITANGM Forward RacingSuter241.11’25.8721.139 / 0.002
30.53Valentin DEBISEFRASpeed UpFTR239.51’25.9001.167 / 0.028
31.13Anthony WESTAUSMZ Racing TeamMZ-RE Honda242.51’26.1301.397 / 0.230
32.14Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAThai Honda Singha SAGFTR243.01’26.2111.478 / 0.081
33.75Mattia PASINIITAIoda Racing ProjectFTR243.01’26.3401.607 / 0.129
34.39Robertino PIETRIVENItaltrans Racing TeamSuter239.51’26.4821.749 / 0.142
35.64Santiago HERNANDEZCOLSAG TeamFTR240.11’27.1662.433 / 0.684
36.97Steven ODENDAALRSAMS RacingSuter239.81’27.5912.858 / 0.425
37.24Tommaso LORENZETTIITAAeroport de CastelloFTR236.31’27.8163.083 / 0.225
38.95Mashel AL NAIMIQATQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki241.11’28.4123.679 / 0.596