Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport Spring Creek AMA Motocross | Preview

Spring Creek AMA Motocross | Preview

2011 AMA Motocross

After a week-long break, the 2011 AMA Motocross Championship throttles into Millville, Minn., for the Spring Creek National.

This Saturday begins the last half of the Motocross season, Round 7 of 12. And just as throughout the Supercross season, three familiar names are on top (minus Yamah’s James Stewart, who decided to sit out of the outdoor series).

Leading with 268 points after winning four of six rounds is Two-Two Motorsports Honda’s Chad Reed. The Australian will be seeking is first-ever win in Minnesota.

Sixteen points behind the Australian is the reigning AMA Motocross Champion, Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey. Unlike Reed, Dungey, who will be racing in his home state, has three consecutive wins at Spring Creek Motocross: two in the 250cc class, and one last year in his rookie 450cc Motocross season.

The man in third in the MX Championship with 246 points, AMA Supercross Champion Ryan Villopoto, has one career victory in Spring Creek.

In other big news, American Honda’s Trey Canard returns after missing the first half of the AMA Motocross Championship due to a fractured leg.

In the 250 Class, Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Dean Wilson, has moved into the championship lead for the second time this summer, while American Honda’s Ashley Fiolek, fresh off her second win of the season at RedBud, maintains her position atop the WMX Class.

MX Sports says Spring Creek has been a staple of American Motocross since hosting its first national during the 1983 season. Since then, it has become one of the most popular stops on the schedule thanks to its challenging layout that features a healthy assortment of obstacles, as well as multiple dramatic elevation changes. Millville is home to three of the sport’s most iconic features, including the longest start on the championship schedule, the "Holy Schmit" jump – named for late local legend Donny Schmit, and the infamous sand whoops, that can make or break a rider’s moto.

Practice for the 2011 Spring Creek begins at 9:30 a.m. Saturday, with the motos at 2 p.m.

The on-track action for the Spring Creek Motocross National begins this Saturday at 9:30 a.m. EST with practice and qualifying. Opening ceremonies begin at 1:30 p.m. EST with motos kicking off at 2 p.m. EST.

2011 AMA Motocross Point Standings (after six of 12 rounds)

AMA Motocross 450cc

  1. Chad Reed, Kurri Kurri, Australia, Honda – 268
  2. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki – 252
  3. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki – 246
  4. Brett Metcalfe, Mannum, Australia, Suzuki – 178
  5. Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha – 173
  6. Kevin Windham, Baton Rouge, La., Honda – 172
  7. Andrew Short, Colorado Springs, Colo., KTM – 130
  8. Christian Craig, El Cajon, Calif., Honda – 119
  9. Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., KTM – 115
  10. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki – 112

AMA Motocross 250cc

  1. Dean Wilson, Glasgow, Scotland, Kawasaki – 258
  2. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Kawasaki – 244
  3. Tyla Rattray, Durban, South Africa, Kawasaki – 242
  4. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda – 176
  5. Kyle Cunningham, Aledo, Texas, Yamaha – 163
  6. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Kawasaki – 143
  7. Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda – 137
  8. Gareth Swanepoel, Johannesburg, South Africa, Yamaha – 120
  9. Cole Seely, Newbury Park, Calif., Honda – 112
  10. Martin Davalos, Quito, Ecuador, Suzuki – 111

AMA Motocross: WMX Class

  1. Ashley Fiolek, St. Augustine, Fla., Honda – 185
  2. Jessica Patterson, Tallahassee, Fla., Yamaha – 177
  3. Tarah Gieger, Aguadilla, Puerto Rico., Honda – 148
  4. Jacqueline Strong, Cottonwood, Ariz., KTM – 108
  5. Kasie Creson, Vallejo, Calif., Honda – 98
  6. Marissa Markelon, Bridgeport, Conn., Yamaha – 97
  7. Vicki Golden, El Cajon, Calif., Kawasaki – 95
  8. Sayaka Kaneshiro, Osaka, Japan, Suzuki – 83
  9. Lindsey Palmer, Albuquerque, N.M., Honda – 83
  10. Sara Price, Canyon Lake, Calif., Kawasaki – 79
  11. Alexah Pearson, Rocklin, Calif., KTM – 79

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling.

2020 Yamaha MT-125 First Look: 11 Fast Facts (Urban Motorcycle)

Just as we get the Yamaha MT-03 in the United States, an updated junior partner in the Yamaha Hyper Naked Masters of Torque line...

Ducati to Host Carlin Dunne Fundraiser in NYC December 5

This Thursday - the night before the start of the Progressive New York Motorcycle Show at the Javits Center - Ducati North America is hosting a charity fundraiser to support the Carlin Dunne Foundation.

2020 Fantic Caballero First Look: Three New Scramblers

Some brands just will not disappear. Primarily known in the United States as a producer of observed trials motorcycles in the 1980s and ’90s,...

Husqvarna Norden 901 Going Into Production: ADV-Touring Motorcycle

Just weeks after the debut of the Norden 901 concept at EICMA 2019, Husqvarna is announcing that the motorcycle is going into production. Although...

2020 Triumph Tiger 900 First Look (Rally, GT): 21 Fast Facts

In November, Triumph teased its revamped mid-weight Tiger 900 with an unrevealing 18-second video. The only official notes we knew until then was that the...

Highway 21 Primary Engineer Boots Review: Motorcycle Cruising

An excellent combination of durability, comfort, functionality, and style, the Highway 21 Primary Engineer boots are perfect for rides on the company’s namesake, as well as around town.