AMA SuperSport: Mid-Ohio Race 1 Results

2011 AMA SuperSport

For the first time since Willow Springs in 1999, a Triumph was victorious in AMA Pro Racing.

This triumph for Triumph occurred Saturday at Race 1 of the AMA SuperSport series with Dustin Dominquez at the controls.

Dominquez, who captured the pole aboard his Latus Triumph Motors Racing 675R, finished ahead of James Rispoli on the ANT Racing Suzuki GSX-R600. Rounding out the podium was Hayden Gillim on a Yamaha YZF-R6.

Rispoli took the holeshot, and led for the first four laps. Dominquez continually challenged Rispoli, and made the pass stick on the fifth lap. He then began gapping the field, eventually taking the win over Rispoli by 8.080 seconds. Gillim would finish 9.333 seconds behind Dominquez.

Behind, David Gaviria (Team LTD Yamaha YZF-R6) crossed the finish line alone, 15.692 seconds behind Dominquez. There was a tight battle for fifth, but Corey Alexander (Vesrah Suzuki GSX-R600) beat Elena Myers (Suzuki Scoopfans GSX-R600) by 0.184 of a second.

Rispoli now has 117 points, 34 ahead of Tomas Puerta (LTD Yamaha), who finished seventh. Dustin remains in third with 79 points.

The AMA SuperSport grid will be back at Mid-Ohio for race 2 at 1:15 p.m. Sunday.

2011 Mid-Ohio AMA SuperSport: Race 1 Results

PosNo.Rider(s)BikeIntervalGapBest LapPoints
1.68Dustin DominguezTriumph Daytona 67517 LapsWINNER1:31.2350
2.43James RispoliSuzuki GSX-R6008.0798.0791:31.3210
3.69Hayden GillimYamaha YZF-R69.3331.2531:31.8570
4.700David GaviriaYamaha YZF-R615.9616.6281:32.2960
5.5Corey AlexanderSuzuki GSX-R60022.7616.8001:32.3780
6.21Elena MyersSuzuki GSX-R60022.9450.1841:32.8500
7.12Tomas PuertaYamaha YZF-R623.3110.3661:32.9290
8.72Miles ThorntonYamaha YZF-R624.3691.0571:32.6160
9.28Ryan KerrKawasaki ZX-6R27.0592.6891:33.0020
10.67Cassidy HeiserYamaha YZF-R627.2490.1901:32.6260
11.77Eric StumpYamaha YZF-R628.0850.8351:33.1010
12.394James DellingerSuzuki GSX-R60031.5233.4381:33.2080
13.81Brad GrahamDucati 84853.93022.4061:34.2980
14.63Jeff WrobelYamaha YZF-R654.1420.2111:34.1190
15.20Frank BabuskaSuzuki GSX-R60055.3771.2341:34.2870
16.86Ben YoungYamaha YZF-R656.0470.6701:34.4290
17.210Rocco HorvathKawasaki ZX-6R1:10.85014.8021:35.4820
18.47Allan PettYamaha YZF-R61:18.3307.4791:35.7020
19.42Jacob ArchYamaha YZF-R61:19.3301.0001:35.8710
20.610Russell ProctorYamaha YZF-R616 Laps1 Lap1:36.4610
21.148Brian VanDenBrouckYamaha YZF-R62.5762.5761:37.4060
22.717Aaron BagwellYamaha YZF-R62.7140.1371:37.5560
23.32Alexander GuilbeaultYamaha YZF-R63.5360.8211:37.5080
24.800Dennis ErgoYamaha YZF-R659.31655.7801:40.0880
25.505Justin NeyraKawasaki ZX-6R11 Laps5 Laps1:36.3690
26.37Stefano MesaDucati 8489 Laps2 Laps1:32.6730
27.36Corey HartYamaha YZF-R66 Laps3 Laps1:42.1370